We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience The Real Irish Country Side” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darragh Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mitchelstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Darragh Cottages
Kirkland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience The Real Irish Country Side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Just returned from Ireland this afternoon and had to write about a great place where we stayed. Darragh Cottages. This place is a hidden "gem" in the Irish countryside, yet close to the towns with easy access to major tourist attractions. The cottage was very comfortable and the beds were terrific, in fact we slept better than at home. Also, my sister and I, stayed on longer than our one week booking because we enjoyed it so much. For us it was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the south of Ireland. The owner met us when we arrived and explained how things worked. He came by just to see how we were doing, which we really appreciated. We will be returning to Ireland next year, with the husbands, and we hope to stay at Darragh Cottages. The only negative comment is we wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: I would take any room they would give me
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donkeygirl735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

If you want to explore SW Ireland then Darragh Cottages is a good base. Within easy reach of Limerick to the north and Cork to the south, you can be in either city in about an hour by car. They are country cottages so don't expect elegant hotel rooms. But they are perfectly comfortable and well equipped. The beds were comfy, bathroom/toilet facilities were clean and more than adequate, kitchen was well equipped for a couple (there was basic tea/coffee/sugar/salt etc supplied) and the sitting room replete with adequate seating and TV. A wireless/radio was about the only thing missing.
The locality is rural/farming and thus, very quiet but beautiful. The tiny local pub is vague about opening times and this probably says something about the nature of rural Irish Pubs. If you want music sessions you will have to be prepared to drive and head home late because they don't kick off until 9.30 or so in most places.
Electricity is an "extra" presumably because consumption will vary greatly with the season and the weather. Be prepared to pay something as you leave, according to the meter. The common utility room has washing/drying facilities and lots of tourist information.
The hosts/owners are welcoming, helpful, knowledgeable but not intrusive.
We heartily recommend these cottages for a quiet and restful break and a great base for going out and exploring places such as Cork Gaol, Rock of Cashel, Dingle Peninsula, Cobh Harbour.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FourstarBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Off the beaten track but in nice surroundings, and a good base for touring. Cottage was fine and the enclosed large garden would be a great place for kids to play - ours have grown up now, but we remember what it was like when they were young. Large outdoor BBQ and tables lend themselves to a pleasant afternoons relaxation on a sunny day when you want a break from travelling. Hosts are helpful and unobtrusive. Never managed to get into the local pub - reall rural place that only seems to open after 10PM!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We found these cottages to be "out of the way" yet within close driving proximity to some major cities. It was so nice to get out of the city, stay somewhere quiet, but yet be close enough to hang out in some of the major spots around southwestern Ireland.

The cottages themselves were very comfortable and I would highly recommend them. If I am every in the area again, I don't believe I'll be looking for another place to stay, I will simply return here. I see no reason to bother with a search for somewhere else.

Our hosts were very accommodating and friendly. They helped us out with some great sites to see and gave us great insight to the surrounding area.

I really can't think of enough good things to say and I have no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

One of the best holiday lets, that I have ever stayed. The area is stunning, the people are lovely and I can't think of a bad word to say about our stay.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PIERSQUIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

If you are looking for a peaceful and quite break, this is a perfect spot. Beautiful stone cottage situated in the country side away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Perfectly situated if you want to explore the Southern part of Ireland. Our dogs had the whole garden for themselves and they too had a ball. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We can definitely recommend it. This was our first trip to Ireland and we already planning our next one.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yolandi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Darragh cottages lived up to the description given on the web site from which we booked the holiday.The cottage was very adequate with all the home comforts at hand ,and set in glorious surroundings.Mr Boylan was a very good host,and very helpful.I have no complaints,and am hoping to return next year for another slice of peaceful Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flinn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchelstown
4.7 mi away
Ballinwillin House
Ballinwillin House
#1 of 5 in Mitchelstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.3 mi away
Carrigeen Castle
Carrigeen Castle
#2 of 6 in Cahir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darragh Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darragh Cottages

Property: Darragh Cottages
Address: Darraghmore House | Kilfinane, Mitchelstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mitchelstown
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mitchelstown
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darragh Cottages are a group of four beautifully restored stone cottages on the Cork-Limerick border in the heart of southern Ireland Situated in their own Victorian stone walled garden, the cottages are an ideal escape from everyday life. The surrounding fields form the grounds of a Georgian House which include an award-winning wildlife garden. The estate is accessed by a tree-lined drive way which extends from the nearest road a quarter of a mile away. The cottages are ideally located for day trips to the Lakes of Killarney, Cliffs of Moher, Waterford Crystal, Bunratty Folk Park, Blarney Castle and the Rock of Cashel. Locally the scenic countryside provides many interesting towns for sightseeing and activities such as golf, walking, fishing, mountain biking and horse riding. The Cottages are surrounded by the Ballyhoura hills and the Galtee mountains. Galtimore, the highest peak, is within sight of the estate. The cottages are a lovely place to visit Spring, Summer or Autumn! Now enjoy free 7Mb wireless internet in the peace of the countryside! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing