We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Grand Prix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Prix Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Castellet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

While travelling the south of France we stayed here 2 nights. What a treat. Just the drive there is worth the experience. It's only 15 mins from le castellet (take the road called route des hauts du camp) an unforgettable drive with great views.

check in: was a breeze and we received very helpful tips on where to go for good eats and what to see. For example we were recommended "la farigoule" in le castellet and it was amazing.

Room: very modern yet with a cozy feel. We were impressed

Breakfast: was really good, great way to start the day.

Hotel/property: unassuming on the outside but we're absolutely impressed with the modern feel of the hotel. It had the "new hotel smell". We also loved the racing themed artwork. The grounds are also part of the pleasant experience.

During our two week trip in France we stayed at several hotels (including much more expensive ones) and this was our fav. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would highly recommend. Bon voyage

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MelandLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraPerbet, Directeur général at Grand Prix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear MelandLuke,

We would like to thank you for the comment you posted about our hotel. It represents a great satisfaction for all the members of our team to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in the Grand Prix Hôtel***.

Yours sincerely,

Nioucha Guerini
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel it's self is lovely, fresh looking, clean and welcoming. The rooms were modern, clean and had a personal message to us Spartans competing in the Spartan Race that weekend.
They even had a Spartan themed dinner and were even able to replace my pasta at the last moment with veggies as I'm Gluten intolerant.
But the WOW comes to the staff, they were fabulous before I had even stepped foot in the hotel, great communication (in English) before we arrived answering all my questions and called me when they required to confirm a few things.
When we arrived the staff were friendly and ready for our arrival, the next morning they organised a car to take us to the race and let us know to contact them at the security desk at Paul Ricard to organise a lift back. After the race we were very muddy/ cold and tired we asked at the security desk to get them to call the hotel and with in 10 minutes the car had returned with sheets on the back seat so we didn't ruin the interior (which made us a lot more comfortable, as we didn't need to stress about making a mess)
The hotel also gave us a late checkout which we were told when ever we were finished in the room would be fine (5pm), we showered and removed as much mud as possible.

A great hotel and would recommend them to anyone!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Third consecutive year resting at this hotel. Rooms are big enough for a couple and there is some space for work. Cleanliness ok. May be breakfast could have more variety of food, but is of good quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good, clean, modern & comfortable rooms & an ideal location for a w/e racing at Paul Ricard. However there are several bad points to the hotel - very little 'wardrobe' space, at best a very average restaurant (we ate there once & wouldn't again!), patchy service (some good, some very poor depending on who's around & how busy they are), poor self-service breakfast & it's completely impossible to get a drink after about 11pm! If staying for a few nights you will need to drive a fair way to find a decent restaurant & don't expect to get a nightcap when you get back! You will get a very surly response from the night desk staff! There aren't even any drinks in the in room fridgees!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraPerbet, Directeur général at Grand Prix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor following your visit with us earlier in the month.
We are pleased to read that you liked the room.
Be sure that we take into account everything that you mentioned, and we will share them with our team.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write and hope to see you again in our hotel.

With best regards,

Alexandra Perbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed there because Swiss Porsche clubs were racing that weekend. Our room was very nice, but both the walk-in shower and the sink suffered from water pressure problems. The shower couldn’t be completely on hand-spray and the rain shower head went scalding hot and then quite cold every few minutes.

Dinner at the hotel our first night -- food good, service terrible, in an almost empty restaurant. My French comprehension may not be the best, but we couldn't understand a single word the waiter said. He opened the wine and poured over the side of the glass for the taste and for both first servings. We ordered a 2011 Provencal wine and he gave us a 2008. We complained about this at the desk and received an apology and a free aperitif.

We had tried to book dinner at the San Felice restaurant at the other hotel in town on our second night, but it was fully booked. I was leery about eating at our hotel’s restaurant again because I was sure the waiter would be spitting in our food, but he wasn’t there. Instead, the waiter who served our wine was completely inept -- he only twisted the corkscrew twice and, of course, couldn’t pull out the cork. It broke, then he tried to remove the rest of the cork with great effort and finally succeeded. He was so flustered that he put the bottle in the ice bag without pouring a taste or serving. Dinner was good, again, and there were more diners, making it more pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraPerbet, Directeur général at Grand Prix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Chandolin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a summary of your recent stay with us.
We take into account your review to improve our service.
Please kindly be assured that your comments are shared with our team.
We are pleased that you liked the hotel and your room.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Alexandra Perbet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hotel is IDEALLY situate next to the track. Everything is clean and well done. You cannot ask for anything else then this when you are on a racing or track day weekend. Even the food is good.
The bar is also very convenient. No need to drive ours to have a good drink and fun with friends.
It is the 3rd time I'm staying there and I will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sha911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Really pleasant experience! Near the Paul Ricard circuit, in a remote area. Good breakfast, rooms and public areas really clean, no complain whatsoever. Recommended if you need to stay in the region! A good swimming pool as well, however it was closed because of the winter cold.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Castellet
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa du Castellet
Hotel & Spa du Castellet
#1 of 2 in Le Castellet
409 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dolce Fregate Provence
Dolce Fregate Provence
#1 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
1,263 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hostellerie Berard
Hostellerie Berard
#1 of 1 in La Cadiere d'Azur
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Best Western Soleil Et Jardin
Best Western Soleil Et Jardin
#4 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
325 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hostellerie La Farandole
Hostellerie La Farandole
#2 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
599 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Bureau La Cigaliere
Hotel Bureau La Cigaliere
#2 of 2 in Le Beausset
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prix Hotel

Address: Route des Hauts du Camp, 83330 Le Castellet, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Prix)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Le Castellet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Castellet
Price Range: £117 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Prix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Prix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing