We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cozy getaway”
Review of Darragh Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mitchelstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Darragh Cottages
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cozy getaway”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We found these cottages to be "out of the way" yet within close driving proximity to some major cities. It was so nice to get out of the city, stay somewhere quiet, but yet be close enough to hang out in some of the major spots around southwestern Ireland.

The cottages themselves were very comfortable and I would highly recommend them. If I am every in the area again, I don't believe I'll be looking for another place to stay, I will simply return here. I see no reason to bother with a search for somewhere else.

Our hosts were very accommodating and friendly. They helped us out with some great sites to see and gave us great insight to the surrounding area.

I really can't think of enough good things to say and I have no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

One of the best holiday lets, that I have ever stayed. The area is stunning, the people are lovely and I can't think of a bad word to say about our stay.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PIERSQUIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

If you are looking for a peaceful and quite break, this is a perfect spot. Beautiful stone cottage situated in the country side away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Perfectly situated if you want to explore the Southern part of Ireland. Our dogs had the whole garden for themselves and they too had a ball. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We can definitely recommend it. This was our first trip to Ireland and we already planning our next one.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yolandi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Darragh cottages lived up to the description given on the web site from which we booked the holiday.The cottage was very adequate with all the home comforts at hand ,and set in glorious surroundings.Mr Boylan was a very good host,and very helpful.I have no complaints,and am hoping to return next year for another slice of peaceful Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flinn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

A lovely cottage to stay in. Very pet friendly as we took 4 dogs with us who loved the big garden. Lovely scenery, good central location for SW Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HTaylor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Very cosy cottages with good facilities in tranquil setting. Good walking in the area especially in the Ballyhoura and Galtee mountains.

Good centre for visiting the south west of Ireland including the Ring of Kerry and Dingle Penninsula and Limerick and the Shannon. Even Dublin and Waterford are possible from here.

Mr Boylan very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthamptonAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

The cottages were set in a nice location a few miles north of Mitchelstown, with an extensive grassy area available for children to play. The owner was most friendly and helpful, and knew a lot about the local history of the area. Facilities were good although decorative touches were slightly lacking. Cork, Limerick and Killaloe are easily accessible now that new roads have been built, but there are golf courses at nearby Mitchelstown and Charleville. Also others at Mallow and Doneraile (9 holes).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terrysbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Darragh Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darragh Cottages

Property: Darragh Cottages
Address: Darraghmore House | Kilfinane, Mitchelstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mitchelstown
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mitchelstown
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darragh Cottages are a group of four beautifully restored stone cottages on the Cork-Limerick border in the heart of southern Ireland Situated in their own Victorian stone walled garden, the cottages are an ideal escape from everyday life. The surrounding fields form the grounds of a Georgian House which include an award-winning wildlife garden. The estate is accessed by a tree-lined drive way which extends from the nearest road a quarter of a mile away. The cottages are ideally located for day trips to the Lakes of Killarney, Cliffs of Moher, Waterford Crystal, Bunratty Folk Park, Blarney Castle and the Rock of Cashel. Locally the scenic countryside provides many interesting towns for sightseeing and activities such as golf, walking, fishing, mountain biking and horse riding. The Cottages are surrounded by the Ballyhoura hills and the Galtee mountains. Galtimore, the highest peak, is within sight of the estate. The cottages are a lovely place to visit Spring, Summer or Autumn! Now enjoy free 7Mb wireless internet in the peace of the countryside! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing