We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, country atmosphere, quality accommodation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Castellet

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel du Castellet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Castellet
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet, country atmosphere, quality accommodation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I stayed for one night but wished I stayed a week.

The accommodation was traditional French villa style – very beautiful.

The waiter told me the hotel was built to accommodate racing car drivers. It is certainly relaxing and quiet. The restaurant is superb dining – a true French dining experience.

The check-in staff were very, very courteous and spoke good english. The other staff had varied english ability – my French is very limited!

The rooms had both cabled and wireless internet – quite fast.

The local area has many good places to explore including medieval villages and coast about 30 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregga63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    58
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
49
211
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Wonderful property, great views, beautiful golf, right next to the Castellet race track. large and comfy rooms with nice colours, great lobby and terrace, staff very friendly and helpful. Manager Alexandra is taking great care of her guests.
Will be back
Rolf, MB, Paris

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

I went there for a race and the hotel is perfectly located in front of the track, that's why we choose this one. The staff is very friendly even if I believe they need more training for a 5 stars hotel. Nice covered pool but a bit too short.. The Spa is small, too small to be called a Spa, but the staff is good. The restaurant? the so called MonteCristo is so expensive that it is a joke....if you are 7 at the table you need to do a menu, I've never seen that anywhere.....the bar is nice a bit cold atmosphere but overall ok. Breakfast??? You pay 32euros!!!!!! for cakes, fruits, yogurt and if you want eggs you have to pay!!!!!! no hot breakfast included .......the room was not the cleanest one I have seen and needs to be painted .........I think that for a 5 stars hotel they are definatly over rated.........next time I will look for another hotel.......I have been to many Relais&Chateaux I don't undestand why this one is a member.......

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy11081977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

This is one of my favorite Hotels.

Not of course only of the Service and Rooms, but also because the Paul Ricard Race Track is connected to the Hotel.

During Formula One Test Sessions, FIA GT and Ferrari Challenge Races, the Hotel is full of prominent People from the Motor Sport Industry.
Including Celebrity Racing Pilots from Formula One and other Series.

I always enjoy on one side the silence and beautyness of the Hotel Location, and on the other side the Connection to the Race Track.
In the morning, the smooth noise of Car Racing wakes you up, this is better than any wake up Call.

We always get after some negotiating a Junior Suite for a Double Room Price. The Junior Suites have a terrific Location in the "Villa" Area. That means, one Villa has two Junior Suites. This makes you feel, as if you were in your own Property.

The outside/inside Pool area is very good. There is a fitness Room and a Steam Room (Hammam).
Unfortunately, there is no Sauna.

We never ate at the Hotel, because it was to expensive for me. I prefer small, local Restaurants (they want to live too, why spend all the money in a Hotel).

When there is Race Activity at Paul Ricard, i always try to book in this Hotel. But i often fail, because of the huge demand during Race Weekends.

  • Liked — Junior Suites have large Bathrooms. Fortunately close to Race Track
  • Disliked — No Sauna available
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thomasbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2006

We spent two nights here during the low season. Although expensive, we had a dinner for 2 (without drinks), breakfasts and a spa treatment each included in the package, which made it excellent value.
The hotel itself is magnificent, the rooms luxurious and it is in a beautiful rural setting. It is next to the Paul Ricard motor racing circuit and the cars being tested could be heard if you were outside - not a problem for us, as my husband is a racing fan. His only criticism was that he couldn't see the cars racing on the track!
The food is some of the best we've had anywhere and good value, considering the quality. The staff were all young, friendly and very professional. For example, as we ate in the restaurant 2 nights running, the menu had not changed. The waiter went to see the chef and came back with an entirely different menu, especially for us, created from the a la carte menu, but for the same price as the fixed menu. It was fantastic and we thought that level of attention and service, just amazing.
The spa facility & treatments were also of a high quality, we can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Bueatiful setting and great rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — You need a car, but don't go through Le Beausset at rush hour.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiftysomethings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2004

I recently spent three nights at the Hotel du Castellet and could not have been more impressed. The location is outstanding, with sweeping vistas of the lawns and the valley surrounding the facility. Although the setting is very private and somewhat remote, there are several coastal towns as well as the medieval village of Le Castellet within easy driving distance. The maintenance and upkeep are impeccable. Our room was very spacious (it was the upgraded king room with a balcony), well-decorated and had every amenity you would expect at a luxury facility. In addition, they encourage lengthy visits by providing more drawer, shelf and hanging storage space than I've ever seen in a hotel room. The compartmentalized bath had a separate toilet area, oversized shower with a ceiling hung sprinkler type shower head, heated towel rack and hand showers in both the tub and shower areas. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Their recommendations for area restaurants were excellent. In addition, they arranged a tour and private wine tasting at one of the local wineries. Most importantly, everyone at the facility spoke fluent english. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and were very pleased with both the quality of the meal and the attentive service. In addition, there is a disco which features a state-of-the art integrated sound and lighting system. In my opinion, Hotel du Castellet rivals any Four Seasons resort. While the accommodations are indeed pricey, this is a prime example of getting what you pay for.

Helpful?
7 Thank Ready4thenextplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Castellet
Hostellerie La Farandole
#1 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Dolce Fregate Provence
#1 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Grand Prix Hotel
#2 of 2 in Le Castellet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostellerie Berard
#1 of 1 in La Cadiere d'Azur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#3 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Castellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Castellet

Property: Hotel du Castellet
Address: RN8 - 3001 Route des Hauts du Camp, 83330 Le Castellet, France
Region: France > Provence > Var > Le Castellet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Castellet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Castellet 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Castellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Castellet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing