We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manoir Rouville-Campbell
Airdrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We have stopped in twice during our stay in Mont St. Hilaire. The building and grounds drew our attention. Just beautiful. Our first meal was breakfast and we weren't highly impressed, but felt we would like to return another day for dinner on their terrace. Although we couldn't see the river due to a large wedding tent, we fully enjoyed the experience. the ribs were the best we had ever eaten.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    49
    8
    13
    7
See reviews for
29
50
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I walked in with no reservations a couple of days ago. I had checked their website and found their menu which was very complete, imaginative and varied. I indeed looked foward to an interesting and satisfying meal at this most lovely location. Well, the menu (still on their website) no longer exists. In fact, when I asked the waitress about this, she simply mentioned in a fairly cavalier way that "oh no... this does not exist anymore. They just forgot to take it off the site". I did not feel like getting up and finding another place to eat. So, my wife and I hunkered down on their uncomfortable metal chairs and decided to try their current menu. The food is extremely disappointing. It is only a notch above your common street corner greasy food place. This is quite unfortunate for such a lovely place (I had stayed there some time back). The location is superb next to the Richelieu River, the setting fairly "European" in nature and generally well kept. Under new management, I suppose, they have cut prices in order to draw a different clientele. Well, in my mind, they are doing exactly the opposite. Do not go there for the food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jlafortune63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Attended a wedding on the 11th of may and what a disappointment,,,
Food was horrible lacking of freshness and taste.

Don't get me wrong the presentation looks very good as a `gastronomie` but that what was all about ,,,wait until you taste the frozen vegetables and the awfully bad taste stuffed chicken,,, The chicken breast was dry hard to chew and God knows what was stuffed inside,,, Oh no that was of a very bad taste

The wine was nice and the crème brûlee was a bit too sweet and this is all what I had for the evening and yes the very light coffee
I am so sorry to write this review but I was very much disappointed

Thank you but Never again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valllentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brossard, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A decent sized mansion with very nice cozy ambience and warm atmosphere room. Their highlight is the surrounding picturesque landscape with large garden and fountain, etc... It is a VERY popular locale for weddings and so, when booking for a summer weekend getaway, reserve way ahead of time, or else chances are it is fully booked due to a wedding event (I was there twice: once for a weekend anniversary celebration and another time to attend a friend's outdoor wedding) ... yes, they have a separate wing where the reception is held.
The restaurant is stylish and offer a nice degustation meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMasterville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Eatind and staying at the Manoir is an outstanding experience. We stayed there December 31st and rented a suite. The expense was worth every penny, The New Year's Eve celebration was festive yet distinguished. The meal and service extraordinary. The suite was out of this world! It was like turning back the clock to the late 1800s. The room was appointed with period furniture with an extremely comfortable bed. We had a spectacular view of the mountain. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and look forward to going back.

Diane D

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeD217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I came to stay for 2 nights for a family wedding. The Tudor style manor house hotel is set in lovely grounds by the river. I imagine in Spring and Summer its wonderful and it did look very pretty in the snow. The room was well appointed and very comfortable, the bed was up a short flight of stairs from the sitting area and bathroom. Breakfast was very good as in fact were all the meals that we had there. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumierah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our last weekend experience at this Tudor-style Manoir Rouville-Campbell in Mont St-Hilaire, Quebec, was nothing less than outstanding. A total and wonderful hotel experience. This architectural gem was the work of second owner & proprietor Thomas Edmund Campbell, ex-secretary to Lord Elgin in Montreal. This architectural marvel was classified as an "historic monument" by the Quebec Government in 1977.

Edmund Campbell was the one who was originally at the source of the construction project of the manor. The Rouville-Campbell Manor has nothing less than eight different types of rooms and accommodation which sits in the Montérégie & Mont St-Hilaire pictoresque region. Among its amenities you'll find a very nice pub, a high-class restaurant, exterior pool, gardens galore where you'll be able to stroll along and smell the many varieties of rose flowers, fruit trees, plants, shrubs and bushes. The Manor offers many activities for you to enjoy. It is nice to know that it was sculptor Jordi Bonet who had the initiative to have the manor classified as an historic monument in 1969. Among some of the historical events that took place at the manor, in 1977, was an American movie production shot at this location full of history and magic: Barry Levinson's Hotel New Hampshire, starring Beau Bridges, Rob Lowe and Jodie Foster. It was in 1996 that comedian Yvon Deschamps bought the manor and actively participated in its development.

Now a property of the Imbeau Family, the manor is now a luxury hotel. It has a 200-year history and continues to impress all those who cross its main entrance doors. It's unique character continues to make it a treasure of national heritage. A historical monument where guests will always be, like we were, caught up in the beauty and majesty of its surroundings.

Room Tip: Make sure you can have a room close to restaurant and services. Also make sure you have a good road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-Saint-Hilaire
7.9 mi away
Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Auberge Handfield Et Spa
#1 of 2 in Saint Marc sur Richelieu
198 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Tilleuls
Hotel Les Trois Tilleuls
#2 of 2 in Saint Marc sur Richelieu
126 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Rive Gauche
Hotel Rive Gauche
#1 of 1 in Beloeil
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur...
#1 of 5 in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
223 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Le Dauphin Saint-Hyacinthe
Hotel Le Dauphin Saint-Hyacinthe
#2 of 3 in Saint Hyacinthe
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Rouville-Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Rouville-Campbell

Property: Manoir Rouville-Campbell
Address: 125 Chemin des Patriotes Sud, Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec J3H 3G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Rouville-Campbell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir Rouville-Campbell is located only 30 minutes south of Montreal, 4 kilometers from road 20, coming from Quebec and rises gracefully amid the natural vicinity of the Mont-St-Hilaire and the Richelieu River. Our proximity to various touristic attractions gives our guests a chance to step out and explore many aspects of our wonderful region. Only minutes away, our guests can discover the natural beauty of Le Centre de la Nature, Mont St-Hilaire or Cultural Center of Beloeil, tee-off at one of many golf courses, visit an Orchard, a cider mill,vineyards, or escape for a day at the STROM Spa. Manoir Rouville-Campbell and its surrounding neighborhood have the perfect setting for a jog, a bicycle ride (packages available on site) or a walk with a breathtaking view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Manoir Rouville-Campbell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing