We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
140
14
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
14
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational trusttea and cakebooks and magazinesdouble aspecttables setfamous gardenslargest roomdelightful place to stayyogurtbed was very comfortablevita sackville westfrasersuekentluxuryasparagusbunnies
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2015

This is simply the perfect place to stay if visiting Sissinghurst. It's just a minute's walk to the entrance gate, and as a result one has the feeling of remaining within the gardens.

The house itself is charming with a real sense of history. Our room was light and airy with traditional, yet comfortable furnishings and a fabulous view of the Sissinghurst tower.

Our hosts really couldn't have been more welcoming. On arrival we were invited to take tea in their wonderfully peaceful garden, and breakfast was a pleasure, with a large selection of high quality, local produce on the menu.

Our one suggestion for potential visitors would be to consider one of the larger rooms. We were in one of the smaller rooms, and although the ensuite bathroom(s) (tucked into each alcove at the side of the fireplace) were perfectly formed, they might be a bit of a tight squeeze for a larger or claustrophobic person. However, this is only a consideration and shouldn't dissuade anyone from visiting this wonderful gem.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleRedPheasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015

This was our second stay here in three years. The previous time we had the most expensive room and this time we had the cheapest. Both were great. The location of course is one of the best selling points, as many rooms have views of the Sissinghurst tower. And, because the Farmhouse is on the estate, there are many walks right at the door and, of course, the famous garden. The accommodation that we had this time was very comfortable and pleasant. We were amused by the bathing facilities - two cupboards, one containing a walk-in shower and the other the toilet and basin. It seemed strange, but worked well. The guest sitting room is a delight as is the tea and cake on arrival. The breakfast room is very attractive, with individual tables and a very good choice of breakfast menu. We stayed for three nights and the price was very reasonable over that period. The hostess was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended as a special treat.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

This was our final stop on a 10 day English garden tour and there couldn't be a better location than this Farmhouse which overlooks an outstanding castle and garden! This was also the largest B&B at which we stayed (7 rooms) but the rooms, service and breakfasts were excellent. The view out our window was the castle itself. The lawn outside the Farmhouse was a relaxing place to take tea or to bring your wine out for sipping. The Farmhouse is wonderfully located for "walking out" for dinner. You can walk into the village for dinner at the Milk House or in the other direction to the Three Chimneys pub. The walk in either direction is through fields and forests and a real pleasant experience for city dwellers. We could not count the number of rabbits that we saw along the way. Sue was a most accommodating hostess. We would highly recommend Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

The Farmhouse B&B is part of the Sissinghurst Estate, a couple of minutes walk from the National Trust Garden entrance. Whilst the gardens are probably the main attraction for most, there are many other good places to visit within 30 minutes, the gardens at Great Dixter being one well worth a visit.

We stayed just for one night and were made to feel very welcome by Sue. Once we had settled in Sue provided tea and cake and recommended places to eat dinner and then booked a table for us. Our room was Hemsted which was comfortable, bright, with good hot showers/baths. There were good views towards the gardens and over the countryside. We spent some time in the lounge in the evening where there are large settees, and a selection of books and guides. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, and fresh local produce English breakfast selection. The free wifi worked well downstairs, but reception in the room was too weak to be reliable. Overall, a very relaxing stay in a lovely building and with great hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

fortunate to get a cancellation, we stayed only one night to see the gardens. Accommodation is unique, large farm house with large beautiful garden, friendly staff and fellow guests. The breakfast using local Kent produce was sublime and the dining room so beautiful. Then a gate right onto Sissinghurst, closer than the car park. Another unique National Trust treasure, stunning flowers with absorbed passionate gardeners writing notes and being dazzled by the beauty of the experience. Wouldn't bother with the three chimneys, very very average. Didn't do any other eateries so look at other reviews. Want to go back, tomorrow preferably.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank guest179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews