We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, also good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Santosa Villas & Resort
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Senggigi
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here in March (a couple). The best thing was the surrounds, especially the pool. The room was pretty ordinary, flat screen TV, bar fridge (but it didn't keep thinks cold). We had to run the aircon 24 hours a day as it struggled.

The staff were friendly and delivered ice to our room upon request.

The breakfast was pretty reasonable (not great) with a selection of western options and asian options.

We found the resort eating options expensive, but there are loads of local options a short walk away.

Worst thing: The long hall trip from Praya airport. We caught the bus which wound its was through the local countryside and the whole trip was about 1 hour 20 minutes. I hear the taxi is about 45 minutes. There is a freeway for about the first 10km, then you go through the windy villages and the city of Mattaram.

If we ever go back, we would avoid Senggigi and go straight to the Gilli Islands, which wer great.

Room Tip: We got a room with a rock hard mattress and asked to be moved, which they did.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drphods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for The Santosa Villas & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is the best resort hotel I ever been. I love everything about this hotel. From the friendly staffs and the amazing facilities. Everything is lovely.

This is the hotel that I really recommend in this island but it took under two hours to reached the Gilis. I wish to come to this place again someday!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliffElvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Other hotels need taxis to the centre except for the Sheraton and Quake. Excellent pool and pool bar. Breakfast above average. Room was huge with good TV selection. Did not eat at hotel other than breakfast. 2 nights only - recommended. At centre of smallish main tourist area.
If going to Gili DO NOT TAKE THE bus/boat advertised everywhere for 75,000 ($7) it is for backpackers only. I did it - was a nightmare.

Room Tip: Large complex. close to pool 1026 was fine.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank insearchofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After moving from another hotel The Santosa was like a welcoming paradise. The grounds were beautifully kept, the pool was clean and very large, and the staff were incredible. We stayed in a Deluxe suite with a roll out bed for a third person which was very comfortable. The breakfast was a high light and the location was perfect, being in the middle of the main street however extremely quiet once inside the resort. There were ocean views from the pool and restaurant, and activities for the kids. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: the deluxe suite was very good
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel21wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Sprawling hotel 1 hour drive from the airport and right on Senggigi beach and 2 min walk away from the jetty if you want to go the the Gili Islands. Rooms are a little bit worn down and you can see that in its heyday it would have been spectacular, however was very comfortable. Rooms are quite a distance from the pool area. Pool area was amazing, huge pool with bar overlooking the beach. Breakfast was really good, so much to choose from. Service was also great and everyone was very friendly. My only complaint was that the chairs on the terrace was extremely uncomfortable so could not sit outside to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAMANTHA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The resort grounds were nice and staff very friendly. Unfortunately let down by poor housekeeping. Cleanliness was not fantastic and the rooms looked poorly maintained overall. However the massage was top notch!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Han314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I've stayed several times in the Santosa and I'm not the one to write bad reviews, but unfortunately I will not be able to recommend this hotel anymore unless you have the money to choose from one of the more expensive rooms.
This was the second time I've stayed in the superior room and whilst I wasn't overwhelmed by the room the last time, I was content, but this time the room we've stayed was old, worn down and smelly. I totally didn't enjoy our stay, the whole room smelled like stale sewer and everywhere you look you feel like it needs to be renovated.
We mentioned the smell when we checked in and the staff did came and sprayed the room, but unfortunately this only lasted for a bit.
The balcony is also worn down. The wood is broken and the view is on a serre covered with cigarette buds and empty packages.

The Santosa has great grounds, a beautiful pool, nice staff, good choice of breakfast, but unless you stay in a deluxe room or private villa I think it's not worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiliEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Senggigi hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 29 in Senggigi
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#14 of 29 in Senggigi
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
555 reviews
1.3 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Aruna Senggigi
Aruna Senggigi
#18 of 29 in Senggigi
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santosa Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santosa Villas & Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi Km 8, Senggigi, Lombok 83125, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Senggigi
#19 Spa Hotel in Senggigi
Price Range: £47 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Santosa Villas & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Senggigi, The Santosa Villas & Resort offers a range of accommodation styles from hotel to private pool villas with all amenities. The free form lagoon size pool, right on the beach, is the focal point of the resort to relax and enjoy the sun setting over Bali from the Sunset bar. Other facilities include bars, restaurants, 24 hour room service, tennis, kids club and conference center. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Santosa Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santosa Villas Hotel Senggigi
The Santosa Villas And Resort
The Santosa Hotel
Santosa Hotel Mataram
The Santosa Villas & Resort Senggigi, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing