We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Anjou”
Review of La Rucheliere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Rucheliere
Ranked #2 of 2 Contigne B&B and Inns
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An oasis in Anjou”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

What a wonderful and charming hotel. The hosts, Carole and Olivier were warm and gracious - no request was too large or too small. Our rooms were delightfully appointed and comfortable. We loved sitting in the living room having a glass of wine and appetizers. The breakfasts that were provided were very good. We went to nearby restaurant one evening - right on a river - but ate at the only restaurant in town - "Le Bon Boeuf" - the other two nights. We loved exploring the countryside. I would go back again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    68
    11
    25
    15
See reviews for
34
136
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This was our third visit to this wonderful old house, we always wish we could stay longer ! Our hosts Carole and Olivier have always made us feel so welcome and helped us arrange restaurants and places to visit.
The rooms are all unique with antique furniture and sumptuous beds [ do'nt expect a t.v here, that would spoil the peace and tranquility ] the bathrooms are very good by french standards again with many antique features and plenty of hot water.
Nice breakfast,safe off road parking, and so relaxing, Highly recommended

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful and different and very quiet, room sizes vary from small to very large,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussnRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Only stayed here one night on a business trip but was delighted with the hotel. Owner could not be more friendly and hospitable, rooms were charming and lovely location. I would certainly want to return and spend more time here in the summer to take advantage of all the amenities this lovely hotel has.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterstoneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The old presbytery was really enchanting as a place to stay. We only spent a night there, stopping on the way down further south, but if we had known what it was like we would certainly have stopped there for longer to begin our holiday properly.

One of the best aspects for us, travelling with 3 small children, was the layout of the rooms. We had two large, beautifully decorated and spacious rooms which were interconnecting, and so it allowed us to get the children to bed and then have something of an evening in these beautiful surroundings. The whole ambience too was delightful - we spent a lot of time roaming in the garden with the children, and Carole was immensely hospitable in directing us to a good place to eat and, in general, in making sure things were good.

A special place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrieres-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I spent 2 nights la Ruchelière. This chambre d'hôtes is located about 40mins drive outside Angers in a small village next to a church. This is a charming house that is decorated with taste with a lovely garden with a hammock. The hostess Carole made us feel very welcome and helped us discover two nearby Michelin starred restaurants: Une Île in Angers and Châteaux de Noirieux (a member of Relais & Châteaux). Breakfast was good with a wide selection of croissants, cakes and juices. The parking is free and is by the church. There is a pool that is heated and indoors but opens out onto a small patio with loungers. I found the sound of the adjacent church bells charming. A very peaceful break. I highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Our_man_in_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contigne
4.6 mi away
Chateau des Briottieres
Chateau des Briottieres
#1 of 2 in Champigne
324 reviews
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
Le Port Saint-Aubin
#1 of 1 in Morannes
20 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chateau du Plessis Anjou
Chateau du Plessis Anjou
#1 of 1 in La Jaille Yvon
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Parc Hotel
Parc Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chateau-Gontier
110 reviews
11.8 mi away
Campanile Sable Sur Sarthe - Vion
Campanile Sable Sur Sarthe - Vio...
#1 of 1 in Sable-sur-Sarthe
91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chateau de la Haye
Chateau de la Haye
#1 of 2 in Contigne
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rucheliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rucheliere

Property: La Rucheliere
Address: 6 Place Jacques Ledoyen, 49330 Contigne, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Contigne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Contigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just come and take time to enjoy our beautiful area. The Loire valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Rucheliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rucheliere France/Contigne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing