We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcoming”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ceres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Village Guest House & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 5 Ceres B&B and Inns
Simon's Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

hi, to all my fellow travelers...
recently, my friend and i did a short business trip which led us through Ceres and we needed a place to put our heads down for a night.
we decided to book this place, the village guest house &restaurant because somehow we liked it.

on arrival, we were greeted by a young receptionist- lady and a very excited,sweet dachshund.
we were immediately informed that it is possible to take supper at the restaurant-and noticing the bad cold i had-, the friendly suggestion to have hot soup which i could take at the restaurant or in the hotel room. there was also a group booking for supper, yet everything on the menu was pointed out to be available.
also the fact that we were upgraded to a bigger room was mentioned. at no extra costs.
the room was spacious, i enjoyed catching up with some live tennis on dstv.(room equipped with kettle, little sachets with milk, sugar, coffee, tea and flask, bar fridge and safe).
we decided to have a quick supper at the restaurant and enjoyed lovely,freshly made food. my friend had the chicken curry, while i decided to have the spinach and feta pie. lovely,
big portions, i had a big greek salad with my pie.(unexpectedly so)
our waiter was very attentive and swift.
after supper we went for a tiny walkabout in the garden and loved the loving hand showing in the well maintained garden. some cute ducks also reside in a pond area in the garden.
after a very quiet night we had lovely breakfast with some nice attention by the owner.a group of elderly ladies and gentleman also arrived for breakfast and were utterly caring and warmly welcomed.
i loved the caring nature of the staff and owner (including "lady" the dachshund ...on guard..).
we will return, next time around.
thumbs up, village guesthouse and restaurant!!

Room Tip: there are plenty rooms to choose from all are wheelchair accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
8
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My Mother and I decided to go to Ceres for the evening and later decided to sleep over. We went to Ceres inn, they bluntly said that they were full but recommended The Village. So we left to find a place elsewhere.

We arrived at the Village entrance, the lights were off and the gates closed. It looked small from the outside and we were a little nervous about driving back home in the dark. But after rining the bell the owner came out and welcomed us.

He showed us to a very neat room with an on-suite, t.v, aircon, coffee and tea. We stood chatting for a while about the beautiful plants surrounding the room. - and surprisingly its very spacious with a beautifully kept garden.

The room was affordable and warm, even the owner took the time to show us where we could access the parking lot area if we wanted to grab a bite to eat.

It was freezing but after a nice meal at a local restaurant we were once again ecstatic about the comfy beds and warm shower. We had a good nights rest and woke up to a great breakfast.

The Village is perfect for any type of family with children or even just n relaxing stay while exploring the various activities that Ceres has to offer.

A big thank you to the owner for his hospitality and love he puts into his work and guest relations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carmztruter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We Stayed here having hired a car at Cape Town Airport. We had a very friendly welcome. Supper was good with generous helpings as was the breakfast.
The rooms are built in a semi circle with a little swimming pool and well laid out garden.
If we had known how good it was we would probably have stayed longer and explored the surrounding area a bit more.
Good value too.

Room Tip: There are different grades. We had one opposite the pool which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelthoughtfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

THIS is a very nice place to stay and is very affordable the staff are very helpful and handy and the owner is supurb and very kind and helpful the restaurant is very reasonable and the food is top class and plentiful the rooms are spacious and very comfortable ,this is all rooms in complex.

Room Tip: all rooms in yard at back are amasing and there is a very nice swimming pool to relax around while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llewellyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, CAN
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I agree with previous comments....the owner was very friendly and helpful. We stayed on a Sunday so had only a couple of dining option in town - we ended up at Spur, which was just okay. The rooms are not fancy but on the larger side and clean. For a very reasonable price this is decent lodging where there are not tons of options.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuck50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Second “Old Year” dinner at the Village Guest House restaurant in Ceres was wonderful. The almost late booking for our party of seven members was accepted with a smile by Andre. We arrived and were directed to a well prepared table in a well air-conditioned lounge. Service was outstanding from the start. A wide variety of wines made selection easy for the different pallets. The menu displayed a spread of different choices and combinations of the best food imaginable. Service from the kitchen was quick and the food was well prepared and presented. Needless to say, conversation died down as everybody enjoyed their different meals. Continuous service request from the staff assisted those with special needs. Overall, the evening was enjoyed by all and praises to the owners and staff of a well-established and managed restaurant. I will highly recommend this Guest House and restaurant.

Room Tip: I will highly recommend this Guest House and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danie W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Given the fairly limited accommodation available in Ceres the Village is probably as good a choice as any.

The staff are certainly friendly & that was what clinched it for me, after we had checked out a couple of other places we settled on this one.

The room is pretty standard, nothing to complain of & nothing particularly to praise. It fits the bill at a reasonable price.

The evening meal was on the large size, quite edible, but a little too much. People who were not guests also came for dinner.

The small swimming pool did not look as if it was in a usable condition when we were there.

The breakfast was fairly basic - bit of a theme developing here. What was surprising, given that Ceres prides itself on being the major fruit juice manufacturer in SA was that we were served up a form of sugary orange squash.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tether_end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ceres hotels
0.6 mi away
Hamlet Country Lodge
Hamlet Country Lodge
#5 of 11 in Ceres
10 reviews
16.1 mi away
Klondyke Cherry Farm
Klondyke Cherry Farm
#2 of 11 in Ceres
74 reviews
34.0 mi away
Inverdoorn Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Guest House & Restaurant

Property: Village Guest House & Restaurant
Address: 64 Vos Street, Ceres, Witzenberg Municipality 6835, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Ceres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ceres
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Guest House & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing