We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Manor Kind of Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manoir Rouville-Campbell
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Manor Kind of Experience”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our last weekend experience at this Tudor-style Manoir Rouville-Campbell in Mont St-Hilaire, Quebec, was nothing less than outstanding. A total and wonderful hotel experience. This architectural gem was the work of second owner & proprietor Thomas Edmund Campbell, ex-secretary to Lord Elgin in Montreal. This architectural marvel was classified as an "historic monument" by the Quebec Government in 1977.

Edmund Campbell was the one who was originally at the source of the construction project of the manor. The Rouville-Campbell Manor has nothing less than eight different types of rooms and accommodation which sits in the Montérégie & Mont St-Hilaire pictoresque region. Among its amenities you'll find a very nice pub, a high-class restaurant, exterior pool, gardens galore where you'll be able to stroll along and smell the many varieties of rose flowers, fruit trees, plants, shrubs and bushes. The Manor offers many activities for you to enjoy. It is nice to know that it was sculptor Jordi Bonet who had the initiative to have the manor classified as an historic monument in 1969. Among some of the historical events that took place at the manor, in 1977, was an American movie production shot at this location full of history and magic: Barry Levinson's Hotel New Hampshire, starring Beau Bridges, Rob Lowe and Jodie Foster. It was in 1996 that comedian Yvon Deschamps bought the manor and actively participated in its development.

Now a property of the Imbeau Family, the manor is now a luxury hotel. It has a 200-year history and continues to impress all those who cross its main entrance doors. It's unique character continues to make it a treasure of national heritage. A historical monument where guests will always be, like we were, caught up in the beauty and majesty of its surroundings.

Room Tip: Make sure you can have a room close to restaurant and services. Also make sure you have a good road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    47
    8
    13
    7
See reviews for
27
48
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed at the Manoir after a trip through the Eastern townships. Very nice hotel, although not used the original Parlor and the Dining room have been kept as original and feature original furniture and paintings. Very helpfull Staff, our room was large with a Queen bed overlooking the garden. Very clean, well equipped, A/C worked well and was quiet, free WIFI that also worked well. Especially liked the many Audubon prints that cover the hall walls.

The gardens are very nice as is the view of the river, breakfast was included, well done except for the paper napkins, Evening Diners get linen, guess the Breakfast Group don't rate. For dinner we opted for the Pub as the Dining room has a limited menu, very slow service and greasy food, not what I expected for a Hotel of this calibre.

Would stay here again, great venue for a wedding or anniversary

Room Tip: The Hotel is located on private fenced grounds some distance fron the road, any room should be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuswap68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed in the Manoir 3 nights for business travel and had a nice experience. Clean, tidy, spacious room, with a BIG and comfortable bed plus a living room, which had independent doors to the hotel corridor and were connected to each other by a lockable door, thus ensuring adequate privacy. Furniture and room decoration is old style, but well kept, clean and part of the scenario. Soft and hard pillows to choose from. Adequate lighting. Bathroom was spacious, clean and adequately equiped, including heating controlled independently from the rest of the room. Room servicing was correct. I just missed an electric outlet adapted for ex-North American appliances (e.g. razor), and the ability to place calls outside North-America from the room. Breakfast is served at "Le Pub", where you can choose from some 4 or 5 a la carte somewhat varied choices. Staff was very attentive and nice. Convenience of location depends, of course, of your main interest but in general I felt the hotel was rather far from Montreal city. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweetySP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed overnight for a meeting and was very pleased with both the cosy historic room and the friendly staff. While dinner was a bit expensive, everything was tasty with a nice presentation. The gardens by the river make for a relaxing stroll. Obviously very different from a big chain hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-Saint-Hilaire
7.9 mi away
Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Auberge Handfield Et Spa
#1 of 2 in Saint Marc sur Richelieu
182 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Tilleuls
Hotel Les Trois Tilleuls
#2 of 2 in Saint Marc sur Richelieu
120 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Rive Gauche
Hotel Rive Gauche
#1 of 1 in Beloeil
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Mortagne
Hotel Mortagne
#1 of 3 in Boucherville
212 reviews
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe
12.5 mi away
Hotel Le Dauphin Saint-Hyacinthe
Hotel Le Dauphin Saint-Hyacinthe
#2 of 3 in Saint Hyacinthe
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Rouville-Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Rouville-Campbell

Property: Manoir Rouville-Campbell
Address: 125 Chemin des Patriotes Sud, Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec J3H 3G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Rouville-Campbell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir Rouville-Campbell is located only 30 minutes south of Montreal, 4 kilometers from road 20, coming from Quebec and rises gracefully amid the natural vicinity of the Mont-St-Hilaire and the Richelieu River. Our proximity to various touristic attractions gives our guests a chance to step out and explore many aspects of our wonderful region. Only minutes away, our guests can discover the natural beauty of Le Centre de la Nature, Mont St-Hilaire or Cultural Center of Beloeil, tee-off at one of many golf courses, visit an Orchard, a cider mill,vineyards, or escape for a day at the STROM Spa. Manoir Rouville-Campbell and its surrounding neighborhood have the perfect setting for a jog, a bicycle ride (packages available on site) or a walk with a breathtaking view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manoir Rouville-Campbell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing