We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday meal”
Review of Red Lion Inn - CLOSED

Red Lion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$48
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Leicester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great birthday meal”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We went here for our friends birthday meal who was 92 & we had a lovely time here, food was excellent & the staff the same. We would defiantly go back & would recommend to friends

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    82
    32
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“5 star pub food”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Saturday night, lovely atmosphere, good selection of real ales, fantastic food! Plentiful use of many local and seasonal ingredients: Jerusalem artichoke, chestnut and chanterelle risotto was superb, Cropwell Bishop stilton pannacotta fantastic ............ main course of 28 day aged rib eye was perfectly cooked, flavoursome and tender, the fish & chips and the brill were brilliant ............ good selection of traditional puddings and local cheeses. Booking recommended - you wont be disappointed! Well done to the Red Lion!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veritas59915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Fantastic wine tasting evening”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Went to a Spanish wine tasting evening at the Red Lion. Had a plat du jour first, then joined a group tasting fine wines from all over Spain, led by Pedro Torres from their sister restaurant, the Olive Branch at Clipsham. Excellent service and very passionate delivery of Spanish wine information from Sr. Torres. Would definitely come again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cambio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Worth the detour”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Having already visited the sister restaurant we had high hopes for this gastro pub and we were pleasantly surprised that this was even better! Very friendly staff, delicious ciders and beers followed by a very well put together menu that we all loved. The Stilton mouse is an absolute winner as were the Beef cheek pastas. Hake slightly over cooked but still very good and loved the brandade fritters.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank aquabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brill”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is our local pub and we eat here regularly, having had countless meals here i have never had a bad one the only dish ive had that i didnt like was gaspachio (think thats spelt wrong), and that was more to do with personal taste than the quality of the food, the staff are always freindly and helpful, the price is a bit high but i believe in "you get what you pay for". the pub is unsurprisingly busy a lot of the time paticularly on weekends so book in advance to avoid dissapointment.

during the summer the yard is a fantastic place to sit and blow the froth off a few.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luke886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

Stathern, Leicestershire
 
Branston, Lincolnshire
Langar, Nottinghamshire
 
Clipsham, Rutland
Redmile, Nottinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing