We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful , restful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful , restful hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked through secret Escapes. this hotel is something special, location, rooms, staff, food,all of an excellent standard.The bed and pillows were sooooo comfy and the shower was brilliant. the food was delicious, we were given a complimentary meal with wine because they could not take us on the farm tour. We had a complimentary bottle of cava in our room and there is a wine cooler in the room , you can help yourself to any wine! The staff were lovely, we were taken on a tour of the grounds when we arrived. The restaurant staff are very attentive and professional. The only problem was that the wine tasting was in spanish. Visit Ledesma a charming restored town overlooking the river Tormes.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but you can get more privacy further away from the main buildings, or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Bernadette H,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Zorita and that you had the chance to taste all our wines, cheeses and ibéricos. I will pass your comments on to the hotel staff, they will be thrilled to hear about your opinion! Thank you also for your remark on the tasting. Considering some opinions of our guests we are now ready to present our tastings in English too. Why don't you come back and check it for yourself? ;) We hope you do it soon!
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    122
    25
    25
    8
See reviews for
89
371
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this winery resort and ended up with a two level suite. The staff was wonderful and provided excellent service. This hideaway was a great experience and different from any place I've been before. Additionally, an interesting talk on wine processing/production was included.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pghs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear pghs67,
Thank you for taking time to review Hacienda Zorita with such kind words. We're impressed that we call us "a hideaway" - that's exactly the kind of impression we want to leave in our guests! I will pass on your comments to the hotel staff. Hope to see you soon!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had the the pleasure of staying here for two nights in early March. What a beautiful setting for a superb restoration of an old building. Very warm comfortable room ( an enormous double bed with fine linen sheets) with views over the river and mill stream. Excellent food with a selection of the Hacienda's own wines, oils and cheese. Great breakfasts with lots of choice.
The staff were really helpful and friendly.
Salamanca city is beautiful, the area around the Hacienda is lovely and a day trip to Portugal is within easy reach.
We can not wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Iain,
Thank you so much for your comments. Those about our breakfast buffet leave us particularly happy...we see it as a primordial relaxing moment of the day and put a lot of effort to make it this special! :) We'll also pass on your review to all staff members - we're sure they'll be as proud as we are now. Hope to see you very soon!
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

There maybe better places in the world but I've yet to find one!! This is a truly special place we have been made to feel so special and it has been the perfect start to the celebrations of our 25th anniversary. Can't understand how anybody could this place less than 5 out of 5 come, relax in a place that is full of charm and character you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloany49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Sloany49,
Thank you for such kind words! We're proud that you left us feeling that way. That sense of uniqueness is exactly the kind of feeling we want our customers to experience when they visit. For our mission is not only to give people the chance to live great moments, but to help them build those lifetime memories one will never forget :)
We hope to see you again soon...in Salamanca or at Zorita's Kitchen London, our farm to table restaurant in the City, opposite to Tate Modern and The Globe Theatre!
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Hacienda Zorita recently. It was great to get away from wet and windy Wales and enjoy some early spring sunshine.

The food and wine were a real treat, made more so because we had collected points from Berberana wine which covered most of the cost of the stay. Food highlights were the hake, the octopus we had for lunch one day, their own Iberico ham, and the cheeses they make on their own farm a short distance from the hotel. The wines we drank, needless to say, were first class and very well priced.

The wine, cheese and olive oil tasting morning was good fun, albeit a tad chilly; wrap up warm if you go early in the year.

The staff were warm and friendly and the service was excellence. Take a small pair of binoculars to watch the storks on the chapel roof; great fun!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ygwyniad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear ygwyniad,
Thank you for such kind comments! We're proud to hear that you have enjoyed Hacienda Zorita so much and that you've been able to have a try at several of our experiences during your stay. Thank you also for the picture - the "pulpo" is also one of our favourites! :) Regarding the temperature at the cellar, be sure we'll take your review into consideration and try to work it out in the future.
Hope to see you soon!
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This place was really lovely. Super swanky but still tastefully converted monastery. The villa was beautiful, and it was the best bed I have ever slept on. The food was excellent - as was the wine (and the cheese and wine tasting event). The staff were friendly but not over the top. We left feeling relaxed and very impressed. My only small criticism is that we (embarrassingly) don't speak Spanish, and there were no English T.V Channels. The T.V did have a USB slot, so I would advise bringing a few films if your that way inclined.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Shelley T
Thank you for your kind review, we're really proud to hear all that you said! Thank you also for your remark on the English TV channels - all feedback from our clients is of great value for us to improve our services and products. Hope to see you again very soon!
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pons, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here in Oct 2013 for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay so much we missed out on our planned exploration of nearby Salamanca. Hacienda Zorita produces its own wine, cheese and owns its own bio-farm. The food, wine and cheese (loved the cheese!) are excellent. The staff were very attentive and our room had a big terrace overlooking the river/locks than runs under the property. The only criticism I have is that the bathroom in our room was a little "tired" and needed some TLC. Overall however, a great place to base yourself if you want to explore the countryside and Salamanca - if you can force yourself to leave the estate!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi Peter W,
Thank you for your kind comments. Thank you also for pointing out what you think can be improved :) I take this chance to let you know we are currently closed for maintenance until the 28th and will take time to look after all the details our customers let us know of. So, we really hope you visit us again to see the improvements for yourself! :)
Besides that, we are really happy to see you have been able to enjoy the whole experience offered at Hacienda Zorita. So happy to hear that you had the chance to taste the wine and food we carefully produce at our Organic Farm!
Wish you all the best.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valverdon
7.4 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 70 in Salamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
7.3 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
4.6 mi away
Hotel Dona Brigida
Hotel Dona Brigida
#24 of 70 in Salamanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
7.4 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa

Property: Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa
Address: Carretera Salamanca 700, 37115 Valverdon, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Valverdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Valverdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa is situated just 10 minutes from the historic city of Salamanca, surrounded by countryside and vineyards. It was an ancient Dominican monastery of the 14th century, located on the river Tormes. Its history dates back to 1366. It was here that Christopher Columbus convinced the Catholic Kings to provide him with the necessary financial support to realize their dream, discover the New World. Our guests can enjoy the traditional hospitality lived on ‘haciendas’, providing them with absolute relaxation. Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa has 40 rooms, suites and villas, all of them have or river views or overlooking the vineyards. It is a perfect combination of tradition and modernity. Villamayor stone, its ancient trees, the collection of Provencal lockers of the 16th century and religious works of art are fused together with contemporary paintings and modern facilities thus creating an timeless environment. During the stay, they can delight their palates with our own wines and products, 100% natural oils such as extra virgin olive oil, cheese and Iberian; and they are all limited productions. This place with its own personality has many hidden nooks and crannies to explore. Enjoy the experience 'To Live-To Love by Hacienda Zorita' and discover an authentic and unique experience. Our guests can enjoy a personalized service, which will make the stay unique and unforgettable. We always offer a simple and sophisticated service. Luxury is in simplicity! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Zorita Hotel Valverdon
Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa Province Of Salamanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing