We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect twin room - great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sissinghurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Sissinghurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect twin room - great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My mother and I spent two very enjoyable nights at this B&B in mid July. The twin room we had was just fine - beds were very comfy and bathroom was certainly better than many I have experienced in hotels all over the world (including North America!)

I wondered about a previous guest's comment about room size as this is not a hotel but a B&B and as such in my experience one would often expect rather smaller rooms. I found the room size perfectly adequate for the short amount of time we spent in it when we weren't asleep.

Lots of local sights to see and places to eat.

If you are a keen gardener make sure you head off to nearby Merriments. Wonderful choice of plants!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the first floor - but there is a lift for access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargateRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Callifornia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Everyone agrees that Sue, the proprietress of this place, is the best hostess you will find. She knocks herself to help you. She even has a nice cute dog named Ruby who greets you. The breakfast is very good, the rooms are nice and comfortable. The location is superb for touring of Kent, and especially if you want to spend time at Sissinghurst garden, which is literally a short walk away. There are countryside walks galore around the place. All in all, a really nice relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TByrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just spent 2 night here in this amazing place..It's such luxury and the rooms,breakfast and views are first class.Once we were settled in our room,we were given complimentary tea and cake to welcome us .Just a very short walk to the actual castle and it's beautiful gardens too.

Room Tip: Choose the Sissinghurst room for a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assisi, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Sue is very kind and greeted us with warmth.
Before offering a delicious tea with a cake in the courtyard garden, she shown us our room with a wonderful view of the tower of the nearby castle,
On the morning there are very kind ladies serving us an awesome breakfast, all fresh: from bread to milk, jams and eggs.
The location is perfect, you can spend the whole day to visit the gardens of Sissinghurst Castle and then go eat to the "the Milk House" or to "the Bull."
I can not wait to organize another trip in Kent to stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this farmhouse, which was refurbished by the national trust some 5 years ago,I believe. We arrived on Saturday afternoon, having spent a fantastic time in the Castle Gardens for a couple of hours beforehand. Once settled in our room, we were given afternoon tea in the garden, from which you can see the Castle tower. Delicious lemon drizzle cake.
Our room ' Hazelhurst' was spotless and the large bed was so comfortable, with soft pillows and duvet. The shower and toilet were small, but clean and adequate.
After a very good night's sleep we were treated to a delicious breakfast - fresh strawberries and blueberries, yogurt, granola, full English (with asparagus!). I would certainly recommend this B&B (in fact I already have to several friends) and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HandJDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We felt like guests in a country house. No intrusive rules and regulations. Doors are not locked unless a key is requested. Tea and cake (shared with Ruby) on arrival and served in the garden. The gardens around the house are managed by Sue our host and beautifully kept. Excellent breakfast the following day.

The house is a dream for anyone interested in period architecture - pure Arts and Crafts. It was fun to walk across the fields to the MIlkhouse in the village for dinner. Torches were provided for our return. An adventure.

Rooms were small but very well appointed with new, North American style plumbing which added greatly to our comfort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Everything that was promised on the website and more - Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse is tranquil and luxurious. Sue and her team absolutely know how to make guests feel at home and looked after without imposing on them. They are always on hand, helpful and meet requests quickly and efficiently, but never under your feet - a real art. From the carefully thought out decor to the sumptuous breakfasts, from the beautiful grounds to the bedroom views - the right balance is struck and we really did not feel that the place or the hospitality was in any way lacking. We really hope to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Hazelden - a lovely, room with a view of the tower, wonderful iron bed and feature fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissinghurst
2.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
5.3 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
5.0 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel
9.1 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse

Property: Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
Address: Sissinghurst Castle Farm House Biddenden Road, Sissinghurst TN17 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sissinghurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sissinghurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian grandeur and quirkiness of the Farmhouse has been retained in an extensive refurbishment offering luxury accommodation and high quality hospitality within the stunning historic setting of The National Trust's Sissinghurst Castle. Just 100 yards from the World famous gardens and in the glorious Wealden countryside, the seven en-suite bedrooms and quality hospitality will ensure a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse Hotel Sissinghurst
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing