We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mitchelstown? Really?”
Review of Palm Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Mitchelstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Yes. Really. We were pleasantly surprised! We had a great experience at the Palm Lodge last night. It was a last minute reservation for our party of 5- and they we're very accommodating. This B&B is 5 minutes off the M8 and we arrived about an hour after leaving Blarney Castle. It's about 200 km from Dublin. The rooms were spacious, well decorated and very clean. The bathrooms were just as tidy and well laid out. The landscaping is beautiful and the rooms have amazing views of rolling hills and pastures. A bonus at this B&B was that there is a generous kitchenette available to boarders. Breakfast was delicious and the freshly squeezed OJ made the meal. We ate dinner at the Hunter's Rest, just about 4 minutes down the road. The restaurant was delicious, inexpensive and offered a wide variety of choices including spring rolls and a whole page of chicken entrees.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Although we only stayed at Palm Lodge for a single night, it left an extremely positive impression on us. Our group consisted of seven people, all of whom were ably accommodated inside the surprisingly spacious (extended) bungalow. When we arrived the owner Mary greeted us, quickly seeing us to our rooms and laying on tea and lemon cake (or alternatives) for the whole party. This was done in the front room, which had a lovely real coal fire and TV complete with full Sky package. The rooms themselves were large, well upholstered, and extremely comfortable. Each had an en-suite bathroom with an excellent power shower. Towels were also provided. We were in Mitchelstown for a family party (Palm Lodge is no more than 2 minutes drive from the town centre), and so were out until the early hours of the morning -- which proved not to be an issue. In the morning we were treated to a full Irish breakfast cooked by Mary and her husband, which was the perfect start to the day. Brilliantly, we were able to choose the time of breakfast. This point, I think, really sums up the appeal of Palm Lodge: it's clean, comfortable, and welcoming, with the homely aspect allowing for a more personalised experience that means you get exactly what you want. Thanks Mary!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed there for only one night but we really enjoyed it a lot. Mary is a wonderful host and we were so lucky to stay there even thought her son came home from Australia, she offered us the room. Thanks a lot, Mary. We found the house really super and very nice. The best one we
had in Ireland. The breakfast was just wondrful. We would come here again if we were in Ireland again. We had some wonderful house together! thanks for your warm welcome, Mary and Sony.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for three nights in September while visiting friends in the locality. Great place, would highly recommend!! Recently renovated with big comfy beds, use of a fully equipped kitchen and the power showers were absolutely AMAZING. The owners are welcoming and helpful, they gave us great tips on where to eat and what there was to do in the area. And the full Irish breakfast they cooked us fresh each morning was just what we needed to set us up for the day. The panoramic views of the Galtee mountains were also spectacular. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a warm welcome, beautiful room, delicious breakfast to order (lots of variety!), nice views and lovely indoor and outdoor common space. What more can you ask? OK, I also wanted WiFi--that was also here too, although not in my room--not a problem! Loved our stay here!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank nwk_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This B&B has excellent accommodation in a quiet location, friendly hosts and a fine breakfast. There's plenty of parking and a footpath all the way to town, about 1km away. The stay was very good value for money. A high standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McD62013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

EXCELLENT B+B. Stayed two nights. Will definitely go there again when back in Mitchelstown.
Beautiful views of The Galtee mountains. Lovely rooms (Brilliant power showers)/food. Breakfast fit for a King. Loved the kitchen for making a late cuppa. Made feel very welcome by the owners. Loved the whole ambience /very relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Palm Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Lodge B&B

Address: Limerick Road, Mitchelstown, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mitchelstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchelstown
Price Range: £31 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious family home with acknowledged spectacular panoramic views ideally located for touring south of Ireland and for accessing Cork and Shannon airports and Rosslare ferries. Local interests include Michelstown caves, Glen of Aherlow, Rock of Cashel, Vee Valley and Cork and Limerick cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing