We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantactic Find”
Review of El Moli de Siurana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Moli de Siurana
Ranked #1 of 1 Siurana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NNJ/NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fantactic Find”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Spent the night at El Moli as a resting point on a long drive that we had planned. Wished had scheduled to stay there longer. Maria and her daughter as well as the entire staff were super nice to us. The entire place was absolutely spotlessly clean. Had an awesome "family" room with a balcony ($140 euro including dinner and breakfast) which easily accomodated my wife, daugher and myself. I would suggest using a GPS whenever going since many of the country roads are a bit trickier to navigate than the main highways. Very close to AP-7/AP-9 highway but far enough for a great country feel, so if you are traveling between southern France and Spain a great location. Be sure to walk around the property, especially over to see the cattle and the chicken and ducks. Dinner that night (included wine) as well as breakfast were both great. Will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Family Room quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GusVlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanchispages, Propietario at El Moli de Siurana, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
dear family , thankyou so much to say you spend a good time in our farm, good place to have a walk after or before dinner.
I'm sorry about the routes aroud us , when you pass thru , they where in constructions , nwa they are arranged andfinished.
Thankyou vey much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    37
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
89
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

El Moli was the perfect place for our two families to stay for a couple of days and nights while we explored Figueres and the Costa Brava. Maria and her family are wonderful hosts, and we enjoyed the delicious local foods served for breakfast and dinner, the comfortable rooms, and the quiet country setting. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlppa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanchispages, Propietario at El Moli de Siurana, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thankyou very much for your review , we like to know you spend a good 2 nights in our quite sourroundings as well you liked our foods and you found our rooms confortable.thankyou again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed at El Moli for seven nights at the beginning of November 2010 and we were very lucky with the weather - sunny and warm almost every day. We were very pleased with the room and the service we received. Our six year old daughter enjoyed the farm. She visited the cows every day and also helped feed the chickens and gather the eggs. The room was clean and comfortable with a king-size bed for use and a twin bed for our daughter. The bathroom was small, but adequate. The shower had abundant hot water and pressure. The wireless Internet worked fine for us.

Maria treated us very well. We arrived at around 11:00 p.m. after a driving our rental car from the airport in Barcelona. Maria fixed us a snack of fresh fruit and a carafe of very drinkable red wine. We ate breakfast at El Moli most mornings. It was delicious, especially the farm fresh eggs, cold cuts, and artisanal bread. It is the same breakfast each day, so it can be a little monotonous if you stay several days, but still good. We ate dinner at El Moli twice. It was simple, rustic food, but very good. On our last evening Maria helped us arrange reservations at Reina Sibil-La restaurant in the nearby village of Fortia. We ordered from the "daily menu" and it was a fantastic meal at a great price.

To enjoy the area you really need a car. We rented a car when we arrived in Barcelona and drove extensively during our week at El Moli. We went to Figueres, Girona, the Pyrenees, Banyoles, Besalu, Roses, Cadaques, and a day trip to Barcelona. El Moli is well located for exploring the Costa Brava, though it is a 90 minute to two hour drive to Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanchispages, Propietario at El Moli de Siurana, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thankyou for this larg review.we are hapyy to know you liked our room acompañied with nice weather.We remember your boy like to visit the farm and looked at the chikens. And we are so glad when people like our fresh eggs and homemade cakes. About the wifi , when some people don't have Universal IP some times cant take conection , but you could as the most of the times.
About dinner , We don't have Carta because we don't want to be a restaurant , ther's many at 5 km from us. we serve a honesty dinner with a good price for the people who don't like to drive in the darknes and prefere good local food, but we know as well the best restaurant in the region to recomend when customs like to discover diferents cooking.thankyou very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

El Moli is exactly what it claims - a rural farmstay that is comfortable, clean and located well for travelling around. It is off the beaten track and it proved challenging to get some lunch anywhere nearby when we arrived at about 2 pm due to everything closing for siesta time. Still we ventured out and found food at Roses.
The rooms are clean although our room was a little musty but we had plenty of room and a lovely little terrace to sit out on. We had the 2 rooms inside the main buidling. The weather was a little cold and windy at this time of the year but Maria and staff attend to your needs very well. We needed to do some washing having been away for 2 weeks already and this was no problem for them.
We had breakfast here every day and dinner once and all meals very very nice. They provide free wifi internet but we could not connect for some reason. Check with owners if this will be an issue as you seem to need something called e-pay or i-pay loaded on your computer. We have not come across this before or since so not sure why their wifi is different.
All in all good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanchispages, Owner at El Moli de Siurana, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear sirs , Apologies for the wifi no working ,can hapeend a few times.About the wheather , well ,some years october is still hot and other years can be more cold!!.
We are hapyy to know you feeld good in our place. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We travel as 3 couples. Love places like this. Best eggs in the world. Maria is a super hostess and the staff was wonderful.
Our objective was to be out in the middle of things for the first 4 days and the location is perfect for northern Catalonian day trips. From Cadaques to Pals to Beget etc.You must likelots of driving and curvy roads or be with someone who does. The less than mountains, more than hills of this area are attention getting. Would not like to be there in the summer as it was plenty busy in Sept. Back to El Moli! A real farm! Great breakfasts, accomadations etc. A couple of nights we got back too early to go to bed, too late to go into Figures. Staff helped find us food, glasses, etc enough to enjoy a great late evening party on the terrace. Perfect weather helps any trip. Enjoyed one meal there our first night. Bottom line? We recommend El Moli. Peace. John and Maude

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisu1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanchispages, Owner at El Moli de Siurana, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thankyou John and Maude , thankyou to recomend our place in Tripadvisor , we are always very hapyy when somebody speak about our good fresh eggs from our nice colored hens which runn free , eat cereals and grass in a natural sorroundings. My self and rest of the staff try always to make the things easy for ebery body ,special if the people comes from thousants of kilometres far.
Thankyou so much.Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingley Village, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2010

For Australians so far from Europe, it is a joy to choose on the web, what appears to be beautiful rural accommodation, make the booking 4 to 5 months ahead of your trip and to arrive to find your expectations are exceeded. El Moli (The Mill) is a working farm, in the village of Siurana in the pleasantly undulating Catalan countryside near Figueres. It is a working farm with poultry, cattle, crops and a vegetable garden. The beautifully renovated stone buildings are set in attractive gardens with outdoor tables on the terrace outside the front door.

We were welcomed by our hostess Maria Sanchis who was attentive to all our needs. She speaks English which was fortunate as our Spanish is non-existent. Our room was spacious and delightfully furnished. The en-suite bathroom was equally roomy.

The weather was unseasonably bleak for part of our stay in Siurana, but the comfortable guest lounge with books, magazines, games and television was warm and inviting. We enjoyed excellent well-cooked and tasty meals of the region which were attractively presented. A carafe of good red wine was always served. A wide variety of nationalities are catered for at breakfast time. Maria cooked for us what she called scrambled eggs but which we would call an omelette. It was deliciously buttery and very memorable. The eggs were from her free-range chickens.

We enjoyed our stay at El Moli de Siurana immensely. For us it was ideally situated to explore much of this northeast area of Spain by car and we would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidDingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanchispages, Propietario at El Moli de Siurana, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thankyou very much for this long review. we are glad to know you found a place more nice that you readed. thankyou to talk about our eggs as well , we thing fresh and organic eggs are important to have for breakfast specialy having a variety on nationalitys in our breakfast time as you comment.
we love travellers from all over the world who teach us new things and experiencies.
THANKYOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We found this place to be very quiet and the food and breakfast were fabulous.
Our room was in the back of the property and it was very private. All rooms had real king size beds which are a rare find in Europe we found.
Having supper served on site if we wanted was also great and delicious and very well priced.
There are tables outside in the lovely courtyard to sit at for a pre dinner drink and if the weather is good , coffee is served there after supper. Lovely!
You need a car to get here as its out in the country and I almost did not write a review because I wanted to keep it secret because its a gem. Its your lucky day I guess!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanchispages, Propietario at El Moli de Siurana, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear sirs , Thankyou to thing our place it's a gem , to apreciate our big beds that we thing it's necesary for a good relax , and talk about our terrace , to have the coffe after dinner ,!! Naw we serve dinner as well , in the hot season, Guests like to have dinner in the terrace , infront of the garden !!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siurana
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bon Retorn
21.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
363 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ronda Hotel
Ronda Hotel
#2 of 12 in Figueres
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Emporda
Hotel Emporda
#7 of 12 in Figueres
215 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Los Angeles
#9 of 12 in Figueres
128 reviews
4.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Figueres
B&B Hotel Figueres
#4 of 12 in Figueres
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Moli de Siurana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Moli de Siurana

Property: El Moli de Siurana
Address: Carrer del Pont 18, 17469 Siurana, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Siurana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Siurana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Moli de Siurana Rural hotel, bed and breakfast in Siurana d'Emporda with 7 bedrooms and 1 apartament, dining room for breakfast and evening meals,terrace, massage treatment room. The site is surrounded by gardens and has private parking for guests. Walking routes and tourist maps of the Girona province are available. We also offer an online store for our home-made delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your El Moli de Siurana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing