We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm addicted to Bluebell Cottage!”
Review of Irish Cottages

Irish Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aghnablaney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Irish Cottages
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I'm addicted to Bluebell Cottage!”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I have stayed in Bluebell Cottage four times. Twice with friends and 4 small children between us, once by ourselves and once with a group of friends.

Having stayed in many cottages in Fermanagh I can assure you that The Irish Cottages is the best of the best.

As other reviewers can confirm, every attention to detail is there from fabulous furnishings, lake views, playground, hot tub, fire with fuel and a welcome basket. John is fantastic (and patient!) at discussing your needs before you arrive and providing information while Noreen always greets us with a lovely smile and local knowledge.

The cottages are comparitively expensive during peak times if you are a family (ie not sharing the cost between several adults) but firstly the accommodation is worth the price and secondly there are off-peak discounts as well as loyalty discounts.

There are any amount of trips to do from the Ulster American Folk Museum, Belleek Pottery, Lusty Beg Island, and numerous National Trust properties and country parks.

My recommendation is go once and you will always go back! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leebur0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovecottages, Owner at Irish Cottages, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Many thanks for your excellent review where you say, "Irish Cottages is the best of the best" - that is what we try to achieve for every visitor every time. We look forward to seeing you again at Irish Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed in Clover Cottage at New Year and could not have had a nicer welcome or a better house. The view was stunning, looking out at the mist coming off the frozen lough and our three year old loved seeing the sheep coming to say hello as we had breakfast every morning. The house is brilliantly equipped and beautifully finished and the grounds have everything you could want. PJ (the three year old) loved the play park and would happily haved moved into the play house, while we felt the same about the hot tub. The location is equally impressive with so much to do in the area. This house would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainb0w09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovecottages, Owner at Irish Cottages, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
We are delighted that you had a really enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again this coming summer. Thanks for your great review and for your return booking. We look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossgar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2011

A great property, well presented, extreemly clean, a credit to the owners.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian1431054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovecottages, Owner at Irish Cottages, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thanks for your lovely review. We know how important the detail of cleaning etc is to ensure ev ery visitor has a brilliant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

If you are planning a visit to the lovely and tranquil lakeland of Co. Fermanagh, N. Ireland, I strongly recommend that you look no further for accommodation than The Irish Cottages. (www.theirishcottages.com)
From the moment I inquired on line about these self-catering cottages, i knew i was in good hands. All the administrative detail, from inquiry, to booking, to our arrival, was handled with the utmost care and efficiency by director John Lowry whose gracious mother, Noreen, was waiting for us as we pulled into the driveway with a lovely welcome basket brimming with treats. How very pleasant it was too, to be welcomed warmly after a long day of travel, and Noreen made sure that everything was to our liking.
The cottage itself exceeded our expectations: spacious rooms, luxurious fixtures and furnishings, aesthetically pleasing decor, warmth and comfort, supreme attention to detail, a gordeous view of the languid Lough Erne-we lacked for nothing . Put all of this into the most tranquil, lush green lovely landscape one could imagine, where the only sounds that disturb the peace are the lowing of cattle in the surrounding fields or the cooing of the wood-pigeons in Portagaria wood, and you have the Irish Cottages.
Over the years we have stayed in many self-catering accommodations, both in Europe and in North America, and the Irish Cottages surpassed them all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JlMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovecottages, Owner at Irish Cottages, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for this review. We do try very hard to ensure all of our visitors have a great cottage experience at Irish Cottages. Our visitor's comfort and luxury is very important to us as we love to see visitors return again and again. We are lucky here to have the tranquil, lush green landscape of Portagaria Wood in an area of outstanding natural beauty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Stayed for a week some adult family members and had a great time

I can agree with everything on previous reviews
You could not ask for more - wonderful cottages with great attention to detail, ideal setting on the lough shore, quiet yet close to nearby villages and towns

Noreen was always on hand to answer any questions and was most helpful.

I will certainly be returning for many more visits

Have been spreading the news to all my friends and associates - this place is going to get busy in the months ahead so book early.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovecottages, Owner at Irish Cottages, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
It was lovely to have you stay for the week. We're delighted you had a great time. We certainly have a great setting on the lough shore. Many many thanks for your great review and we look forward to your return. Please continue to recommend us to your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Fermanagh is our favourite destination for a week away from the city and we have stayed in many hotels and self-catering establishments .safe to say we loved Irish cottages. We stayed in Shamrock cottage , beautiful ,airy ,modern and clean house with all amenities you could want for. the hot tub room is a short walk away and really is worth trying out ... bring a bottle of wine or champers as the owners have provided trays and glasses ... very relaxing and our two year old loved it ... the hot tub not the wine ! the site is quiet but a pleasant drive to Enniskillen for food and shopping is only 25 minutes . I followed some two of the walking trails John the owner had marked out ( part of the very detailed visitor information file left inhouse ) both in tranquil country surroundings and within a 5 minute drive from the house . Check out the the old church / graveyard almost adjoining the site and I believed built by the Lowry family ...connected to the owners of Irish Cottages ? fantastic house in a super location , can't wait to go again . highly recommended indeed . only one small downside- if you are an angler like me , the lough at the house is a huge shallow bay , full of all sorts of aquatic wildlife ...( saw an otter ) except fish ! ...There are many many alternate , dedicated angling areas within short distance . We had a few chilly evenings but after lighting the wood burning stove it was great to sit in the warmth and look out towards the lough .. just the tonic !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mardavrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovecottages, Manager at Irish Cottages, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
We do try hard to be the best by ensuring a luxury cottage for all of our visitors and ensuring you feel at home from the moment you step through the door. Thanks for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Irish Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Brilliant!
From the moment we arrived the breathtaking scenery with Lough Erne in all its majesty, the welcome from Noreen, the impact of the extremely well furnished and immaculately presented "Bluebell" cottage - all first class.
we will return this summer.
An experience not to be missed if you really want to unwind and get your stress levels sown.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovecottages, Owner at Irish Cottages, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
We really look forward to seeing you again in the summer. Thanks for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Irish Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottages

Property: Irish Cottages
Address: Portagaria Wood, Aghnablaney BT93 2BG, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Aghnablaney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Aghnablaney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Irish Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for families, groups of friends, couples, honeymooners and professionals - whether you enjoy an active holiday or chilling out in splendid peace and quiet, this is the ultimate get away from it all location for your truly relaxing luxury break. You’ll especially enjoy tranquility on the shore of Lough Erne and as much relaxation as you can handle. From your cottage window you’ll discover spectacular surroundings in our haven of perfect peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Irish Cottages Aghnablaney, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing