We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Accommodation”
Review of The EarthHouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clunes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The EarthHouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Clunes B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Accommodation”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at The Earth House for our 2 year wedding anniversary, and we were delighted with our experience. The accommodation itself is beautiful - from the rammed earth exterior, to the polished concrete floors, to the attractive floor rugs and Mediterranean décor. The bed was very comfortable, and the bed linen was of the highest quality - so clean and crisp.

The facilities within The Earth House were all that we required. We were not looking to do any cooking during our stay, so the compact kitchenette was absolutely sufficient. There is a spacious wardrobe/dressing room just off the kitchenette, and the sizeable bathroom was very clean and comfortable (and the water pressure in the shower was awesome!) There is no door to the bathroom, however this didn't pose a problem because there is still privacy as the toilet is behind two walls that dog-leg.

The breakfast was AWESOME! Jackie (hostess) makes the bread, muesli, jam and ANZAC biscuits herself, all of which are to die for. The muesli is particularly memorable - I want the recipe! Also in the fridge for breakfast was fresh local fruit (the local bananas are delicious), yoghurt, honey and milk. There was a good assortment of local teas and a cracking brew of locally-grown coffee. There was nothing that we needed that wasn't there.

Overall, this has been a wonderful stay for us. The view over the valley is incredible! We loved exploring the local area during our stay, and then coming back and relaxing on the verandah of The Earth House with the birds. Local attractions that we enjoyed included the Eltham Pub, Minyon Falls, Liliana's Cafe and the lovely shops at Bangalow.

Thank you, Jackie, for a superb stay. I cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough. We will be back!!

Suse J

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very pleasant stay in a charming cottage that nicely decorated and very clean and comfortable. Hosts were friendly but didn't impose. Great location to explore surrounding countryside. Family dog was charming host as well. We enjoyed our stay and hope to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dovey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

You can almost feel the peace at Earthhouse - along with the glorious perfumes of jasmine & gardenias you certainly go in to fully relaxed mode. We were fortunate to not have anyone in the neighboring room so felt very private. The lack of any traffic noise & the fantastic uninterrupted views across beautiful green valleys as far as you can see made our stay. We had a meal at the nearby Eltham Hotel which is a real surprise and Jackie gave us directions to lots of little spots that we would have otherwise missed. The building itself is special & obviously built with hard work, love & a clear vision.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

First things first - the EarthHouse is beautiful. A nice and sleek design, the decor (most especially the tapestry) is in the best of taste - and the views are just stunning.
The guesthouse has two rooms, a wide atrium seperates the owner's house from the guest area. There are two entrances to every guestroom - one from the front terrace, the second one from a secluded and screened small area at the back. From there (which we were kindly asked to use cause otherwise we would have passed by the "neighbor's" terrace) one enters directly into the open bathroom, vis-à-vis the toilet bowl (less than 1,50 meters). We found that ackward, but what we really didn't enjoy was the completly open-designed concept, no chance to close any door when using the toilet. There are different likings to that topic and we want to state that we don't judge the concept - but if you prefer to give each other privacy - then this is not the best place to be.
Another point was the breakfast - the fridge is filled with 4 slices of bread, jam, a little container of butter, a view fruits and a fresh juice. The web page states a continental breakfast and that is just what you get. Again, this is a question of liking - just be aware that if you wish some fresh bread rolls or cheese, maybe some tomatoes or cold-cut you have to buy it yourself.
The second guestroom was rented too and the couple there didn't have the best of times in their marriage. The two adjoining bathrooms have at the top a window instead of the wall - which allows noise to travel really well. Between the two bedrooms is a door, not so great to absorb sound neither and although the couple really didn't raise their voices much we got to know details about their private lifes ... Ended up in opening the TV although we didn't feel like watching.
Would we come back ? No. Which doesn't mean that the EarthHouse is not a good place to be (let me state again the fact of the beautiful views and some very nice near-by rural restaurants) - it just wasn't the right place to be for us.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank g w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B, Owner at The EarthHouse, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback (good and bad), and I will endeavour to address your points listed.
The Philosophy at EarthHouse is tasteful simplicity, and the open plan style of the rooms are a reflection of this. Unfortunately this may not suit everyone's taste, however the vast majority of guests openly comment on how they love the design and layout of the accommodation.
Regarding the breakfast; both the EarthHouse website and Stayz listing, state that "A typical seasonal breakfast includes freshly ground local coffee, loose leaf teas, freshly squeezed juice, fresh seasonal fruit, home-baked sour dough bread, homemade spreads, muesli and yoghurt". We do not promote anything more substantial than this. All the breakfast supplies are homemade and sourced locally, and again we receive an overwhelmingly positive response to the quality and simplicity of the breakfast supplies.
Regarding the top window between the bathrooms, this is valid point and we are already working on replacing it with a solid insulated panel.
Kind Regards, Jackie Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We visited earth house 3 weeks ago. We'd decided we wanted a weekend away from the city, and we were very happy to find Earth House exceeded all our expectations.
A beautiful house, and spectacular views, we will definitely be coming back. Delicious breakfast, and the most memorable Anzac biscuits!
A weekend I'll be daydreaming about for a long time! Thank you for such a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at Earthhouse after our wedding and our disappointing stay at Villas of Byron. It just a fantastic place to stay the location is simply magnificent the views from the front of the cottage is amazing. You can tell this place is run by people who truly love the land and not just after the money. Monroe was genuinely interested in us and making sure we had a great stay, he gave many ideas for places to check out. The cottage is beautiful presented and all the amenities you could ever need are provided. In your mini kitchen you get freshly squeeze juice, milk, butter, muesli, tea, coffee and all are restocked every day. As there is no kitchen sink, they pick up all your dishes and clean them for you! Earthhouse is great value for money, there is a local butcher about 2mins drive away that we used for our nightly BBQ. There is no stovetop inside but the BBQ was more than enough, having meals outside overlooking the valley was just great. Highly recommend this place and we will be back very soon. If you need a break from the hustle and bustle of Byron Bay book a few night at Earthhouse. It is very close to a great little town of Bangalow but much cheaper than stayer there.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and they both have great views, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra Headland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We loved everything about our stay from the warm welcome , the tasteful decorating, the great places to eat in Eltham, Bexhill, Federal, Newrybar , Murwillumbah , Bangalow and Brunswick to the breakfast providoring, the Teven golf course, the courtyard fireplace and the blissfully peaceful and quiet rolling hills of Clunes to wake up to each morning. Can't wait until we go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The EarthHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The EarthHouse

Property: The EarthHouse
Address: 334 James Gibson Rd | 10 minutes from Bangalow, Clunes, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Clunes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clunes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EarthHouse is a unique guesthouse, built from local rammed earth, situated in the picturesque hills of the North Coast of New South Wales. Located just 10 minutes from Bangalow on a 100 acre working farm, EarthHouse comprises of two independent suites, each with queen bed, large ensuite bathroom, dressing room, breakfast pantry, and an adjoining private courtyard. The EarthHouse philosophy is tasteful simplicity, inspired by and sympathetic to, the natural environment. Every care has been made to ensure the comfort of guests, whilst being sensitive to the earth from which it was built. Both rooms have spectacular views from the wide verandah, across the Corndale Valley and beyond to the Nightcap ranges. The EarthHouse began when owners Alastair and Jackie Black, moved to the area in 2005 from a sheep and cattle station in North West NSW. After many years of experience with renovating houses, they endeavored to build an ecologically sound house and cottage that included many of the best ideas from previous homes. The rammed earth approach to building was chosen because of its unique look, and its exceptional thermal qualities. A typical seasonal breakfast includes freshly ground local coffee, loose leaf teas, freshly squeezed juice, fresh seasonal fruit, home-baked sour dough bread, homemade spreads, muesli and yoghurt. EXTRAS Wine/champagne and cheese platters can be arranged for your arrival. Massages and yoga lessons can also be arranged. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing