We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with great food!!”
Review of The Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Senggigi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beach Club
Ranked #26 of 46 Senggigi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming with great food!!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Lovely stay at the Beach club - we are planning another return next week! The food is amazing - generous portions, excellently cooked! Not sure what previous reviews are talking about in terms of the breakfast... you get a choice of about 6 options, made fresh, from a menu including continental, cooked and healthy musli options (and even pancakes!) all including fresh juice or tea/coffee - excellent considering we paid only 15 GBP for the room including breakfast! The gardens are constantly being cleaned and maintained by the staff, who are chatty and playful if you make the effort to chat wit them. We both got cuddles on Christmas day from Nana!
My only small negative feedback would be that the mozzie net in the backpacker room needs an update, but im sure management can take care of this quickly.
Otherwise, expect a lovely, charming stay!

Room Tip: I think from peeking through the door, backpacker room 5 might be a teeny bit bigger than room 6, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie_baby1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    32
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
59
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have been travelling in Bali for two weeks and chose to stay in Sengiggi for 3 nights at the Beach Club.
Compared to the 3 other hotels we stayed during our trip, the Beach Club was the worst place in term of staff, cleanliness and value.
First the staff : they completely live their own life and they are not very friendly. Not professional at all because it seems that there is NO MANAGEMENT. The manager can give a response to all the reviews but he should be at his hotel and do his job.
Cleanliness : the room was ok but the swimming pool was completely unclean (close to green to be honest) and the big dogs are sitting everywhere (funny when you arrive but after few day when you smell dog because you have been sitting on one of the bean bags it's getting disgusting).
Value : we have payed an average of 600 000 IDR for every night we spent in Bali and this place is defenitely not a good value.
Also we would like to refer to the post by TravelingRose1 and point out that we had exactly the same experience regarding the boat to Gili T. We have paid 150 000 IDR for two tickets when it should be only 12 000 IDR per ticket.
Well I should only recommend that place for one night but will not come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahetGuillaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed for a week in mid August in cottage one. Great beachfront location, 15 minute stroll to town. Clean comfortable wooden cottages. Semi-outdoor bathrooms. Beach Club has 3 lovely resident dogs, who guard the property ... they seem to know who the guests are !
I recommend the Strawberry frozen Margaritas at sunset happy hour. On the walk into town, on the ocean side in the evening, is a grilled corn cob stand , run by a lovely family. If you like hot chilli try the Diablo sauce!

Room Tip: Cottage one is absolute beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed in bungalow 1 for 4 nights in August 2013. The wholeplace was just what we were looking for to start our holiday. Very laid back, nice location right on the beach, good pool and well kept gardens. Staff were very friendly, especially Ipong who took us out one late afternoon to see some of the sights including a lovely sunset at Malimbu. There were quite a few street sellers on the beach but they were pretty good natured and we quite enjoyed the regular banter with one of them in particular (Azil?). I thought there may have been a bit more going on around happy hour but it was actually very quiet and I only recall 1 night where the bean bag deck was full. All in all a lovely place to relax and unwind for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Beach Club for part of our honeymoon and honestly could have stayed there the whole time. The staff was great, the facility is chill and right next to the water, and our bungalow was private and clean.

We really enjoyed seeing all the animals, including the hotel dogs, parrot, turtles, and even a large green lizard that showed up on a nearby tree.

Nothing beats having a nice cocktail at the the Beach Club's bar and watching the sunset go down. true paradise. The hotel also helped us set up a boat trip/snorkeling trip to the Gili Islands which was amazing.

The only downside is that the traffic from the street is sometimes audible, such as when a loud motorbike drives by.

Overall a great place, can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Definitely spring for one of the bungalows, they all surround a beautiful pool with lounge chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malstronikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This review covers only the backpacker rooms:
Room just beside the kitchen, you have always a nice smell in your room during the kitchen hours. Furthermore close to the street, noise guaranteed. Bathroom old and untended, a little bit disgusting. Bed linen full of stains, go and buy new ones! Provided mosquito net is more decoration than really useful, it’s impossible to close it properly, useless !
All in all the backpacker rooms are going to wrack and ruin.
A good management would improve the condition of these scrubby rooms, (but negative report.) or would ask for a reasonable price for this humble "room".
Moreover ugly fat dogs, which seem to belong to the club, creep around here. The also like very much the Lounge area, look forward for sitting around in dog hairs!

The included breakfast is regarding the content lousy, you should pay extra for any style of egg, but when you mention your e disappointment about this penny pinching behavior, they are so generous and give you the eggs for free.
The also includes fresh fruit slices are only served if you ask for them. Fresh fruit juice? No, way! Not included!
The staff is more or less friendly and helpful.
We pay 35$ for the room. Yes, we are stupid, but to late, maybe you can do better!
This is the worst value for money we ever had on our travel (since 8 months).
We are sooooooo disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonnentaenzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennDawson, Owner at The Beach Club, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Hi Sir,

We have to say , we have taken your complaints and repaired the rooms, the rest of the things you have spoken about are just coming from a rude man who has no idea about backpacking/ travelling the world, I wish you every success on your journey and hope one day you can afford the 5 star service you are looking for at a backpackers. Our staff try very hard to make guests comfortable at all times and cost and the only reason you rubbish them because they did their job and not to your satisfaction when you decided you want a deluxe room for 23 euro's a night, I ask where can you get this in Switzerland????
Sir your money was returned and you really should not use trip advisor as a revenge and write a complete pack of lies.
Regards,
Glenn Dawson, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The backpacker rooms are really poor, and compared to the other ten places I stayed at on Lombok, Gili T, Ubud and Nusa Lembongan, this was by far the worst room.

The room was $17 a night,the most expensive room we took the whole trip, and it was absolutely filthy. There was someone else's hair all over the floor, the bathroom was a disgrace with mould, grime etc all over the place. The toilet leaked profusely over the floor.

The saving grace for these rooms is that you get to use the pool area which is really nice.

Other things a review should cover if your still considering a stay-

Staff were ok, but pretty much doing their own thing the whole time
Breakfast was included and was pretty good
It's about a 7 minute walk into town
There are some nice beaches but you'll need to rent a scooter to find them
The place faces right onto the beach where there is a lot of beach sellers (pretty standard in all of Asia)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anikad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Senggigi hotels
0.3 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#13 of 30 in Senggigi
784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Inn
Central Inn
#9 of 46 in Senggigi
117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sendok Hotel
Sendok Hotel
#14 of 46 in Senggigi
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club

Property: The Beach Club
Address: Jl Raya Senggigi, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Club, Beach Bungalows, Bar and Cafe, owned and operated by two Australians and eighteen of the best local staff, right on the beachfront in Senggigi Lombok, four beachfront bungalows luxuriously appointed with king size beds, air-conditioning, TV, DVD, mini bar, trendy outdoor bathrooms and beautiful tropical gardens. We also have two backpacker rooms available for the budget conscious traveler. Our bar and cafe have fine local and international food and snacks, the coldest beer in Senggigi and is on the best sunset beach in Senggigi. Relax in style at The Beach Club and let time unwind your soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Club Hotel Senggigi
The Beach Club Senggigi, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing