We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Resort and location but not perfect”
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning Resort and location but not perfect”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Rayavadee in January with our 2 young children. It was the last hotel on our 5 week trip and our expectations were high. The arrival and the setting is spectacular, the grounds gorgeous and rooms nicely decorated. Overall our stay was lovely and relaxing - Our terrace pavilion was a little tightly spaced especially in the living area for all of us but it was well located in the centre of the resort close to Railay and the main pool.
There were a number of things that the resort got right but also a number of things that were not up to standard.

Overall the food is hit and miss some fantastic but some less than average. My husband and I are foodies and we enjoy and happy to pay for great dining but we didn't feel the pricing matched the quality of the food. $25 for a dry and boring hamburger is not acceptable. The best meal and service we had was at Krua Phranang the Thai restaurant. We ate a Raitalay terrace the most as it was more relaxed with the kids but service was usually slow and inattentive. Breakfast was good overall not a huge selection the bakery items were really good. The coffee was terrible and I feel that with so many European and Australians stays there needs to be improved.

The pool and beach areas are amazing we didn't mind the day trippers (good people watching) and the resort does a great job keeping the wanderers out.

My biggest issue with Rayavadee was the pricing in the resort compared to others we have stayed at and we have travelled a lot. An example of this was with babysitting where they wanted to charge us almost 1000 baht an hour to look after our 2 children (pricing per child) but when I gave feedback to the manager and asked will you be providing us 2 babysitters obviously the answer was no. This is much more that what we even pay at home and was disappointing. With so many families staying there some more children's activities and reasonable babysitting rates should be provided.
Our stay was fantastic and I don't want to seem too negative but at the end of the day this is Thailand and the you can't charge ludicrous amounts.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeBP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,376
    241
    83
    40
    35
See reviews for
363
1,082
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I Took my wife and kids here we never had a honeymoon so I combined the too, the hotel is set in a stunning location,the hotel boat picks you up from Ao-Nang and takes you to the hotel.
The family 2 bed villa was nearly as big as my house and very well laid out with private pool, we only stayed 2 days and had a great time,
one of the night we eat in the hotels Thai restaurant was fantastic food also a fantastic price but well worth it.

Room Tip: The family rooms are massive and excellent for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElHaciendahomestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had a 7 night stay at Rayavadee towards the end of January and thought it was wonderful, from the moment we stepped off the boat we were made to feel very special. The pavilions are set in lush tropical gardens that are just lovely to stroll around, the pool is delightful with staff there to greet you with towels and iced water - amazing service. Our pavilion was in a really good position in the middle of the resort and was so comfortable and relaxing, you just couldn't fault it.
We upgraded to half board and I think it was worthwhile as some of the local beach bars and restaurants looked a bit shabby. The food at Rayavadee was exceptional and we particularly enjoyed the Thai restaurant.
The most impressive thing for us was the attentiveness of the staff who were pleasant and helpful at all times.
Mr Chumpol, Mr Mongkon and all the wonderful staff ensured that our stay was very special, we would recommend staying there if you want rest and relaxation in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It is not the easiest place to get to but the hotel is something special. It is like no other hotel. Acres of beautiful gardens with the pavilions scattered around. Two beaches. I took my partner, who has never visited Thailand before, and she was knocked out by the resort. The staff are excellent and very helpful. The food is excellent but focussed on Thai rather than international. If you want international eat at the Terrace ,off the pool menu. The pizza is great. The noise of the "long tails" can be a bit much sometimes as the beaches are very popular with day trippers. It has to have one of the biggest pools in Thailand so spend the day there and use the beaches before 9am in the morning or after 6pm at night. I will be going back.

Room Tip: If you want daytime peace and quiet ask for rooms in the centre of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed in March last year with my partner. An amazing place. Our pavilion was lovely, staff very helpful and friendly. Food in the resort was of a high standard, loved the beach. Bar just to relax, eat and have a cocktail. Also very easy to go to cheaper eateries down the beach that are all very good.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My partner and I spent 4 nights at Rayavadee just a couple weeks ago (January 2014) and it had such a great time!

We had done our research and read the many reviews, and so we were prepared for the crowds of day-time visitors and all the boats on the beaches. But we still found Railay to be stunningly beautiful, and we felt so pampered by Rayavadee.

We arrived by ferry from Phuket, so I wasn't expecting the transportation service which they provide for Krabi airport. But when our ferry anchored, up comes this beautiful white Rayavadee speed boat with leather seats. We hopped in while all the other passengers who were jockeying for longtails gawked at us jealously!

When we came on shore, there waiting for us was the assistant manager and another staff member who knew our names and gave us a warm welcome. It was an amazing first impression.

Fast forward... The icing on the cake to an amazing few days was that Mongkon, the assistant manager, after helping us book our last dinner at Krua Phranang, surprised us with a bottle of champagne and a bouquet of flowers at dinner. We were stunned... We are so grateful for all the friendly staff and Rayavadee. We truly had a wonderful experience.

Now for the nitty gritty:

Accomodations:
The deluxe pavilion was plenty luxurious for us, and the complimentary snacks, water, soda, and Singha beers was nice, as were the new little sweet treats at the bedside every night. There is so much attention to little details in this place. Too many to list...

The grounds are expansive as everyone says, so get ready for a lot of walking, but we found the walking quite pleasant. You can call a golf cart, but you might have to wait a bit.

The food: Breakfast buffet was not the largest hotel buffet you'll find in Asian luxury hotels, but we were very happy with the offerings -- especially some of my favorite tropical fruits! The restaurants are all quite nice, but also very pricey compared to offerings on the Walking Street or other hotel restaurants. Still, we very much enjoyed the meals we had there, and the food was always delicious. When staff heard we were dining outside the hotel they were happy to give recommendations for the most authentic Thai places.

Activities: they cost a good 5 to 6 times more to book through Rayavadee than through local operators. However, we made the mistake of booking a Phi Phi Island day trip with one of those local operators, crammed on a boat with 90 -- yes 90!! -- people, when we could have been on a small max-12 person trip with the pampering of Rayavadee. So, basically what I'm saying is, you get what you pay for.

Other tips:
Try to visit the beaches in the morning before the day trippers come and at sunset as the day trippers are leaving. The beaches can actually become quite serene at the right hours.

Also, if you're bringing kids, this place had SO MANY families with little toddlers. It seems the thing to do if that's you is to book a pavilion close to the main pool, which has a lot of shallow areas that are kid friendly. There were always lots of kids there.

If kids aren't your thing, don't worry, the pool is massive and they don't go near the deeper area, by the infinity edge.

If you want a quiet private beach where you can lay out and hear nothing but birds and waves, then Railay is simply not for you. But we don't mind seeing people around. And we LOVE the combination of the cliffs, the sand, and the beautiful water.

All in all, we highly recommend. And we especially thank Mongkon for making this trip THAT much more special for us. We would happily come again.

Room Tip: If you think you'll be at the pool a lot, request to be close to it. It'll be quite a trek t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAguy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I can't say enough about this very special hotel! We were only there three nights, and did not have a chance to use the spa which is my only regret. The breakfast was lovely, and we really enjoyed the fresh juices every morning. Our favorite meal was at Raitaly Terrace, and our server Rocky was very friendly and memorable. He recognized us by name and acknowledged our Honeymoon without us bringing it up. The tuna roll appetizer is not to be missed! My husband surprised me with the Private Rayavadee Shark Boat for the day, and it was the most special day of our entire trip! Sewan and his team took FANTASTIC care of us, including catering a picnic beach lunch on Bamboo Island. The rooms at the hotel were well appointed, and have a great tub in which they had romantic turn down the first night. Service was very genuine, and it is obvious the staff is proud to work there.

Sidenote - There is only 1 spot to find a traditional "cost effective" massage on Railey Beach (if you leave the hotel) for a Thai/shoulder massage, and I thought it was horrible. If this interests you, along with seeing Monkeys and having a busy beach day, you can take a quick long boat or Kayak yourself over to Ao Nang for a few hours.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.8 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,309 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
8.5 mi away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Property: Rayavadee Resort
Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing