We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not what we expected”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having booked through Secret Escapes and being told that we would get a room with spa bath and our own pool in our own private garden, I was really looking forward to this short break.
Initial impressions were excellent, lovely reception and very couteous staff.

Our room was a diasppointment though, no spa bath and no pool. We did have a nice big shower though, but the door stuck terribly and was difficult to open (my husband also told me on our return that he had seen a cockroach in there). The room itself was simply furnished and quite comfortable, although there was no seating area or coffee making failities. There was the free wine though and although we had to ask twice for a corkscrew one did eventually turn up. We did request another room but were told that none were avilable. We were also told that none of the villas had baths, I know this was not true!

The restaurant was good, not excellent but good and as commented on by previous reviewer breakfast was not a welcoming affair. The spa was a disappointment, was expecting spa facilities for general use, however the spa could only be used when booked for a treatment which was very expensive. The website also advertises the farm and restaurant there. It is only open on a saturday and sunday.
The wine and cheese tasting was also a bit of a disappointment. The room was lovely but not set up for the number of people booked on the tasting so we all had to shuffle round to make room, just not very professional. There were about 30 people there 4 of whom spoke Spanish. The tasting lasted for almost 2 hours and was conducted almost entirely in Spanish. We did have some tasting notes in English but it did not really add to the atmosphere. I later found out that there had been an English tasting session on that day. If they can do it once why not again??

On our last morning we had to leave before breakfast and were told that as the kitchen was not open we could not have breakfast. Eventually they agreed to bring us tea and pastries at 6am. We got coffee and donuts at 6.30. Not really a 5 star experience and all in all a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happy-traveller0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear happy-traveller0707,
First of all, let me thank you for all your comments. Regarding the information provided on Secret Escapes, we can’t be held responsible by how third party websites describe us, but we ensure you that we are on it, doing everything we can to prevent this from happening again.
In what relates to the wine tastings, as we explain in Reception, for now they are always performed in Spanish by default and we arrange english-speaking ones for previously booked groups and guests – always subject to prior booking.
We’re very sorry that your experience at Hacienda Zorita wasn’t at its best this time. Anyway, we’d like to thank you again for your review. We take guests opinions very seriously and take advantage of them all to improve ourselves and our services. That’s definitely what we’ll do this time too!
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    120
    25
    25
    8
See reviews for
88
355
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hacienda Zorita on the outskirts of Salmanaca and found the atmosphere very relaxing and unique. The property offers beautifully manicured gardens, outdoor spa lounges situated around water features. The staff was very professional and helpful and the wine and cheese tasting was informative and set a perfect atmosphere. We've been to many wine tastings in our home state, and this one was more than standing at a table and running through a list. We thought the red wine was particularly good and the cheese was creamy and delicious.
Our room was stone walled with a window that overlooked the garden, water, and a stork's nest on top of the roof. We enjoyed dinner and a buffet breakfast and left with a feeling of decompression even though it was only an overnight experience. It was certainly one we'd highly recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timjc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Timjc46,
Thank you very much for the detailed review. Your kind words leave us extremely proud :) One of our main goals here is that guests leave Hacienda Zorita with that sense of relaxation, being able to recharge batteries before getting back to real life. It’s especially good to know that we’ve managed to leave that impression on you! We’ll pass on your comments to the hotel staff, they will certainly be as thankful as we are now. Hope to see you again very soon!
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It looked very promising - a few days of gourmet wining and dining deep in the Spanish countryside. What could go wrong?

Certainly the approach and the welcome were impressive - mediaeval golden stone buildings set in acres of vines, a few modernist sculptures and a very courteous reception. A backdrop of fine bottles when you check-in. So far so good.

Then it all sort of fell apart. We had researched the accommodation by looking at the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" website, where it is suggested that all Zorita rooms have a bathtub, an iPod dock and a coffee machine. We were shown to a room with none of these, and when we asked to move to a room with these "luxuries" we were told, after 40 minutes, that they had none and that they couldn't be responsible for third party descriptions. At the same time, they are perfectly willing to accept bookings through other agents. Finally, and somewhat grudgingly, the manager miraculously found a room with a bathtub. No apology.

The hotel also allows you to use complimentary wine from the cooler in the room, provided it stays there. Unfortunately, despite four requests, no corkscrew was brought to us. Helpful.

The staff are a bit distant, except for Jorge, the Head Waiter. He was superb. Many of the others had no word of English. No one welcomes you at breakfast and explains the arrangements. We had to chat amongst the other guests to find things and to work the coffee machine. Only on the last day did a "cooked breakfast" menu appear on the tables. Something tells me (only a hunch) that the management don't really like guests.

The big climax to our stay was to be the wine and cheese tastings. Again, very impressive backdrop - plenty of wine barrels (I don't think any end product is actually produced on site) - almost like a film set. 18 out of 20 of us were language-challenged (no Spanish). We then had over an hour of presentation from a very nice lady IN SPANISH ONLY. Still, nice wines and cheese.

There was a general air of "take it or leave it" here, as if the staff had not been trained to the levels expected at 5 Star hotels.

Another point - the Zorita is isolated in the country. There are no leisure facilities apart from a bar lacking atmosphere and an expensive spa for beauty treatments. Salamanca (20 mins away) is a truly lovely city but you can't spend all the time there or walking amongst the golden stones.

No doubt the management will write a "sorry/disappointed you did not enjoy your visit as much as we would have liked..." type of response to this review, but we really think this hotel could be quite special if a bit of extra thought is given to staff training and facilities. We do notice that the other lower review ratings came mainly from Spanish guests

And please sort out the offers made by other websites.

Room Tip: If you can, get to see the options first. Obviously the rooms in the Great House overlooking the can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Chris K,
We are very sorry to hear that you felt misled in your experience at Hacienda Zorita. Anyways, we want to make sure we value your opinion very much and that we’ll make great use of it to improve our services and act accordingly.
Regarding the information provided on SLH website, as our manager told you, we can’t be held responsible by how third party websites describe us, but we ensure you that we're taking care of that subject and that we're doing everything we can to prevent this kind of things to happen to anyone again.
We're also working hard to fulfill the needs of non-spanish speaking guests by providing our staff with english-speaking members and we're now ready to put that in place. I am sure this will be corrected any time soon.
In what regards to the absence of staff during breakfast time, at Hacienda Zorita we offer a different approach to our guests – one of freedom, of enjoying their meals and moments at their own pace, leaving them relaxed without being always interrupting and asking what they want to do next. In spite of this, we appreciate your opinion very much for that gives us a close sample of our guests' expectations and how to fulfill them in the best way.
As a conclusion, I ensure you will be contacted by the hotel team very soon. I hope you do visit us again to testify for yourself how hard we work to meet guests expectations.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in late April to celebrate my husband's birthday. My husband declared Hacienda Zorita one of the best places he has ever stayed. Our stay was really enjoyable - the hacienda is so beautiful, and the care that has been taken with the restoration of the buildings has made it such a charming and special place with lots of character. It was also so relaxing.

We had a villa room that was amazing - incredibly spacious, well laid out and furnished. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the bathroom luxurious. The food and drink offer is superb. Our meals were excellent, and portions were large. We did the wine tasting and again really rated this. Although the tasting was in Spanish, we were given good notes to accompany the talk, and it was interesting and informative to follow.

All the staff were really helpful, friendly and attentive and made us feel so welcome.

This is quite simply a really special place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MourneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear MourneGirl,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We're very proud of the amazing remarks on our surroundings, the way we restored this old dominican estate and to know you've had the chance to relax and enjoy all the experiences we offer at Hacienda Zorita. It's also amazing to hear how much you've loved our food and wines. You have chosen us to celebrate a special moment - we hope your stay with us is now part of that exclusive set of memories you'll never forget :) We hope to see you again soon!
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and our room could not have been more pretty with the river running underneath the big terrace of our room. Dinner was memorable to say the least and the wines that came with it were superb. I have never seen such a comprehensive breakfast buffet, very appetising with everything you could think of, unfortunately I was still very full from my 6 course dinner!!!. The staff were very courteous and friendly. I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear D M B,
First of all, thanks for choosing us to celebrate such a special date. Also, thank you so much for such kind comments. We are very happy that you've had the chance to explore our gastronomic experience and that you've left the hotel with such a good impression of our food and wines. On can really feel by your words that yours has been a memorable stay and that leaves us very proud! Best wishes for you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We enjoyed a very relaxing night with some lovely wine and fresh food. We also spent an enjoyable half day in Salamanca (we would have spent more time there if we were able to). We're looking forward to the excuse to come back.

Room Tip: I think we were upgraded as I don't think I selected a room with our own patio, but having this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear T Bloke,
Thank you for your positive review! Very good to know that you've been exploring not only what Hacienda Zorita has to offer but also our magnificent historical surroundings. We do hope you come back very soon! If you're looking for an excuse to do it, don't miss all news about us at our Facebook page: The Haciendas ENG :)
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked through secret Escapes. this hotel is something special, location, rooms, staff, food,all of an excellent standard.The bed and pillows were sooooo comfy and the shower was brilliant. the food was delicious, we were given a complimentary meal with wine because they could not take us on the farm tour. We had a complimentary bottle of cava in our room and there is a wine cooler in the room , you can help yourself to any wine! The staff were lovely, we were taken on a tour of the grounds when we arrived. The restaurant staff are very attentive and professional. The only problem was that the wine tasting was in spanish. Visit Ledesma a charming restored town overlooking the river Tormes.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but you can get more privacy further away from the main buildings, or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoritasKitchen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Bernadette H,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Zorita and that you had the chance to taste all our wines, cheeses and ibéricos. I will pass your comments on to the hotel staff, they will be thrilled to hear about your opinion! Thank you also for your remark on the tasting. Considering some opinions of our guests we are now ready to present our tastings in English too. Why don't you come back and check it for yourself? ;) We hope you do it soon!
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valverdon
7.4 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 72 in Salamanca
539 reviews
7.3 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
7.5 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Dona Brigida
Hotel Dona Brigida
#25 of 72 in Salamanca
404 reviews
7.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#5 of 72 in Salamanca
334 reviews
7.4 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa

Property: Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa
Address: Carretera Salamanca 700, 37115 Valverdon, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Valverdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Valverdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa is situated just 10 minutes from the historic city of Salamanca, surrounded by countryside and vineyards. It was an ancient Dominican monastery of the 14th century, located on the river Tormes. Its history dates back to 1366. It was here that Christopher Columbus convinced the Catholic Kings to provide him with the necessary financial support to realize their dream, discover the New World. Our guests can enjoy the traditional hospitality lived on ‘haciendas’, providing them with absolute relaxation. Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa has 40 rooms, suites and villas, all of them have or river views or overlooking the vineyards. It is a perfect combination of tradition and modernity. Villamayor stone, its ancient trees, the collection of Provencal lockers of the 16th century and religious works of art are fused together with contemporary paintings and modern facilities thus creating an timeless environment. During the stay, they can delight their palates with our own wines and products, 100% natural oils such as extra virgin olive oil, cheese and Iberian; and they are all limited productions. This place with its own personality has many hidden nooks and crannies to explore. Enjoy the experience 'To Live-To Love by Hacienda Zorita' and discover an authentic and unique experience. Our guests can enjoy a personalized service, which will make the stay unique and unforgettable. We always offer a simple and sophisticated service. Luxury is in simplicity! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Zorita Hotel Valverdon
Hacienda Zorita Wine Hotel & Spa Province Of Salamanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing