We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bastide for Christmas”
Review of Bastide Avellanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bastide Avellanne
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Bastide for Christmas”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Geat Christmas here with my family! We were nine persons of any ages. I think that the Provence is so agreable in this season. I enjoyed especially the food in Bastide Avellane and walking in the country around the bastide. And we were very close to the sea so it was fast to reach Toulon and Cassis!!
Thanks to Valentina and Steve for the beautiful days and for their skills to meke us confortable in any time. This B&B is so special and precious.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pietro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    9
    0
    7
    1
See reviews for
35
47
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I spent a week here with my EAT.PRAY.MOVE Yoga Retreat group and what a lovely week it was. We were taken care of in every way. Amazing food, great service, beautiful property! It's like you are part of the family when you stay at this tucked-away villa! Can't wait to get back.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sojournista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed in one of the apartments at Bastide Avellanne with my husband and two children, aged 13 and 11. The property was well signposted from the roundabout at Besse and we had no problems finding it. The overall journey from the Lot regions took a bit longer than expected sue to us travelling on one of France's busiest weekends (we will know for again!). Valentina welcomed us and showed us to our apartment. The apartment was very clean. It had a marble bathroom with large walk in shower. The kitchen area contained an electric hob, fridge, dishwasher and microwave. The bedroom upstairs had one very large king size bed and two singles for the children. The room also had air conditioning which was a great asset at night time! We stayed at the property for 10 days and enjoyed every minute of it. Steve recommended lots of places of interest for us to see and markets to potter around. We also spent some days just relaxing at the pool and enjoying the tennis, table tennis and boules all provided on site. Bicycles were also available for hire and my husband did the bread "cycle" a few mornings! Valentina is a wonderful cook and we enjoyed several meals on site. We also ate in the 2 restaurants in Besse which I could recommend. The grounds around the Bastide are simply breathtaking. There are lots of beautiful plants and everything has been finished to a very high standard. The main reception area in the Bastide is also gorgeous. it has thick stone walls and a very high ceiling - would look lovely with its open fire lit (thankfully we did not need this when we were there though!) My family all agreed it was a truly wonderful stay and we were made to feel like one of the family - nothing was too much bother. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baxi_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lincolnshire, UK

We have just returned from three days at Bastide de Avellanne. It was a wonderful break. The Bastide is very well signed from the main road and well colour coded. It would be difficult to get lost - certainly in daylight. We had a wonderful welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We hadn't booked dinner but Valentina offered us a meal in case we didn't want to get in the car again. It's 2.7km from Besse but not really isolated as there are a number of lovely houses en route. We cycled to and from the village and it was relatively easy and very pleasant.

Our room was huge and very provencal - wonderful decor and spotlessly clean. It was tidied and cleaned daily - i have stayed in some nice hotels but none as clean both in the room and surroundings as this bastide. The bathroom was designed with top quality marble tiles and a great wet room. We also had mod cons - a large TV in the room. WifI connection was very fast in the wonderful bar/sitting room. Luckily no WiFi in the room (we wanted a break!) - and the thickness of the walls would make it impossible. By using the shutters the room kept cool and very comfortable.

The sitting room/terrace was wonderfully furnished and was available to us all day and evening. Normally Steve was available to get us drinks but if not there was an honesty bar. Everything was very well equipped.

We enjoyed the pool and my son had two great games of top class tennis - Valentina arranged this with an italian guest who was also keen to play. Meanwhile my husband and i borrowed bikes and went down tot he village and also has a walk around the estate - Steve keeps a track clear for guests to enjoy the 30 minute walk. We then enjoyed a well-deserved glass of rose.

Breakfast was served on a terrace and was very relaxed. They had help from Martha who was fluent in French and Italian but had very good English. A charming girl so willing to help and keep us supplied with coffee. Meanwhile Steve was on hand to give recommendations and directions for the day's activities.

We ate at two local restaurants in Besse and both were wonderful - very French with a choice of set menus. if we had another night we would have stayed in the bastide for dinner - we really were spoilt for choice.

This is a great place to be - if you want an active holiday, or a sight-seeing break or simply to relax. It has all the services of a hotel but the charm and informality of an upmarket bed and breakfast. It is quietly run but the hard-workign couple who provide a five star service.

We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kew805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I and my wife Priscilla with our two children Jason aged twelve and Greta aged nine arrived at Bastide Avellane rather later than expected due to navigational problems. (Why did we ever abandon old fashioned Maps!!). Valentina and Steve gave us a great welcome and showed us to our suites which were deliciously cool after the heat of a Provençale afternoon.
That first evening we chose to eat at the Bastide. The food was really delicious without being pretentious and even the kids who are usually rather fussy ate everything. My wife and I enjoyed an excellent bottle of local rosé wine from a vineyard just down the road.
The next day we decided to stay in the vicinity and enjoyed lounging round the swimming pool cooled by a not too strong 'Mistral' We were delighted with the help that Valentina, who is Italian, but speaks excellent French and English was able to give us for various excursions in the vicinity of Issole-sur-Bresse… a pretty little Provençale village.
Later on in the week we went to the seaside, a short but beautiful drive away, where we enjoyed a delicious picnic prepared in advance by Valentina and had some much needed sun-bathing and swimming. I can honestly say that the whole family were very sorry to leave such an enchanting place. Priscilla is even trying to persuade me to give up my job in Manchester and move to Provence to do as Vale and Steve have done…. open a wonderful 'gite' in sunny southern Europe!! Unfortunately that can only remain a dream at least until Jason and Greta don't need us any more. Thank you Steve and Vale…. I'm sure we'll be back sometime.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICHOLAS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the lovely Valentina and spent a wonderful weekend at her and her husbands bastide. They were both so kind to our family and we had a scrumptious home cooked italian evening meal outside on the tealit terrace. Our children loved the outdoor pool, swings, tennis court, life size chess set and outdoor space. Breakfast was set on another outdoor terrace where we enjoyed fresh fruit, ham and cheese plates, croissants and coffee and juice. Our room was cozy and nicely decorated and all recently renovated. Can't wait to go back! Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edacostali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanary-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The property is located on top of a forested hill about 10 mins drive outside the village of Besse. There are no facilities or amenities of any kind within walking distance. A car is indispensable, including to be able to go for dinner.
The hosts were pretty much invisible throughout the 2 day stay, except the wife who was helping at breakfast service. The husband never once greeted us, welcomed us or spoke to us. We suspect he may not speak French, as he spent a lot of time talking with English guests.
Upon arrival the wife had to be phoned up in order to come from wherever she was hiding to greet us and check us in. This might be a costly endeavour if you don't have a French mobile and have to pay roaming charges just to carry out a check in!
The room itself was ok, quite spacious, good size shower, air conditioned.
The bedding was of the poorest quality imaginable, cheap rough sheets, big bulky pillows that make your head lie at a painful angle when sleeping.
Wifi reception was shaky and weak throughout.
The whole outside of the property is absolutely swarmign with wasps, including at the pool as well as breakfast, making it impossible to relax on either occasion without fear of being stung. I abandoned breakfast prematurely on both days due to aggressive wasps.
Then again, leaving that breakfast table is not a difficult decision. The quality of products offered is of the absolute cheapest industrial variety: defrosted supermarket croissants (allocation: 1 per person), the kind of small insipid self-bake baguettes you get in 2-packs in any supermarket in either France or the UK, clearly driving to the village in the morning and getting fresh bread and pastries, or even getting them delivered, is too much for the hosts. Cheap confiture, industrial yellow juice that I assume was supposed to be orange flavoured, 1 allocated slice of ham, salami, cheese each. A little saucer of what passes as fruit salad, consisiting of 1 strawberry, microscopic slices of apple and nectarine. Milk standing out in the heat in a big jug on the side.
We noticed giant outside freezers next to the car park where these provisions were probably stored. If you enjoy eating poundland/lidl type food and paying 190 Euros a night for the privilege of sleeping on rough sheets, dodging wasps and phoning up your host - by all means go. But if you expect a modicum of service, luxury, quality for what amounts to almost 400 Euros for a weekend, please go elsewhere. Clearly this place is in business to extract the maximum profit with a minimum of effort. The owners exhibit a total lack of customer service skills and are in the wrong business.
Stay away is all I can say.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina a, Proprietario at Bastide Avellanne, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We thank you and your boy friend for putting on Trip Advisor two different reports (one in French and one in English) for the same 2 nights holiday , here is our reply.
We are sincerely sorry you did not enjoy our Bastide. Although we have won the 2012 trip advisor award we cannot satisfy the 100% of our guests but we will improve

Bastide Avellanne is described in our website as surrounded by vineyards, olive trees and centuries old oaks, and not other amenities, roads, supermarkets, garages or leisure centres. We are only 2.7 km away from the village of Besse Sur Issole. The countryside setting of the Bastide is clearly shown on the satellite image on Google maps on the contacts page in our website. The road is a typical road limited by stone walls and this is one of the beauty of the site.

We offer to all our guests an evening meal on their arrival day and we prepare food in our table d’hotes at least 6 nights a week depending on demand. For guests not wishing to eat here we recommend several restaurants locally and are happy to arrange a taxi for guests not wishing to drink and drive. We also have bicycles if people like to cycle to the village

Bastide Avellanne is a large property made up of 5 buildings in a park of 3 hectares. We regret that, not being an Hotel, we cannot always be waiting at the gate to welcome all of our guests but there is a large bell by the main entrance which when rung serves to attract our attention if you don’t want to use or don’t have a phone. Valentina (the wife) is responsible for the bookings, guest PR and the catering and has an office at the rear of the property where she works and not hides (what a bizarre thing to write, why should we hide ourselves?). Steve (the husband) is guest PR, great conversationalist (if you give him the occasion answering to his “bon jour” (and not “hi” ) he said to you in French as you are French and got no reply, he is also responsible for the maintenance.

In the mornings during breakfast between 8 am and 11am we are both available to discuss and recommend where to go and what to see in this beautiful region.
Valentina asked to you if you want some advises but you answered that living in Toulon you know the region very well. You were not showing at all to be willing to have a conversation and we do not want to invade the privacy of our guests.
In the evenings we have aperitifs and cocktails at 7.30 where we get to meet and chat before sitting down for the meal at 8pm. As our clientele comes from all over the world we both speak with our guests in Italian, French, English, Spanish.

Our bedding along with most of the decoration and finishing is of a very high standard. The bedding is 100% cotton always professionally serviced and presented clean and crisp. The pillows are of medium density and bulk. Our bathrooms and showers are of the highest standard and of course there are none out of norm light. We recently received a visit of a Commission formed by Conseil General, Mairie, Office de Tourisme and Commission urbanism, Sapeurs Pompier and Gendarmerie and everything is OK.
The Bastide dates back to the 17 century, the layout of the building is the original one (it is her beauty) all our rooms have very thick walls, shatters and some, including the one where this you slept have air con.

We offer free Wifi but the reception here is weak as we are out in the rural french countryside we regret the service is not better for our guests. The service is limited to the common rooms in the Bastide as the stone walls are up to 1 meter thick and the weak signal does not travel well.

The property does not have a problem with swarming wasps. There are wasps and many other flying insects, many wild animals, including reptiles, foxes and wild boar, but as this is the countryside this is to be expected. Occasionally, especially after a long dry spell a small amount of wasps gather by the pool in the afternoons to drink the water but they are non aggressive. We could treat the water to kill the wasps but this also would kill the bees, butterflies and anything else that lands on the surface and, as we are adjacent to a nature reserve we have learned to respect the nature and are reluctant to do so.
If guests are aggrieved by a few wasps at breakfast we are quite happy to set a table up in the veranda inside the building with the doors closed and the air conditioned on. If this guest finds it difficult to cope with a few wasps / insects / animals then we suggest If you find it too difficult to cope with a few wasps / insects / animals then we suggest that staying in the countryside might not be the right holiday for you.

For breakfast we give individual table service and not a buffet and in the summer we have breakfast on the morning terrace in the sunshine under the shade of a 400 year old oak tree. We offer a selection of white and brown bread and croissants, a plate with a selection of ham, salami and French different type of cheese, an assortment of at least six flavours of mini preserves in glass pots (these don’t attract wasps like the home made preserves in open bowls) A choice of four breakfast cereals. Fruit salad freshly prepared each morning and made from fruits of the season with pineapple, melon, ruby grapefruit, oranges, peaches, apples, apricots, pears and kiwi fruit topped with a strawberry. A choice of coffee, cafetiere, espresso or cappuccino, a selection of different varieties of teas, hot chocolate top quality orange juice in bottle ( we offer fresh orange juice with a supplement) A further selection of the highest quality of Yoghurt nature and fruit flavours and milk in an insulated flask.
We have a breakfast menu where you can order extras as fresh pressed orange juice, boiled or scrambled eggs, omelettes, etc.
All this is offered to every guest and is in portions, we always ask if you have had sufficient and offer more.

The giant freezer by the car park is in fact an 8m3 refrigerator and is used for storing and to keep cool the vast amount of fresh fruit, vegetables, bottled water and wine we consume each week.

We do not shop at retail supermarkets or discount shops as we use professional wholesale suppliers to the hotel and catering trade where the quality and freshness of the products we buy is guaranteed.

We consider that €380 is a reasonable price to pay for 2 people for 2 nights in a magnificent 400 year old building in an area of outstanding natural beauty in one of the most touristic places in France, in a beautiful 35m2 room cleaned every morning with a daily change of towels if necessary, special serviettes for the pool, good brand selection toiletries, breakfasts, and the use of all the facilities, parking, WF, beautiful park, heated pool, sun terrace, air conditioned common spaces, tennis court, boules and giant chess court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Besse-sur-Issole
4.7 mi away
Mercure Brignoles Golf de Barbaroux
1.3 mi away
Les Pierres Sauvages
Les Pierres Sauvages
#2 of 9 in Besse-sur-Issole
80 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Abri du Poete
L'Abri du Poete
#4 of 9 in Besse-sur-Issole
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Maison Saint-Louis
La Maison Saint-Louis
#1 of 9 in Besse-sur-Issole
67 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Domaine Saint Martin
Le Domaine Saint Martin
#1 of 1 in Flassans-sur-Issole
20 reviews
3.1 mi away
Au Mas Saint Pierre
Au Mas Saint Pierre
#1 of 2 in Pignans
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastide Avellanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastide Avellanne

Property: Bastide Avellanne
Address: Chemin d'Avellane, 83890 Besse-sur-Issole, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Besse-sur-Issole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Besse-sur-Issole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastide Avellanne, Chambre d'hotes and apartments to rent Bastide Avellanne is a charming fortified Provencal demure dating back to 17th century. Totally refurbished in 2011 it welcomes you with spacious light rooms in country style, all with modern en-suite bathrooms and independent apartments with every comfort.In the Bastide you will find a vast air conditioned lounge with old leather sofas, a stone chimney, exposed beams and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bastide Avellanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastide Avellanne Besse-Sur-Issole, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing