We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super Staff. Great Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Studio Villas

Villa Laras - Peaceful Evenings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Laras - Peaceful Evenings
Studio 1 - 2 Bedroom Javanese Joglo Studio 1 - Sea View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Villa Laras - Peaceful Evenings
Studio 1 - 2 Bedroom Javanese Joglo
Studio 1 - Sea View
Studio 1 - Living Room
Studio 1 - Bedroom
Studio 1 - Modern Bathroom
Studio 1 - 2nd outdoor Shower Room
Studio 1 - Javanes Statues
Studio 1 - View from the garden
Garden View
Garden View - Playground
nKid's Pool
Garden View - Infinity Pool
Garden View - Pool and Playground
For the kids: Large Playground w. Badminton, Ping-Pong, Kid's Pool, Trampoline...
Garden View - Massage pavillion
Studio 2 - 3 Bedrooms
Studio 2 - Living Room
Studio 2 - Living Room
Studio 2 - Sea View from the Living Room
Studio 2 - Modern Bathroom
Studio 2 - Luxury Shower Room
Studio 2 - Bedroom
Studio 2 - Bedroom
Studio 2 - Bedroom
Garden View - Path to the pool from Studio 2
Villa Laras - 4 Bedrooms
Villa Laras - Front Evening View
Villa Laras - Living Room
Villa Laras - Bedroom
Villa Laras - Bedroom
Villa Laras - Bedroom
Villa Laras - Bathroom
Villa Laras - Bathroom
Villa Laras - 2nd Storey Galley
Villa Laras - Carved Wooden Decorations
Garden View - Infiity pool
Villa Laras - Entrance gate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Senggigi, Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FUZ123
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible facilities and totally cut off”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This place had been booked for my family consisting of my wife and I and 3 children aged 15 13 and 5 years. We arrived in Lombok early evening and were met by the driver. All seemed to be going well until we were driven up a massive hill in the middle of no where. What made it worse was the driver getting lost and not being able to find the villa.

Walking in we were totally disappointed with what we found. Although it was clean - it was old and really could have done with a little TLC. The 3 bedrooms consisted of beds all of which had nets which themselves were useless as bugs spiders and mosquitoes had already made themselves at home within. It was so bad that we couldn't even use one of the rooms! It didn't help that the windows were all open and so all the insects you hear throughout the night comfortably get in. This place is not for a young family. It is too far out from the town. You are expected to rely on a member of staff, who is himself lovely, but doesn't stay on site. He will arrive in the morning and make breakfast - which none of us tried as it was disgusting.

The actual area itself is actually beautiful but just too far out and we felt totally cut off. If that's your thing in the middle of nature this is the place for you - just isn't for my family. If you don't like Geckos and insects crawling all over you at nigh,t stay away. It felt like we were in "I'm a celebrity get me out of here" except no one was there to let us out!!! We'd booked the place for 5 nights and left the next morning after we arrived. I wouldn't have Stayed that night either but all the other villas and hotels we tried were booked. The guy who is the caretaker was amazing. As soon as we got there I told him it wasn't for us and so he rode me on his bike around town to look for alternative accommodation. That's how desperate we were to leave. I managed to speak to the owner over the phone who was understandably very defensive. I told her we were not staying. It wasn't the right place for my family. The pictures look nothing like the real thing. We went on to have a brilliant stay in Lombok but there is no way you can comfortably do all those things we did from this remote location. I would be too worried to have my family stay here and travel to Senggigi and back by taxi. As I say - if you're into nature and don't want to see people or Lombok this is the place for you. Otherwise stay well clear.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing.
Liked least: Everything. Insects and the fact it was too far away
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
This is a disappointing review as we do work hard at the Studio to make all our guests comfortable and (as you will see from other reviews) everyone else loves our place!

In this case, our accommodation obviously did not suit the family. Our website does make it clear that the Studio is located on the Hill and a five-minute taxi ride from Senggigi. Most guests, including families, appreciate this, enjoying the peace and quiet – the ‘retreat’ nature of the Studio. It is also clear that the Studio is an eco-resort, and this will not suit everyone. We believe in living with nature – this means open windows and sometimes sharing the space with critters, such as little lizards. Again, most guests find this an attractive and charming aspect of the Studio experience. But if you prefer a more conventional hotel experience and you would rather be in a more crowded location, then the Studio is not for you!

As the reviewer explains, when it was clear that the Studio was unsuitable for his family, we did everything we could to assist them, including helping to find an alternative and refunding 50% of the pre-paid rental. Once again, a disappointing review, especially as we made a very reasonable and generous effort to accommodate the guest’s wishes. Please do read other reviews and you will find that almost all of our guests are extremely happy with the accommodation, the service and the location – including many families that love the place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maktmak
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super Staff. Great Stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Really enjoyed our time on The Hill at Studio Villa. Terrific views. Well appointed 2 BR villa. Close to a refreshing infinity pool. Welcome drinks. Fresh Breakfasts each morning in your villa. Quiet and relaxing. The place is up the hill from the hustle and bustle of Sengiggi beach. Staff is happy to order you a taxi and for 20-25,000 Rp you're in the thick of things really quick.
We would highly encourage a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Breakfast each day
Liked least: A little far from town, but easy to overcome this
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attractive, comfortable accommodation in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were really happy with the accommodation and loved the traditional Javanese architecture. The staff and local residents were really friendly and helpful, particularly Sahlul and his family. We especially enjoyed sitting on the balcony and taking in the view of the garden at dusk, the palm trees and the blue gleam of the ocean. The children loved the pool and all the outdoor space! The Studio is a great base for exploring Lombok; local beaches and the Gilis are all easily accessible and Sengiggi has some lovely art markets. We enjoyed eating out at 'The Square' restaurant as well as a couple of delicious BBQs at the poolside and would also strongly recommend the tasty fish satay on Nipah beach!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGS2607
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely villia on the hill”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have spend 6 days in the Studio Villa, largest house. It was a lovely place with a gorgeious view. The bedrooms and beds were good and all was clean.

The staff is very helpfull, although we expected them to clean a little more then only one time per day. We faced a few times a lot of ants in the house.
great to stay here with small kids and families.
We did not realise that the pool and BBQ area are for all guests and not only the main house. This was not a problem but something you should realise when you are looking for privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobyz
Summerland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home"”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Whether you stay for 5 days or for 5 weeks(as we did) The studio and its owners(Mark and Sopan) plus their staff, give you a feeling of " belonging" because of their personal approach .
Away from busy Senggigi, the Studio has easy acces to cheap local transport. We loved the beautiful view and amazing sunsets from our balcony in this tranquil location.
With other words ; the perfect place to stay in Lombok!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It was a pleasure having you to stay! And it helps to know what guests appreciate about the Studio. We look forward to the next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing