We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice environment but apartments are outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Col de la Machine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments.
When we arrived we were asked to sign a contract. Since this was written in French we could not make anything out of it. They could also not explain the content, since they obviously were not able to speak english. We decided to sign it, and found out later that we had to pay an extra fee of 60 euro for the cleaning of the apartment. When we booked the apartment on the internet this extra cleaning fee was not mentioned, so we expected it to be included in the total price.
The bed in the apartment was the oldest and worst we had ever slept in. We truly hope they will change it for the future users, because it would make the stay so much more comfortable.

The environment was very nice, with lots of beautiful hiking area's and lots of wildlife.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adriana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel, and of course the landscape of Vercors has breathtaking views at every corner, the way to the hotel is of astounding beauty. The service was excellent, they carried our bags up the 2 floors, gave us all the information we needed, the restaurant service was excellent as well. We had a room with in room full bathroom (I think some other rooms are set up more like B&B with shared toilets). Nice and clean, great ambiance. Be aware that the restaurant closes at 8:30pm. Food was excellent.
The only downside is the room is pretty basic and small, but for the price it is a good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aria2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This hotel sits right at the top of one of the world's great driving roads that winds up the side of a near-vertical plateau just west of the French Alps. The place is so remote that it was a center for partisan activity during WWII, since the French could see the Germans coming for miles. Shortly after D-Day, the French had the audacity to begin building an airfield there, hundreds of miles behind the lines. This was too much for the Germans, who sent in a hoard of gliders filled with soldiers ordered to kill every living thing on the plateau. They massacred whole towns, more than 800 people in all. A beautiful cemetery filled with white crosses and a museum are dedicated to the event at Vassieux. Nearby, the Hotel du Col de Machine is run by the third generation of a family that has been there since before the war. A major renovation was done a few years ago, and it's a nice-looking place with lots of history. The grandfather spent an hour with us. Still, you will carry your bags up two floors, you can sit in the bar a long time without service, and while raw filet of salmon may be a great delicacy for some, the fatty cut of liver (or was it beef?) was just plain inedible. Worse, the road was closed for repairs while we visited. And while the haunting remains of several German Horsa gliders are there for the viewing, the museum itself was closed for some reason, at midday on a Friday, not to reopen until Saturday afternoon -- by which time we were well down the road. The place has so much history to it, and is so very, sadly, remotely beautiful, that I can't bring myself to recommend skipping it. Everyone has an off day. Still, it was a hard to envision our visit could be a miss. Life is full or surprises. Bring a sack lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeUtica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dominique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-en-Royans
3.7 mi away
Le Castel Fleuri
Le Castel Fleuri
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-en-Royans
92 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Bellier
Hotel Bellier
#1 of 2 in La Chapelle-en-Vercors
46 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel des Sports
Hotel des Sports
#2 of 2 in La Chapelle-en-Vercors
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel du Musee de l'Eau
Hotel du Musee de l'Eau
#1 of 2 in Pont en Royans
222 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa les Clarines
Hotel & Spa les Clarines
#2 of 2 in Correncon-en-Vercors
163 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cafe Brochier
Cafe Brochier
#1 of 1 in Saint-Julien-en-Vercors
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Col de la Machine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Col de la Machine

Address: Col de la Machine, 26190 Saint-Jean-en-Royans, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Saint-Jean-en-Royans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Jean-en-Royans
Price Range: £75 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Col de la Machine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing