We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12 Australian Cyclists”
Review of Velo Vercors

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Jean-en-Royans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Velo Vercors
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“12 Australian Cyclists”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were a group of 12 Australian cyclists just fresh from a week cycling in Provence and the Mont Ventoux. On arrival at Velo Vercors we were warmly welcomed by Roger and Teresa and shown to our gite accommodation. The gites are basic but very well set up and comfortable with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom which is tiled and very clean. The kitchen is fine for those who wish to do their own cooking. Still excellent value for the money. We had 2 delicious evening meals cooked by Teresa, one which included fresh salmon from the salmon farm next door with plenty of local wine as well. We also had great cyclists breakfast every morning. The other evenings we ate at the local restaurants in the village of St Jean en Royans. The village has everything you need within walking distance of Velo Vercors, including the most amazing bakeries. Our group certainly made the most of the facilities in the village and found the locals very friendly and welcoming. Now to talk about the cycling, every morning Roger had suggested routes for us which included harder rides for those wishing to climb mountains and more gentler rides for the others. Every ride was amazing and was more scenic, better roads and less traffic than Provence. The variety in grades is endless and suited to all levels of riders. Just awesome. I cant say enough about the helpfulness and friendliness of Roger and Teresa who just made the whole experience perfect. I am sure we will be returning to enjoy this amazing part of France.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
24
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was fortunate enough to be able to spend a few days in June at Velo Vercors for several days of solo riding. The B&B room accommodations were just right for my stay and offered at a reasonable price. The food was great, and the accommodations were up to date and comforting.

Roger and Teresa's joy for the area, the scenery, and the cycling opportunities are infectious. They take great pride in their business, their community, and insuring that their guests make the most of their time while visiting. Whether you are there for some casual touring and relaxing afternoons, or some serious training opportunities, the options are endless and your hosts will help you if needed, or just leave you be if you'd rather just lounge about.

If you are looking for a spot to take a cycling tour and enjoy the wealth of terrain that France has to offer this is your place. Whether you are traveling alone, with the family and children, or a group of friends, Teresa and Roger have a set up that can accommodate your needs. I can't say enough about the experience.

Room Tip: The B&B's are a great option if you don't need a kitchen. There are plenty of great food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zou95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Four of us ...all keen cyclists spent a week at Velo Vecors.
Can't speak too highly of the experience
.The riding options are numerous and those fit enough to do the climbs, which are testing but not daunting , will experience rides you will never forget.
Hosts Roger ( ex tour pro ) and Teresa treat you more as friends than just clients.
Make sure you take advantage of the home cooked dinners Teresa offers.
One not too miss is the salmon taken from a farm adjoining their property. I was in France for 16 days and this meal was the best by far !
Not sure if St Jean en Royans gets many tourists but we were made to feel really welcome at the ( few ) bars and restaurants.
This would also be a fun place for non riders for a couple of days with lots of great walking and plenty of nearby attractions although you would need a car .Don't miss the French Resistance museum...quite something.
Accommodation particularly in the Gites would be perfect for couples or families with plenty of living space and kitchen. The B &B rooms sleep two and are very comfortable but not huge.
All rooms offer great value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Teresa and Roger were perfect hosts for a solo traveler - hospitable, helpful, and sociable. Velo Vercors is the most peaceful garden setting imaginable in the best road-riding area in the world. Teresa's food is excellent, and Roger sent me off each day on a well-chosen route on a bike prepped for me.
Bike rentals can vary in quality - my bike was superb - now trying to buy one!

Room Tip: I'd stay in a gite next time, rather than the b&b's, which are ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at Velo Vercors from September 17-24, 2013. We are from Canada, in our late forties and fairly active cyclists. We were in France for three weeks celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary.

Our stay with Roger and Teresa at Velo Vercors was the highlight of our vacation which included a week in Paris and another week in Provence. We felt right at home the moment we arrived. Roger and Teresa are fantastic hosts and make a great team. Roger is clearly passionate about cycling and the Vercors Region. Each morning he would help us plan our route for the day and either give you a detailed map of the route or a Garmin GPS with turn-by-turn directions pre-loaded. We are not GPS users ourselves but found them simple to use and a great convenience, especially in the first few days while you are still learning your way around the area.

Teresa takes care of everything else. She makes sure your accommodations are to your liking, shows you all the amenities their place has to offer and prepares absolutely fantastic dinners. We enjoyed two home cooked meals with them and some of the other guests during our stay. The food and wine was plentiful and delicious.

Our stay was not over the usual Saturday to Saturday booking period but that was not a problem and they were happy to accommodate our schedule. As a result, we we able to experience both of their types of rooms. We first stayed in of the gites. These have the feel of a country cabin. They are not new by any means but are quite comfortable and spacious with two bedrooms, a full kitchen, living room and bathroom. For the last three nights, we moved into one of the bed and breakfast rooms. These rooms are on the ground floor and have recently been remodelled so they are more modern than the gites but smaller as they only have a bedroom and wash-room.

The setting of their home is beautiful. It is just on the edge of the small town of St. Jean-en-Royan. It is surrounded with beautiful gardens, trees and greenery. There is a small creek that runs down from the mountains right under the house and feeds a trout farm just next door. In fact, Teresa prepared fresh trout for dinner one night. They have a large outdoor patio situated beside the farmhouse. This is a great area to sit around after a hard day on the road and relax and get to know some of the other guests.

Right from your doorstep there are many, many cycling routes you can take. You can start climbing immediately up the Vercors on one of several routes all with breathtaking scenery. Or, if you prefer flatter terrain, there are many routes in the Isere River valley that are also spectacular. You don't have to go far to get a great French experience. There are several small towns within a few kilometres of your base such as St. Nazaire, St. Thomas and Pont-de-Royan, that are well worth a visit. The town of St. Jean-en Royan is very quaint itself. It certainly has the feel of an authentic French village. There are a few shops within a 5-minute walk including a small grocery store. There is a large full-service supermarket on the way into town and you can easily hop on your bike and be there in minutes.

Velo Vercors arranged bike rentals for us. This was much more convenient since we didn't have to worry about hauling our bikes all over France. The bikes were very good quality and well maintained full carbon Trek bikes complete with pedals to match our cleats. We opted to save some luggage space and not bring our own helmets since they did have some available. This is about the only thing we'd do differently since the helmets they had just didn't fit like our own. We also brought out own saddles which helped make the rentals feel a bit more like our own bikes.

This was our first time in Europe and our first cycling holiday so we have nothing which to compare but we truly believe you'd not be able to find a better place to have a cycling vacation. The routes are breathtaking, the area magnificent and the accommodations are like your home away from home. Thank you Teresa and Roger for a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is the 2nd time I'd stayed at Velovercors, but the last time was only on the first and last day of my trip.

Easy to get to, either by train or in my case, as I had a bike box, a hire car from Lyon airport.

As usual he welcome from Teresa & Roger was very welcoming and we stayed in the same gite as last year.

We had a superb meal on the first night with the other guests and of course our hosts. All the other guests bar one, had previously stayed at Velo Vercors, so they must be doing something right.

A great weeks cycling all around the Vercors region, on routes that Roger has ridden, some easy, some challenging, but always on quiet roads.

Having a Garmin is helpful, and Roger has the routes available to download onto your Garmin.

We'd also arranged for Roger to take us to ride Mount Ventoux on the last day of our holiday, what a day, great weather, a great climb and a great way to finish off our week.

Downsides? Only that St Jean en Royan is very limited for eating out places in out of season months.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maviczap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlemaine, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Roger & Teresa were wonderful hosts. Teresa is a wonderful cook. At the end of a hard day's riding we looked forward to the delicious and generous food and wine supplied in their atmospheric outdoor eating area. The beds were very comfortable, ensuring a good nights sleep. It was great that Roger was able to take us on rides that matched our abilities. His knowledge of the local area and best climbs was a huge benefit. I cannot commend Velo Vecors highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-en-Royans
0.4 mi away
Le Castel Fleuri
Le Castel Fleuri
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-en-Royans
85 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Musee de l'Eau
Hotel du Musee de l'Eau
#1 of 2 in Pont en Royans
208 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#1 of 2 in Correncon-en-Vercors
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel du Col de la Machine
Hotel du Col de la Machine
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-en-Royans
61 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa les Clarines
Hotel & Spa les Clarines
#2 of 2 in Correncon-en-Vercors
155 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Bellier
Hotel Bellier
#1 of 2 in La Chapelle-en-Vercors
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velo Vercors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velo Vercors

Property: Velo Vercors
Address: Montee des Usines, Saint-Jean-en-Royans, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Saint-Jean-en-Royans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-en-Royans
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A specialist one stop cycling holiday destination. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing