We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing resort, bit tired though.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Santosa Villas & Resort
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Senggigi
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great relaxing resort, bit tired though.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were comfortable and clean, but a bit old and tired looking. In our (Superior) room was a king sized bed, flat screen TV (but a cathode ray style, not LCD). No inputs for USB etc. only Video In and red/white sound channels. No DVD player either. No music system in the room. There was a fridge, but it didn't cool things well.

Air conditioner was a god send as it was very hot and humid.

The pool was fantastic with swim up bar and complimentary towels. Pool closed early at 6:30pm tough.

Breakfast (supplied) was OK, with eggs as you like and fresh fruit and Asian dishes to choose from.

Room service was fast and they delivered free ice cubes to our door.

Location was right in the middle of Senggigi, which was handy. I found it hard to judge the location using Google Maps, but it was in the middle of the action.

They advertise 'airport transfers' but on enquiring, they told us that we should get a cab (about $20USD) or get the bus ($3USD each). We chose the bus, which was pretty easy to find outside Praya airport. The bus took over 1.5 hours and was a bit of a drag. I think the taxi would be at least 30 minutes quicker. The bus driver asked us where we were staying and then dropped us right out the front. We even caught the same bus back as it runs ever hour with Senggigi as the starting point.

There are lots of day trips in the area being offered by the tour touts. We went to Gili Trawangan and Gili Air on two different days and we paid $20USD for each person on each trip. There are also one way transfers to either island for RP75,000 (about USD$7).

There are also day trips to Mt Rinjani, which range from1-day to 3-day tours, but we didn't have time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drphods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    140
    136
    65
    28
See reviews for
98
141
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The location is good surrounded with many restaurants & convenient store. Just a walking distance. The villa room is excellent. Spacious room with a sofa & king size bed. The shower is very good with a bath tub. But the water tab is dirty. After my son used the bath tub, we found there is sand in the water. The beach is average with black sand, but dirty beach & the water is not crystal clear. We love the surrounding with a great garden. The swimming pool is very big and the resort staffs were super friendly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zafrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I spent three nights in the Sentosa Resort, and I enjoyed the pool, the great service, and the great room. The negatives of the resort have nothing to do with the quality of the actual hotel. I was very satisfied with my room and the great breakfast provided. Rather, the negatives are the poor quality of the beach. Right on the other side of the pool is a beach, which is filled with hawkers who try to sell you things-- even when you are not on the beach! It is even worse when you are on the section of the beach abutting the resort. It's extremely annoying, and makes relaxing kind of difficult. In a country where security is cheaply purchased, it seems like an easy fix. Regardless, I would stay here again, as I was happy with the overall quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Really lovely resort & Lombok is a really great part of Indonesia.
Very different to Bali, cleaner, less commercialised and less pestering on resorts and beaches etc.
Santosa is a good hour drive from Lombok Airport, be prepared for a hair raising journey by local taxi. :-)
Santosa has lovely large grounds with massive swimming pool.
The staff here are fantastic, really do go the extra mile for their guests. Particularly Arthur who works the pool bar, he has worked here for 10 years and still is smiling every day. A real credit to the hotel.
The rooms are basic but substantial with good air conditioning and spacious bathrooms & balcony.
Breakfast is delicious and has a wide range of buffet choices to suit all tastes & cultures.
Highly recommend this resort for families or couples looking for relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alidews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Went to the Santosa in between Xmas and New Years so we were paying well over the regular price. What I didn't expect was moldy ceilings, food that made me ill for 2 days (the lamb kebabs!) plus other non-eatable food items including lobsters that were too young to be served, breakfast mobs with people waiting 30 minutes to get eggs, etc. etc.. A good pool was not the saving grace.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Senggigi hotels

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The room we booked was a superior and was upgraded to a Deluxe on arrival - fantasic :) . The room itself was very nice, not deluxe by any means but large, clean and relaxing. I was a little dubious after reading other reviews but to be honest the room was very good. If i wanted to be critical i could repeat others comments (broken blinds, non flat tv, a spot of mould if i looked really hard, aircon stopped once, a few tiles missing in the pool) but to be honest did this affect my stay - NO.

The staff are always fantastic esp Arthur at the Sunken Lounge. The breakfast is very good as is the food and drinks available form the restuarants.

The grounds are impressive as is the pool, which is huge and overlooks the beach. The beach has the locals fishing boats as a back drop after the mornings fishing, which i found very cutural and added to the holiday atmosphere.

Being January we did have rain every afternoon and also could not visit the Gili's as the habour master wouldnt let any boats travel to the islands. Very quite compared to Bali which i enjoyed.

Only real complaint is the poor wifi coverage that regularlly drops out, this should be easily fixed by installing a few wifi extenders around the grounds and tweeking the settings.

Room Tip: Deluxe was good value, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoxyB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived on 23 January 2014 and was immediately impressed by the beautiful compound, swimming pools, well appointed garden and the modern reception manned by polite staff. After checking in we were taken to room 1218.... And that was when our initial impression start to diminish. The room was rather old and in need of some general repairs. It was musky and the air conditioning leaked and dripped on the floor. We were only given 2 towels and I wasnt sure if they were fresh towels as they seem damp and had noticeable smell. We noticed this even after each day change of the towels.
The general location of the hotel is excellent with well appointed beautiful compound and facilities however the room and room service were major let down.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Senggigi hotels
1.1 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#13 of 30 in Senggigi
784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
736 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 30 in Senggigi
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Aruna Senggigi
Aruna Senggigi
#18 of 30 in Senggigi
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santosa Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santosa Villas & Resort

Property: The Santosa Villas & Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi Km 8, Senggigi, Lombok 83125, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Senggigi
#18 Spa Hotel in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Santosa Villas & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Senggigi, The Santosa Villas & Resort offers a range of accommodation styles from hotel to private pool villas with all amenities. The free form lagoon size pool, right on the beach, is the focal point of the resort to relax and enjoy the sun setting over Bali from the Sunset bar. Other facilities include bars, restaurants, 24 hour room service, tennis, kids club and conference center. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Santosa Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santosa Villas Hotel Senggigi
The Santosa Villas And Resort
The Santosa Hotel
Santosa Hotel Mataram
The Santosa Villas & Resort Senggigi, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing