We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but employee tried to scam us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kebun Villas & Resort
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Senggigi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in a Dahlia Double. When we checked in a young guy named Awan took our bags to our room. He explained there was some waterfall in his home village and that we could arrange a trip there the entire time leading us to believe this was something to be booked through the hotel. Anyway, after we gave him the money he explained he was still in training and that we could not tell anyone or he'd lose his job and that the hotel offers the same tour for much more money. Before we could even register this, he turned around and ran off with our money. We spent a few hours felling like absolute fools and then received a phone call that we had a "friend" waiting for us in the lobby, which we immediately knew was Awan. We met him in the lobby and explained that my boyfriend was feeling very ill and we could not go. Awan then tried to say he could not return the money because he had already booked everything but we convinced him to return 600,000 of the 700,000 rupees we gave him. Of course, he had to go "borrow" this money from a friend at the hotel but we know he just pulled it out of his pocket. I had to meet him in the girls bathroom by the lobby pool for him to return the money. In the end, we paid about $10 USD for a lesson well learned. If you want to book a trip be sure it is through the hotel. We even heard Awan say this same sales pitch to other guests as he took their bags to the rooms. Watch out for this guy. I don't feel that this should reflect on other employees at this resort because we felt that most were very friendly and hard working. Just be careful.

Other than this our stay her was quite pleasant. The food was good and there are a lot of shops and restaurants near the resort. Also, the pools are awesome. The only other complaint about this place is that whenever we took a shower, the bathroom would be swamped with water. I mean water EVERYWHERE. The drainage was awful and it was dangerously slippery walking in the bathroom.

Again, this was a really nice resort and as far as facilities, we were very pleased. Just watch out for Awan!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kebun88, Manager at Kebun Villas & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Caroline C,

While we are happy to know that we did a good job by you in all other aspects of the trip, we are terribly sorry and embarrassed to hear about your unfortunate experience with our newly hired trainee, Marzawan. At Kebun Villas & Resort, we have a zero tolerance policy for such behaviour and Marzawan's employment has been terminated from this hotel with immediate effect. There is no excuse for such unethical behaviour and we are very thankful that you have taken the effort to draw our attention to this matter. This sort of feedback is very helpful in weeding out the bad eggs amongst the people of Lombok who only serve to hurt the reputation of the Sasak people. On behalf of the Kebun Villas & Resort family, we thank you for your very constructive feedback and hope to host you again at our Garden home during your next trip to Lombok.

Sincerely,
Kebun Villas & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Great location - in the heart of Senggigi city. Walking distance from many restaurants and pubs. Great service - staff were very friendly and helpful! Nice spacious villa - we had a two bed villa opposite the pool which we made good use of! Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank ClydeyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kebun88, Manager at Kebun Villas & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear ClydeyP,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. The managers and staff felt very excited upon reading your review. To know that we are doing it right with the customer service is a very motivating and satisfying feeling. The Kebun Villas & Resort family will certainly be looking forward to hosting you and your family/friends at our Garden Home during your next trip to Lombok.

Cheers!
Kebun Villas & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A great location and perfect for our family. Room was spacious enough for our family of 4 with two double beds - no one had to sleep on the floor here and there was a bench for the luggage. AC was nice and cold. Shower perhaps should have been designed a bit better as it slightly flooded the rest of the bathroom with the little drainage space it has to flow. The infinity pool has an enormous shallow end which provided lots of space for our 4-year-olds to splash around. Plenty of lounge chairs although it was difficult at times to get a pool towel - they always seemed to be in the laundry. Breakfast was good but pancakes were a bit doughy - granola, yogurt and fruit was fine for me though. The free-roaming turkeys scared my boys but staff were great about trying to keep them away. Walking distance to the main strip and plenty of good restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 297Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kebun88, Manager at Kebun Villas & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear 297Angela,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is especially reassuring that your kids had a safe, comfortable and fun-filled time at our resort.

Upon reading your feedback, we have taken it upon ourselves to make an order for additional pool towels to support the high popularity of the resort. It is feedback like this which contribute to enhancing The Kebun Experience overall - and for that, we are truly grateful.

With all that being said, we will certainly look forward to hosting you and your family again at Kebun Villas & Resort.

Cheers!
Kebun Villas & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked this at last minute without doing our research but are so grateful we chose it! The quietness off the busy main road was a delight, the pool which was right outside our room door perfect and the staff and service impeccable. At breakfast I started to load to my plate with pineapple when one of the male staff members said he didn't believe this was good for a pregnant lady, I had no idea and was very appreciative of his concern and quick thinking. Very clean and modern spot. Will recommend and definitely be back! Thanks Kebun for making our first stay in Lombok a great one.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Leighloo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kebun88, Manager at Kebun Villas & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Leighloo77,
First off, congratulations on your pregnancy! We wish you a happy, healthy pregnancy.

We are very grateful for your kind words on our service. It is a very good feeling to know that the initiative of one of our staff members deserved a special mention from a senior reviewer such as yourself. We certainly look forward to hosting you again at Kebun Villas & Resort during your next trip to Lombok.
Cheers!
Kebun Villas & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

spent 12 nights here. enjoyed our stay in a kemboja room. good location. good staff. very friendly. our bathroom flooded the first time we used it but we just removed the drain plug and it was fine after that. bed was too firm for my liking. breakfast is limited options but should satisfy most tastes. the pool was good for swimming and relaxing. the location is also good. a 5 minute walk down to the main part of senggigi and allows you to meet and greet the locals. always had a chat with them. the restaurant was rarely being used at night and there is no real bar to speak of like some hotels. this didn't bother us as we just purchased beers at the indo market. overall i found this a good place to stay and would recommend to others and will return.

Room Tip: kemboja room is good for 2 adults and 1 child
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wowwazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kebun88, Manager at Kebun Villas & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear wowwazza,
Thank you very much for your kind review of our property. We are very glad to note that you would stay with us again during your next stay to Lombok. The complaint about the firmness of our beds is a first but we will certainly take note of it as part of our areas for improvement. We look forward to hosting you again at Kebun Villas & Resort.
Cheers!
Kebun Villas & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Staying at Kebun Villas in a villa. The hotel is in a good location a short walk to the main strip for restaurants,shopping,etc. The villa is perfect but could be more comfortable if pool umbrella and mats for lounges were available. We did request but told there were none available. The wifi is weak but we got by with what we had to do. The breakfast is ok but not suitable for western people.Staff in restaurant very helpful especially Din, also cleanliness of villa very good.Pool in villa nice size for cooling off but not totally cleanool area very serene and private just we were looking for. Overall a great stay for 8 days,would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozmovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kebun88, Manager at Kebun Villas & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Ozmovers,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on our resort. It is always a nice feeling to know that our guests would recommend Kebun Villas & Resort to their peers. We do apologize for the lack of pool umbrellas and mats as some of our pool umbrellas have been broken and we are still in the process of replacing them. It is an issue which will be rectified very soon. We certainly look forward to hosting you again at Kebun Villas & Resort.

Cheers!
Kebun Villas & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed at Kebun Villas for 5 nights in Seroja twin room. It is certainly value for money - the room is very clean with a fantastic view of the infinity pool. The shower, unfortunately, has a drainage problem - water doesn't flow properly which floods the bathroom under the sink. Kebun Villas has the longest infinity pool I have ever seen! The property is also surrounded by trees and the jungle, therefore the atmosphere in this resort is quiet and peaceful. The staff is also attentive and prompt with their service. Breakfast is just so-so, but am not complaining. The location of Kebun Villas is ideal on Senggingi Beach - a stone throw away from the Art Centre where you can watch beautiful sunset every evening and walking distance to eateries. Do go to Orchid Spa for good and reasonably priced massage and there is a t-shirt shop 2 doors away from Orchid Spa that sells quality Lombok tshirts at a cheap price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kebun88, Manager at Kebun Villas & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Kathleen,

It is always very satisfying feeling to get a stamp of approval from a well traveled senior reviewer such as yourself. To know that you are happy with the service of our staff only motivates us further in improving our service to our guests constantly.

Thank you very much for your kind words and we hope to host you again at the Kebun Villas & Resort in the near future.

Cheers!
Kebun Villas & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Senggigi hotels
1.1 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
563 reviews
1 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 29 in Senggigi
933 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kebun Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kebun Villas & Resort

Address: Jl. Senggigi Km 8, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Senggigi
#15 Spa Hotel in Senggigi
Price Range: £37 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kebun Villas & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the arms of a cliff and among Lombok's natural landscape, the hotel takes its name 'kebun' which means 'garden' in Bahasa. A tropical oasis; inspired by the concepts of natural living and modest luxury, our garden home allows you to experience the art of slowing down in quiet seclusion. With a 24hr Front Desk, upgraded (free) WIFI and daily housekeeping at your service, there is no better place to ease your mind.Be immersed in the tranquil ambience of nature. Lose yourself in the sounds of the rustling trees. Leave your city worries behind. Welcome to The Kebun Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kebun Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manna Kebun Hotel Senggigi
Kebun Villas & Resort Senggigi, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing