We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, tranquil and easy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windy Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Senggigi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windy Beach Cottages
Ranked #30 of 41 Senggigi B&B and Inns
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Spacious, tranquil and easy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Recently stayed at Windy Beach with 7 friends(one couple). So, we had 7 rooms between us and all were happy with the accommodation. The rooms are comfortable rather than glamorous. That comment could be said for the resort as a whole. This is not your 5 star all mod cons affair. It is an extremely comfortable place where everything works, where the accommodation is comfortable and clean, the setting lovely and the staff are very helpful. Special mention here for the very helpful Dedo and also to Hasan and Hal. Everyone though is very accommodating.
The dining area is delightful, the breakfast delicious, especially the pancakes and the coffee good. The pool area is pretty and very relaxing next to the beach and the breaking waves
We were staying during the dry which meant that on arrival the place was looking a little less green than imagined. However, seasons are what they are.
A word of warning for those seeking out the special cottages. The bedroom and the bathroom aere separated by a tall, steep flight of stairs. All the other cottages are on the one level. Superior cottage No.3 might be the pick.
Would recommend highly as a very pleasant place to stay at a very reasonable price and in a great spot

Room Tip: Avoid the special cottages if you don't want to negotiate the stairs in the middle of the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

There's nothing special about this place, rooms are a bit tired (including the ac), not that clean and bathrooms are adequate, but shower wouldn't drain properly. Cottages have a private veranda with uncomfortable bamboo chairs, in general both rooms and terrace are dark and feel stuffy. The beach in front of the hotel is nice and breakfast is tasty, except for the undrinkable coffee, the restaurant could also do with an overall upgrade. Lots of elderly couples staying here. The pool area is ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed at Windy Beach mid August and the weather was perfect. We flew from Bali to Lombok for $20 AUD with Garuda airlines, the flight time being 19minutes. Hasan from Windy organized a driver to collect us from the airport for $25, (the drive took approx. an hour), and as we arrived late at night 9.00 we were glad that we had arranged a lift even if a little on the expensive side. We were very appreciative of the kitchen providing us with meals when we did finally arrive at Windy Beach as it was such a late time.

We stayed in a double story burea opposite the beach, bedroom and balcony upstairs and lounge, bathroom and verandah downstairs with no T.V, no phone, no radio, no hair dryer (!!)...BUT we did have ceiling fans(2), air con, tea and coffee making facilities, heaps of room and free wi-fi in your rooms. We also had beautiful views of the beach, which was just footsteps away, gardens which had multiple intimate gazebos dotted around the premises and as there are only approx 14 units on the resort you virtually had the pool to yourself as well!!

Quite a few times we ate at the small restaurant which had good meals, but for a change of scenery we would often walk along the beach or road and visit other resort restaurants. I must admit we would have a little peak at the accommodation available at theses resorts such as Puri Mas and although they were finished a lot more glamorously than the Windy Beach they were very close to each other and did not appear as homely and intimate as the Windy.

I must mention also that I usually suffer badly in hot weather but I never once had to switch on the air con as if you opened up both bedroom windows facing each other it created a cool breeze throughout the night, (they had fly screens, so no mozzies). - This just meant you were woken each morning by the sound of the ocean waves.(life's tough sometimes)

The only drawback to any of the accommodation in that area in my opinion is that the beach has coral so you really need to be careful in the water.

We stayed 7 nights throughout that time staff were excellent. Yes, Lombok is what Bali was like 30 years ago. We took a fast boat back to Bali which was more expensive than a flight and the experience was smooth but longer.

Room Tip: The decor in the room is dark but that is part of the charm. I don't think there is a gym on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank april64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We spend a day there with my boyfriend. We had a Deluxe Room, which costs 650,000 rp (no discount during the busy period). The room was clean, the bed was nice and the staff friendly.

The distance from Senggigi is around 10 minutes by car.

The breakfast included rice, noodles, toast bread and jam, fruits and omellette. We also had dinner in the restaurant and it was quite tasty.

The room had an aircon, fridge and you could boil water for a coffee or tea.

The beach in front of the hotel was rather rocky and we had to walk 5 minutes to swim. The sunset was great with the bright orange sun sinking into the sea to a Bali's volcano. It was like a big pyramid flooting in the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annapapa_thes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent three nights at Windy Beach, which is located approx 8mins drive north of Sengigi. Our bungalow was very comfortable with ac, fridge, coffee making facilities, hot water, wifi etc. and a deck large enough to string a hammock. This was topped off with a beautiful garden/pool/sea view. The gardens are large and extremely well looked after. There is a good pool area and the property is set at the end of a long beach with stunning sunset views. The included breakfast was adequate however in general the food was average, I would recommend eating in Sengigi. Motorbike hire at a good rate was organised by the hotel. Overall, this is a good priced option in Sengigi. My only real criticism is I felt there the atmosphere was lacking.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden/sea facing bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NollaigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Just returned from a week-long visit to Lombok where my family of seven stayed at Windy Beach. My parents had the Superior Cottage while the rest of us took the Special Cottage, the 2-storey room. We arrived late but the staff welcomed us readily. The aircon in the upper level of my room was not working properly and the shower screen rod fell when my kids tried to pull the curtains closed. My hubby found a snake curled up near the rattan basket on the ground floor veranda which the intrepid gardener tried to catch but ended up having to kill it coz it tried to enter our room. The aircon went kaput on the 2nd day but nothing was done about it even though we reported it. It was still okay though because the room stayed cool throughout the night and it was very pleasant. My parents had no major complaints about their room though it was odd to have a sink outside of the bathroom. We got tired of the breakfast after the 3rd day but it wasn't that horrible. We had meals at the restaurant three times and it was good. One was had at the bale facing the sea where we sat on the floor and the waiters were kind enough to carry the dishes out to us. That was a grand experience. The pool was heavenly and it was never crowded or busy, not with only 14 rooms in the whole resort. The beach in front of it was fairly rocky though we never swam in it. I think the shore is better further south, heading towards Quinci Villas. But the sunset views were great. One regret was that we never got a good photo of Mt Agung when we were there coz of the clouds. The staff were all very friendly, chatting with us and wishing us good morning, good night, a good trip when we went out on our day trips. Pak Hassan who handled our reservation was super friendly and he gave us a discount on account of the non-working aircon. But we had to ask for it. In all, the place is pretty good for getting away from it all though looking back for my group, a room in Central Senggigi itself where there were more meal options and closer to the shops would have been better. But if you can get past the sometimes not-working equipment and nature on your doorstep, this is a good option.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umaisarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The bungalows are nice but the AC did not really work, only the fan.
It was too hot to sleep... So it does not make it that good value...
The staff is friendly and the pool is very agreable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie_paris17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Senggigi
0.7 mi away
Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pool Villa Club Senggigi Beach Lombok
0.0 mi away
Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cafe Alberto B & B
Cafe Alberto B & B
#2 of 41 in Senggigi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Beach Cottages

Property: Windy Beach Cottages
Address: Jl. Raya Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Windy Beach Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Mangsit, 4 km north of central Senggigi, the main tourist centre of Lombok, Windy Beach Resort occupies a choice site at the north end of this beautiful beach. The 14 traditional-style thatched-roof cottages, stunning pool and open air dining pavilion lie in two hectares of tropical gardens skirting a secluded, virtually private, white-sand beach, with good snorkeling offshore. Offering great seclusion, this is the perfect place for complete relaxation and revitalization. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windy Beach Cottages Hotel Senggigi
Windy Beach Hotel
Windy Beach Cottages Senggigi, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing