We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend stay - we will certainly be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sissinghurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Sissinghurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend stay - we will certainly be back!”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We have just returned from a very enjoyable two night stay at Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse. We couldn't have wished for a better location - spent a lovely day exploring the wonderful Sissinghurst Garden which was just next door! Sue and Fraser (and Inca their lovely Black Labrador!) are very good hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel at home. When we arrived we enjoyed a pot of tea and home made ginger cake on the lawn in the sunshine - just what we needed to start our weekend. Sue had managed to secure a booking for us at Chapel Down Vineyard for dinner that night - which was excellent. There are also other good restaurants and pubs nearby. Our room was very comfortable - really comfy bed and pillows. We enjoyed two lovely breakfasts - we opted for the fresh berries and smoothies each day and a lovely full English to follow - as much as you wanted and all excellent quality. We have vowed that we will return next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hareplain which had good views of the Castle - this is not one of the larger bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen528788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Once again we were so comfortably ensconced in this wonderful B&B. To be staying right at Sissinghurst Castle gardens, and to be so warmly received by Sue who went out of her way to make us feel at home - we could not have asked for better. There is a gentleness and tranquility about the house and we hope to return to its comforts again in the future. Thank you very much Sue for making our visit a happy one. Au revoir.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salmonangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is a beautiful B&B just outside the grounds to Sissinghurst. The hosts were very accommodating and helpful, especially with nearby restaurants, pubs, shops, etc. All bedrooms and common rooms were absolutely beautiful and comfortable, a great breakfast, nice tea facilities in room, and I can't tell you how much the lift was appreciated in order to get luggage upstairs. I am slightly older and cannon manage heavy luggage for long trips up stairs. It was helpful to have accessible power outlets in the room for charging cameras, phones, computer, etc. The grounds were beautiful and the dog was especially welcoming! Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with largest bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garde_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed for one night in this lovely B&B, to celebrate my birthday. The house is rather grand - high ceilings, impressing staircase, and beautifully furnished.
The room was very nice, but smaller than we expected with the en-suite tucked into alocves (shower one side, toilet the other, both a bit poky). However, it was very comfortable and had a lovely view.
You get an excellent welcome here, tea, coffee, homemade cake and fresh fruit in the lounge on arrival which was gratly appreciated. Breakfast was very good, particularly the selection of fresh fruit and smoothies.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
581 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This is truly a lovely B & B in a charming old house. A warm welcome awaited from Sue, with tea an cake in the drawing room. Bed was comfortable and clean. However, there were some areas that could be improved:
- one egg, a small sausage, tiny piece of bacon, teaspoon of mushrooms, 1/8th inch thick black pudding slice and half a tiny tomato does not constitute a "full English breakfast". Even in a 2-star run-of-the-mill establishment one would at least have expected two eggs., two rashers of bacon, generous mushrooms, tomatoes and beans. I felt somewhat embarrassed at the surprised faces of the overseas tourists on a nearby table at what was considered a "full English breakfast". It was just not good enough. Toast was very slow in coming and should have been offered at the start of breakfast service with the tea/coffee. There was a nice bowl of fruit but some berries were still frozen. Coffee was weak and inferior.
There was a basket in the room to make morning tea - the three containers had teabags, herbal tea and loose tea? (No pot or strainer). No coffee satchets at all. The bathroom was small but adequate and towels were large and soft. However, toiletries should have been replaced for subsequent nights.
There was a lovely old dog roaming around but I personally found it most objectionable that the dog should have been allowed to sniff around diners at the breakfast table - a dog has no place at all in the dining room of such an establishment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank marigoldKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2011

A total and delightful immersion in the Garden District The bed and breakfast is not only an integral part of one of the most beautiful and best maintained gardens in Southeast England, it is also well-positioned as a centralized base for day-trips and excursions to all that the region has to offer; e.g. Canterbury, Dover, Bodium Castle, Chartwell, Kipling's home, numerous other gardens, etc. The hospitality provided by Sue and Frazier Thompson was first-rate and made our stay all the more enjoyable, Be sure and enjoy Chapel Hill Winery in Tenterden. Tom & Barbara Garwood

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGarwood44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We really enjoyed our bank-holiday stay at Sissinghurst Farm House very much (to run away from the Royal Wedding frenzy): it is a place that ticks all of our boxes, being cozy and small in capacity, finished in high standard. Sue and Frasier are amazing friendly people and hospitable hosts. The location is just undescribable with views onto the castle and no pass-through traffic either.
Also the breakfast with lots of fresh produce is top-class.
Definitely to be recommended for anyone that wants to avoid the masses and is looking for something exclusive especially if you like to run away from London city life for a weekend.

p.s. Oh and go for a meal (the taster one was amazing) at Richard Phillips at Chapel Down!

Rose and Micha

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissinghurst
2.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
5.3 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.0 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel
14.1 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse

Property: Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
Address: Sissinghurst Castle Farm House Biddenden Road, Sissinghurst TN17 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sissinghurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sissinghurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian grandeur and quirkiness of the Farmhouse has been retained in an extensive refurbishment offering luxury accommodation and high quality hospitality within the stunning historic setting of The National Trust's Sissinghurst Castle. Just 100 yards from the World famous gardens and in the glorious Wealden countryside, the seven en-suite bedrooms and quality hospitality will ensure a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse Hotel Sissinghurst
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing