We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing top of the range B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sissinghurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Sissinghurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing top of the range B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We really enjoyed our bank-holiday stay at Sissinghurst Farm House very much (to run away from the Royal Wedding frenzy): it is a place that ticks all of our boxes, being cozy and small in capacity, finished in high standard. Sue and Frasier are amazing friendly people and hospitable hosts. The location is just undescribable with views onto the castle and no pass-through traffic either.
Also the breakfast with lots of fresh produce is top-class.
Definitely to be recommended for anyone that wants to avoid the masses and is looking for something exclusive especially if you like to run away from London city life for a weekend.

p.s. Oh and go for a meal (the taster one was amazing) at Richard Phillips at Chapel Down!

Rose and Micha

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Upon arrival at this large 19th century house set in wonderful garden we were greeted by owners Sue & Frazer (and their lovely dog Inca) with a big smile and the offer of tea & cake on the lawn - a great way to start a relaxing weekend break in the green Kent countryside. The house has a lovely homely feel and our room was large, clean and characterful with modern accessories eg., flatscreen TV and ipod docking station although no hairdryer but sure one would've been provided if I'd asked. The modern ensuite bathroom was quite small and so may have been better if designed as a good sized shower room instead but again was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good with plenty fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals and very tasty traditional full english - offered in variations to suit your own taste and served til 10am - good news for us who like to relax when we're way and not ruled by an early breakfast clock! Excellent food is available at local pubs (Three Chimneys) & restaurants including a Kent winery (Chapel Down) but allow for taxi fares if you don't want to drive. We left after a 2 night value for money stay feeling totally chilled, full of food and so went for a walk around the grounds of the castle which are right next door!

Room Tip: Hareplain room gives views of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-WT-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

This is our second stay at the Farmhouse and it was again a lovely experience. We stayed in a different room to our last stay and it was just as nice, if not nicer than the previous room. Sue and Fraser are excellent hosts and are very helpful with local knowledge. We sat in the garden after a lovely day out and it is in a beautiful location. The breakfast was as good as we remembered from our last visit. It is a good location to explore the treasures of Kent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paz752451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

What a perfect find. First off, the website already extends a warm welcome, providing extensive and specific information and photos about the property, accommodation and services. Secondly, the response from Sue Thompson was very swift. Out of 7 or so properties in the region I contacted, this was the second response. Although it was not possible to stay for the whole week, Sue recommended another property close by for us to move on to, and which met our needs.

Arriving at Sissinghurst is also a beautiful experience. It helped no doubt that the sun was shining, and indeed shone during the whole week of our stay in Kent. However the house indeed has been masterfully restored and updated, yet has kept it sense if time and grandeur (although not in the least stuffy). We received a warm welcome from Sue, Frazer and Inca, the aging and very affectionate black Labrador.

For me, it was a real piece of luck that Frazer is CEO of Chapel Down vineyard nearby, since the main purpose of my trip was to do a wine tour in the region to prepare for a wine tasting presentation on English wines for the Brussels wine circle.

Nothing was too much – cups of tea and ginger cake in the afternoon (guests have a dedicated sitting room and dining room, both of which are splendid). Sue even offered to drive us to and pick us up from a local restaurant, although I declined, thinking this went beyond the call of her duty!

The room was beautifully appointed, and there was nothing lacking – spanking new flat screen TV, everything needed to make team, coffee, biscuits, and water. The bathroom was really well designed with a wonderful walk in shower. The only point I would make is that the washbasins are a little small for a bathroom – but it wasn’t a big deal. Large thick fluffy towels were provided and really Sue was just really mindful, providing anything she saw that might have been missing, or needed.

Went on a really long winery tour yesterday, and went directly to the local pub for some food. On the way back, saw a big fat badger crossing the lane. It’s so nice to get a real taste of the countryside!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally sumptuous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubruxella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

What a treat to walk out of this elegant residence and into the gardens of Sissinghurst. Sue and Frazer are marvelous hosts and especially helpful and courteous. Their touch pervades the house. Our room was tastefully appointed and spacious. Breakfast was high quality and delicious. We enjoyed all our excusions to historic houses in the area and returning each day to this house.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank historybuff28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

We had a great stay here. My son had a room facing the green and tower and my husband and I had a room with a view of the sheep in the beautiful meadows. Sue, the proprietor was a lovely person, very helpful and made us feel very welcome. She recommended and made reservations for us at 2 great pubs. The rooms are very nicely appointed and breakast is prepared personally for each guest. Inca the Labrador is the best B&B dog around! The gardens are on the
property and well with a visit. This is a good place to base yourself
when touring southeast England.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel36461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed here with some friends as a 50th birthday treat and what a treat it was. Very comfortable relaxed and welcoming.
The grounds are superb and the views spectacular. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejcompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissinghurst
5.3 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
5.0 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel
14.1 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse

Property: Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
Address: Sissinghurst Castle Farm House Biddenden Road, Sissinghurst TN17 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sissinghurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sissinghurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian grandeur and quirkiness of the Farmhouse has been retained in an extensive refurbishment offering luxury accommodation and high quality hospitality within the stunning historic setting of The National Trust's Sissinghurst Castle. Just 100 yards from the World famous gardens and in the glorious Wealden countryside, the seven en-suite bedrooms and quality hospitality will ensure a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse Hotel Sissinghurst
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing