We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, cute, nice views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador Villa Parguera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parador Villa Parguera
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lajas
St Augustine
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quaint, cute, nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I spent two nights at this place. The scenery is lovely and the rooms were clean. Still no coffee in the rooms or offered at the restaurant. I liked the little patios that led right out the pool area. It was quiet there and I got plenty of rest. If you are not familiar with the Puerto Rican "coqui" frogs, this will be a surprise (good or bad depending on how you look at it) as they like to sing at dusk and most of the night. I enjoyed it. There is a restaurant on the site that I did not particularly enjoy - the service was extremely slow. The place is located in walking distance from other local shops, bakeries and taverns.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    116
    62
    26
    16
See reviews for
116
145
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Easy car parking just a few yards away, the hotel was ideal for the near-by attractions of the area and the beautiful Caribbean.
The rooms were a little dated and modernisation is required, but open the curtains and take in the view...literally breathtaking.
The grounds were immaculate, eating breakfast whilst watching the fish swim in the clear waters of the sea was magical.
Many places to choose from to eat out nearby, and the friendly locals want you to try the local home made delicacies. All-in-all, a great place to relax.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Villa Parguera came highly recommended by a friend who stayed there "all the time as a kid." After our stay, my husband and I concluded that her memories of the place are warmer than it actually is. Apparently, the hotel is celebrating its 40th year. I could see how this was a great spot 40, or even 20, years ago, but now, it's getting run down. The bathroom door was splintery and didn't close properly. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom fluctuated in the wind when the balcony door was open. Tiny, tiny ants roamed around the bathroom sink CONSTANTLY. There wasn't a washer on the faucet, so the water came out way too fast and sprayed everywhere. There was a hole were a light switch should have been. The couch was worn and way too soft. The lighting, even from the lamps, was stark. The curtain on the balcony door wouldn't open all the way, so the room was incredibly dark. And the fitted sheet didn't fit the bed; it kept coming up, exposing the mattress, by morning. There wasn't an iron or ironing board in the room; it's kept at the front desk. And they have the longest check-in/out layover ever: out by 11am and not in until 4pm. There's no beach access, but there is a pool, which only kids used.

My husband and I were in the area for a wedding, and a shuttle was scheduled to pick us up from Villa Parguera at 3:30pm and we needed to change our clothes, so the 4pm check in was a problem. We begged to check in early, and they graciously allowed us to do so after we waited for an hour, so I was grateful of that. Otherwise, the only other plus was the covered balcony, which was great to sit outside the room, even when it was raining, and watch the ocean and boats, read, etc.

I reminded myself many times that I was only paying $107/night. You get what you pay for, and for that price, I was happy to have somewhere to lay my head for the night and a lot for my car, so I could drive to other beaches and towns during the day. So, I can't say that I would recommend this hotel for the sport of staying here, but if you want a cheap place to sleep, go for it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $7 for an "ocean view" room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonetta Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

La Parguera (the general area) is an amazing place. If you don't care for your accomodations, go ahead and stay in Parador Villa Parguera. If you are looking for a clean room and acceptable facilities, stay away. Here is a list of the major problems:
-The room smell like dead rats
-Cockroaches
-No hair dryer
-Old deteriorated furniture
-Lock on door broken
-Dark hallways
-Tried to get breakfast at the restaurant but they were taking forever to even acknowledge our presence and decided to walk away.

Me and my boyfriend stayed at "La Cascada" maybe other rooms are better.

Room Tip: Stay away from "La Cascada"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed overnight with some friends. Enjoyed the friendly staff and the superb evening and sunrise. We wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were perfect, right in front of the ocean and far away from the pool to enjoy the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Ocean side, as far away from the pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Restful M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I spend a weekend in Villa Parguera, and had a great time. The staff is friendly especially the girls at the front desk. The grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect because is walking distance to everything. The rooms are dated but very clean, they need to be updated. Overall a great vacation.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank C22Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We just stayed two nights at the Villa Parguera. This parador which by comparison to other paradors in Puerto Rico, is amazing. Most of the time you see the pictures and expect less, but in this case the pictures are exactly what you will experience. Quiet, resort like relaxation. The staff are outstanding, the view from room 120-123 on the ground floor are the best. You walk right out to lovely chaise lounges, chairs and tropical breezes. Though the walls are paper thin as other reviewers have commented, the guest are for the most part " non-party" types. We unscrewed our light bulb outside the door and closed the bathroom door to minimize mosquitos, which are ubiquitous in PR, and that worked fine. Though others complained about the food, we are foodies and found the breakfast buffet on Saturday morning great: scrambled eggs with bacon/ chorizo, pancakes, oatmeal, juice, fresh fruit, coffee for $7.50 fantastic. We kayaked with Ismael from Alili Tours in the morning and the staff at Villa let us check out ahead of time but have full use of the parking lot and premises allowing us to take a leisurely dip in the pool, shower, and clean up in the pool room and head north refreshed and relaxed. For $100 a night you just can't beat this, and the dinner at Moon and Stars up the street is amazing! Simply paradise!

Room Tip: Rooms 120-122 are on the ground floor have private patios with tables and open to grounds with relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chamstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajas
0.0 mi away
Parguera Plaza Hotel
8.0 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
10.6 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 5 in Boqueron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Inn
Turtle Bay Inn
#1 of 3 in Lajas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
19.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Villa Parguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Villa Parguera

Property: Parador Villa Parguera
Address: Rte 304 Km 3.3 | La Parguera, Lajas 00667, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Lajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador Villa Parguera 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador Villa Parguera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Hotel Parguera
Villa Parguera
Parador Hotel Puerto Rico
Parguera Puerto Rico
Parador Parguera Hotel Puerto Rico
Parador Parguera Puerto Rico
Parador Villa Parguera Puerto Rico/Lajas
Parador Parguera Villa
Parador Hotel Villa Parguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing