We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, friendly, and smart budget”
Review of Rajas Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rajas Bungalows
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Unique, friendly, and smart budget”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The interior of room is so unique (they have so many wood craft on the wall), the owner also so friendly to us (if you wanna do something/go to somewhere but you don't know how to get there, he will help you to solve that.. he will tell you what kind of place you should go in lombok area) if you need a taxi he will help us to call the taxi. The breakfast is so delicious.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meiqing_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
13
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Raja's Bungalows for 5 nights in mid-July while visiting Sengiggi. We'd showed up unannounced, with no booking, and were lucky to get one of their four on-site bungalows. Sengiggi can have a decent amount of traffic on the main road with some fairly persistent touts. Stepping into Raja's bungalow down a small, dirt lane into a garden covered with palm trees and other greenery, was a welcoming spot to relax.

Adrian, the owner, was helpful in arranging transport onto Kuta Lombok for us afterwards, and would spend a few minutes with us each morning having a chat, catching up on our day-to-day experiences and offering suggestions of things to do.

The breakfast is good - a bit modest, but very tasty. The banana pancakes are tops. The bungalow itself, however, was the best part - it has an adjoining, open-air, outdoor bathroom, which was brilliant to visit in the morning, look up and see sunshine and palm trees as a "roof". One drawback was that they only have cold water - we had a few quick showers some days - but for the price and the atmosphere, I felt it was worth it.

The staff is friendly - we both enjoyed chatting with Danny, who also gave us some tips on places to see and helped arrange a scooter rental.

If you're heading to Sengiggi, I would highly recommend you try to get in here - but suggest you book in advance - because we got in on a fluke.

Definitely worth the value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Unfortunately, I only spent one night here in transit. The place is a bit tricky to find, but it worth the effort. At the first sight from the outside you think you are about to enter a small buddhist month retreat. Once inside, a few units immersed in the lush green makes you feel zen all of a sudden.
The room is spacious and clean. The owner and the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful when it comes to recommendation, especially when it comes to get transportation around the island .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcatucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I was recommended the bungalows by a friend and they have lived up to our expectations!
Adrian who owns them has created a tranquil paradise with a relaxed vibe which makes you not want to step outside!
They are really central, and don't be put off by the alley you take to get there, we arrived at night and were a bit worried at first but it is completely safe and the locals are super friendly!
The bathrooms are private but open air and the rooms have a really homely feel.
Adrian arranged our transfer to Gili Air and made some great recommendations of places to eat, dive and visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bettsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Firstly, all the staff here and Raja are very welcoming and very helpful and friendly during our stay. The rooms just have fans (can get pretty hot inside) and the bathrooms are outside....ok if the weather is great but the novelty wears off when you have to shower in the rain!! There are a lot of bugs etc in the room which can get annoying. Location isn't too bad but the local mosque can get noisy. Lounge area is very nice and breakfast was fine. Overall a good stay, but there are cheaper places for the same value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Greene7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldes de Montbui, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The friendly owners take care of every single detail during your stay.

The bungalows are near the mainstreet so the location is perfect. Around 10 minutes from the beach (easy-walk) but at the same time they provide the quiet and the peace that you may beed. When you get there you find a Green spot with nice bungalows (eqquiped with nets) and with open-air well decorated toilets.

Furthermore the food is awesome (i'm living in Indonesia and not every banana pancake is good, nor every jaffle...). They have a wooden structure in where they serve the breakfast and sometimes they organize dinners and meetings.

Last time we went we payed for joining a local dinner that was just delicious. We played the guitar and we were singing and joking.

The owners themselves have a great life experiences and good level of English.

Budget accomodation :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaraUluwatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great rooms, brilliant value, and the best bathrooms I have seen on my trip so far! Raja is very welcoming and helpful - speaking lots of languages! Felt very safe and cosy here, a beautiful haven in the quiet and secluded areas. Recommended for solo female travels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Senggigi hotels
0.5 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#12 of 30 in Senggigi
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#11 of 30 in Senggigi
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Mama Bella's Retreat
Mama Bella's Retreat
#1 of 46 in Senggigi
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sendok Hotel
Sendok Hotel
#14 of 46 in Senggigi
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rajas Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajas Bungalows

Property: Rajas Bungalows
Address: Senggigi, Lombok, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Rajas Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rajas Bungalows Senggigi, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing