We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds & Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Santosa Villas & Resort
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Senggigi
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds & Pool”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel in March 2014, for only one night, I was very impressed with the pool and grounds, well maintained gardens and very large pool. I had a lovely meal in the restaurant with the friends I was staying with, probably the best meal I'd had during 3 weeks in Indonesia. The only disappointment was the state of the room I stayed in, very old and run down, stains in bath, shabby doors etc. I believe they are due for renovation and it shows. But again, the grounds and food are excellent. Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes, possibly. As others have said, its convenient for the restaurants and bars of Senggigi, you can walk, no need for taxi. The Square restaurant, across street from the hotel, was my favourite place to eat. Excellent food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    140
    136
    65
    28
See reviews for
98
141
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were booked to stay at the Sentosa for 12 nights, however checked out after one night. The resort itself looks fantastic, the pool area is huge and well maintained. The restaurant was nice as were the communial areas.

The rooms however in the Terrace wing and the cottages are in dire need for a refurb. The rooms are barely appointed with the usual mod-cons you would expect and there are numerous stains, dripping taps etc and non working air-con. In stark contrast the newer villa rooms are gorgeous and if you were to book one of these you would not be disappointed.

The hotel describes itself as beachfront, which is technically correct - upon stepping out of the back gate you are on the beach. However all of the local fishing boats are parked on this beach and you wouldn't swim here as there is much trash floating around in the water.

A walk down the driveway brings you to the main street of Sengiggi with lots of restaurants, supermarkets etc so location couldn't be better from that perspective.

We found the staff to be very helpful and attentive and they did try to help us with alternate rooms to encourage us to stay.

The hotel offers free WIFI, however this is extremely hard to connect to in the rooms and we were told it was best to sit in the lobby.

Room Tip: Only look at the Villa rooms (until they can guarantee an upgrade of the other rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egensonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Having never stayed on Lombok Island before, we took the recommendation from our travel agent who had heard good things about this resort.

I was travelling with my best friend and while we have shared beds in the past we had booked this holiday with the view to NOT have to. We were assured that the private pool villa room had two beds and upon arrival we were not only treated to reception staff that spoke little to no English (I'll add that I speak a little Indonesian and tried to converse but failed, I have also been travelling to bali since 1995 and do not expect people to have fluent English skills) but to also be told that we only had a king bed and there was no possibility to have an additional bed made available.

We asked if they had any twin bed rooms available and we were promptly told, no rooms available. We new this was a complete lie as it was low season and had ample availability as we only booked 4 days prior.

Tired from travelling we decided to deal with it in the morning. Now I must say, the room was stunning and nicely appointed but on first impressions we had been left with a bad taste in our mouths and when we arrived in the room there was no mini bar items at all. When we called room service, it rang out 5 times before someone answered and told us that the kitchen was closed and so was the bar. Mind you it was 9pm on a Sunday.

We had originally planned to stay at Santosa for 4 nights but we left after 2 and went and stayed on the Gili islands instead.

I would NEVER recommend this resort. I have since told my travel agent to also stop recommending this place due to the LONG LIST of issues mentioned plus others I have not mentioned here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Senggigi hotels

Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is quite a big resort with its own beach front and in the middle of the city centre on Senggig where all your resturants and shops are. Has a nice big pool. 2 storey buildings. The rooms are spacious comes with seperate bath and tub but getting a bit dated in need of renovation. Has a balcony. The hotel grounds is very well maintained gardens. The buffet breakfast is quite good in nice setting lots of varieties to chose from. I used the business centre Computers and free WIFI. Split system a/c in our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horlicks88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here in March (a couple). The best thing was the surrounds, especially the pool. The room was pretty ordinary, flat screen TV, bar fridge (but it didn't keep thinks cold). We had to run the aircon 24 hours a day as it struggled.

The staff were friendly and delivered ice to our room upon request.

The breakfast was pretty reasonable (not great) with a selection of western options and asian options.

We found the resort eating options expensive, but there are loads of local options a short walk away.

Worst thing: The long hall trip from Praya airport. We caught the bus which wound its was through the local countryside and the whole trip was about 1 hour 20 minutes. I hear the taxi is about 45 minutes. There is a freeway for about the first 10km, then you go through the windy villages and the city of Mattaram.

If we ever go back, we would avoid Senggigi and go straight to the Gilli Islands, which wer great.

Room Tip: We got a room with a rock hard mattress and asked to be moved, which they did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drphods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is the best resort hotel I ever been. I love everything about this hotel. From the friendly staffs and the amazing facilities. Everything is lovely.

This is the hotel that I really recommend in this island but it took under two hours to reached the Gilis. I wish to come to this place again someday!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffElvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Other hotels need taxis to the centre except for the Sheraton and Quake. Excellent pool and pool bar. Breakfast above average. Room was huge with good TV selection. Did not eat at hotel other than breakfast. 2 nights only - recommended. At centre of smallish main tourist area.
If going to Gili DO NOT TAKE THE bus/boat advertised everywhere for 75,000 ($7) it is for backpackers only. I did it - was a nightmare.

Room Tip: Large complex. close to pool 1026 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank insearchofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Senggigi hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
735 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#13 of 30 in Senggigi
784 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 30 in Senggigi
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Aruna Senggigi
Aruna Senggigi
#18 of 30 in Senggigi
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santosa Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santosa Villas & Resort

Property: The Santosa Villas & Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi Km 8, Senggigi, Lombok 83125, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Senggigi
#18 Spa Hotel in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Santosa Villas & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Senggigi, The Santosa Villas & Resort offers a range of accommodation styles from hotel to private pool villas with all amenities. The free form lagoon size pool, right on the beach, is the focal point of the resort to relax and enjoy the sun setting over Bali from the Sunset bar. Other facilities include bars, restaurants, 24 hour room service, tennis, kids club and conference center. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Santosa Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santosa Villas Hotel Senggigi
The Santosa Villas And Resort
The Santosa Hotel
Santosa Hotel Mataram
The Santosa Villas & Resort Senggigi, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing