We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach club”
Review of The Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Senggigi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beach Club
Ranked #28 of 46 Senggigi B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beach club”
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights. When we arrived they only had a more expensive room which was 350 Ruphia. The room was lovely.
The following day we down grades due to being on a budget. This room was cheap and basic but did the trick.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
We had a massage on the beach which was organised by the staff and well worth it!
I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennDawson, Owner at The Beach Club, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Hi Rachel,

Its great that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will return one day to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    32
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
59
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Not knowing what to expect by travelling out of Bali to the island of Lombok,I must say I was pleasantly surprised. None of the hustle and bustle of kuta, a handful of sellers to satisfy any shopping urges and a quaint little "Beach Club" right on the beach.
With the pool outside our bungalow and the hammock on our porch, it was a very relaxing stay,we ate in at the restaurant and shared a few drinks with the hosts some nights. We also visited a few of the local watering holes and restaurants in Senggigi, after a couple of days we felt like locals and didn't want to leave this seaside village.
Thanks Glenn,Dee and staff hope to return real soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennDawson, Owner at The Beach Club, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Hi Steve,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and know you will be back real soon to enjoy all the each Club has to offer and also the Gili Air Beach Club as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Lombok is a place that is quickly gaining momentum in commercialism, with its old charm and warm honesty of its people fast disappearing. My family and I stayed at The Beach Club recently for 3 days 2 nights, a stay which, despite the beautiful beach and adorable "resident" dogs, did not impress.
Service was minimal and highly inconsistent. I'm not sure if this is due to the fact that the staff mostly know very little English or it's a cultural thing that females are generally ignored...or the simple fact that we're Asians.
From check-in, it was already clear that we were treated differently from the Caucasians staying at the resort. For example, we were often met with indifference and requests were more often than not left unmet (e.g. a massage appointment for us was left uncommunicated that'd resulted in much frustration). As opposed to reviews about its food, breakfast was unspectacular, minimal, and with very few options to choose from.
The redeeming factor is its rooms, which are lovingly thought out in their designs. The beds were comfortable and the rooms are generally clean. However, the floor boards do sound as if they may do well with some maintenance as they're creaky. As with most Indonesian establishments, there're no kettles or tea/ coffee making facilities in the rooms. Additionally, only 1 small bottle of drinking water is provided each day...something is that is a curiosity to me, given that all the bungalows are catered to 2-pax occupancy. On the plus side, the hammocks on the verandah, as well as sleeping and waking up to the sound of waves is the major asset of this resort. Its position within easy walking distance to Sengigi town is also an advantage, allowing for peace within close proximity to meeting out food and exploration needs.
In conclusion, The Beach Club is acceptable as a short-term stay, but nothing more. Its redeeming factors do not match up to its flaws, particularly in the area of service. For this price, more would have been expected.

Room Tip: all the bungalows are 2-pax occupancy and because it's a small establishment, any one of them wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matilda_jinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theowner13, Owner at The Beach Club, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
We are Very Sorry you Did Not enjoy your stay here and have noted everything you mentioned, The bottle of water is for rinsing your mouth and 2 glasses are supplied for 2 persons and the bottles replaced everyday. The Menu we agree is not up to scratch and is at this moment being renewed and the breakfast is also being upgraded. Sorry about the Massages , however we cannot guarantee that a beach seller will show up and we usually just ask our guests to go to a proper day spa. Coffee and Tea in the rooms has never been considered due to the fact you can walk to the restaurant and get them quite easily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights, our first night in Bungalow 1 and 4 nights in Bungalow 4, and in general it really was a great spot to be. Fantastic location, right next to the beach, 5 minutes by taxi or scooter to the town centre but far away enough to be able to enjoy some peace and quiet. The garden is magnificent and well-kept. The resort is small - only 4 bungalows and a few backpacker rooms. And the size of the place is actually what makes the resort really wonderful. We felt quite at home, there are several spots in the garden where you can relax and read your book with the sound of the waves crashing on the shore in the background. We could have stayed here much longer if only we could have stayed in bungalow 1 which was absolutely fantastic, instead of having to move to number 4. Unfortunately, no 1 turned out to be booked in advance, in spite of the fact that the evening before the resort's website indicated it to be free... So that was a disappointment. Bungalow 4 is not a real bungalow but it is connected to the backbacker rooms and next to the gate, which was always open. This did not feel very safe. Also, number 4 is smaller than no 1 and I expect also than the other detached bungalows. We could therefore not understand why no 4 had the same price as no 1 which was much nicer, more spacious and in a far better location. This was a bit annoying but we liked the garden and the location, we went out every day so we stayed. Yet, if we could have stayed in no 1 we might have overlooked a bit more easily the fact that the lady at the bar was hardly ever friendly to the guests, the other staff members were absolutely great but there was just this one lady who constantly made the impression that she really did not want to be bothered by the guests too much. And not once did we sit down to a cleaned breakfast table. How difficult or time-consuming can it be to simply wipe down the table after it has been used by other guests? In spite of all of the above, I do think there is no alternative in Senggigi (yet) offering this kind accomodation so I do can recommend the place. Just make sure to know which bungalow you are actually booking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeesD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theowner13, Owner at The Beach Club, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Hi There,

We are sorry Bungalow 4 was not what you were expecting and although it is not as wide as the other bungalows it is deeper in length and in fact the same amount of floor space. It is difficult to get into bungalow 1 as most of the time it is booked well in advance, sorry for that.
We have spoken with our staff members and rectified the problems in the Bar/ Restaurant as you mentioned and can only apoligise for this behavior. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and take your comments very seriously, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I went in Asia 3 months this year with my girlfriend. And across Thailand, Vietnam and Indonesia (Bali/Lombok only sadly) this was definitely one of the best hotel we've had and for a cheap price too!
Their backpackers rooms are cheap, and the hotel is simply magnificent Food is pretty expensive at the hotel's restaurant, but a restaurant nearby on the beach is cheaper and also really good.
After staying one night in a dump at some other place in town, the Beach club was really a paradise. We stayed two nights, and then came back two other nights on our way back to the airport a few days later.
I did not try the bungalow though, as this was way out of our budget. But I find the room a great compromise for traveler with a somewhat restricted budget. As you get an awesome hotel for the prize of a much cheaper one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

+ bungalows are excellent (nice outside bathrooms, located at the pool site)
+ Nice pool
+ nice staff

- we stayed one night in one of the rooms, as the price was lower than the bungalows, but the walls were fallung apart due to humidity and the bathroom was a dump!
- food is not amazing, but the food at the italian restaurant next door is great!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henriettehenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We selected the Beach Club for our fist visit to Lombok, based on second hand advice from a friend and the many glowing reviews of it in TripAdvisor. Yes it presents very attractively, the staff are most friendly and helpful, and overall it seems a sound three star level place, but for us there was a major drwaback. Traffic noise, primarily the more powerful motorcycles, from the nearby road was invasive and kept us awake every night, thus spoiling all of the Beach Club's good points. Interestingly, it is rarely mentioned in the TripAdvisor reviews, but is noted frequently in the comments found in the guest book in our bungalow. For this reason, we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: do not select bungalow 3 - Nos 1 or 2 may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Senggigi hotels
0.3 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#12 of 30 in Senggigi
790 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,490 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pool Villa Club Senggigi Beach Lombok
0.7 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Central Inn
Central Inn
#9 of 46 in Senggigi
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club

Property: The Beach Club
Address: Jl Raya Senggigi, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Club, Beach Bungalows, Bar and Cafe, owned and operated by two Australians and eighteen of the best local staff, right on the beachfront in Senggigi Lombok, four beachfront bungalows luxuriously appointed with king size beds, air-conditioning, TV, DVD, mini bar, trendy outdoor bathrooms and beautiful tropical gardens. We also have two backpacker rooms available for the budget conscious traveler. Our bar and cafe have fine local and international food and snacks, the coldest beer in Senggigi and is on the best sunset beach in Senggigi. Relax in style at The Beach Club and let time unwind your soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Club Hotel Senggigi
The Beach Club Senggigi, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing