We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super resort, beautiful sunsets..but but bzzzz” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super resort, beautiful sunsets..but but bzzzz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Visited Rayavadee early may and if i have to point out top 3 things its the Location, the service and the Villas. The resort has these beautiful villas which are neslted in an almost jungle like scenary which leaves u with a feeling of super luxury rite in the middle of nature. The staff are very attentive and courteous. 2 restaurants - Raitalay Terrace and Krua Phranag are really good. The resort has 3 beaches( not private thou :( ). Amongst which the railay beach was my fav. The swimming looks rite over the vast expanse of this beach and has some amazing views of the bay all through the day, especially the sunsets. The resort also has many activities of its own which one could avail of if you wish to go rock climbing, snorkelling etc to nearby islands. Kayaking and snorkelling phrarang beach is complimentary. Its a huge huge resort and one end to the other is quite a walk but they have buggies which are just a fone call away and come really quickly to your room ( free too ).so all in all a good expierence but but but.. the whole island is infested with mosquitoes which absolutely kills the whole expirience. They provide u with mosquito repellants but they are no use. So DO NOT go there without super super strong mosquito repellant patches. Imagine enjoying an amazzzing sunset by the pool side or an amazing thai dinner ( the food is really good btw ) and swatting away these bugs 24 hrs!!! They leave just horrid itchy bites :(

So if the bug issue didnt exist i wud give this place 10/10.

Room Tip: Id recommend the rooms in the 3 series which are near the pool and the railay beach( the best beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vishakha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    232
    79
    39
    35
See reviews for
345
1,027
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The good: beautfiul views, private villas in lush surroundings against a backdrop of mountains and karsts, delicious food, for the most part the staff was very attentive (especially at the pool & at dinner), less so in the mornings at breakfast. The connections by boat & van with massage chairs was speedy and prompt, monkeys are at home on the property.
The bad: beaches were not private, the public walks up & down, the sound of the motorboats took away from the otherwise beautiful setting, monitor lizards!
The ugly: for $500/night, asking to stay 1.5 hrs extra in the room was not permitted, though we were told at check-in that this would be fine.

Room Tip: You will be amazed by the volume of the cicadas symphony -- and you will either love it or hate it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reeniebeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

When you arrive at Rayavadee after a beautiful speedboat ride through a stunning archipelago of islands, you feel like you're about to leave the rest of the world behind you and get butterflies in your stomach about what you are about to see, based on what you have seen on the hotel's website. Pulling in at the little idyllic bay and disembarking the boat into the colonial-style lobby, the first impressions are great and you think "wow". This feeling lasts when you see your room but then when you get past the initial wow factor you realize that you are not alone on a "hideaway island". THe first signs that there are people - and boatloads of them - around are when you hear all these diesel engines, smell the waft of diesel fumes and see hundreds of people disembarking and embarking noisy long boats on Railay Beach which is kind of like a bus terminus for boats ... the whole day, the area around Rayavadee is plastered with noisy daytrippers. It completely ruins the tranquility and peace of this beautiful setting but as all the beaches around Rayavadee are public, there's nothing that can be done about this and it certainly is not the fault of the hotel. But when you're paying upwards of EUR 300 a night for a room at the Rayavadee, you certainly expect a more exclusive ambiance around you, not to be inundated with loud, drunk, scruffy backpackers and daytrippers.

My second disappointment with Rayavadee was the prices. At EUR 300 plus for a room, it is very expensive for Thailand so we had tremendously high expectations. Unfortunately, I have to say that it is hugely overpriced. THe rooms are quite old, internet did not work very well half the time and the breakfast was the worst we had in Thailand (the other five-star hotels in the Phuket area which charge around EUR 140 per night had a much much better breakfast buffet).

Did not sleep well at all at the Rayavadee as the aircon blows right on to the bed. In addition, we had power surges for the first two nights so the fan and aircon, and lights, kept going on and off for a few hours. As a result our aircon on setting 1 no longer worked and 2 was too noisy. It gets bright in this part of Thailand at 6 am. and the shutters in the rooms do not keep out the light so your room gets flooded early in the morning with light ... all the other hotels we stayed at in Thailand had great black-out curtains. Again, if you are paying EUR 300 a night at the Rayavadee, you expect to have a great night sleep.

The small details to make guests feel like they are paying a premium rate for a premium hotel were just missing at the Rayavadee - the decaff coffee was from a cheap jar, the tea was Twinings teabags ... we would expect nice fresh brewed coffee, tea leaves, a bit extra for that rate.

So, the room rate per night is already expensive but then we come to the activities, excursions etc. THe other five star hotels we stayed at in Thailand offered Tai-Chi, yoga, water aquarobics classes (one hour) for between THB 150 and 400 with classes every single morning. Not at the Rayavadee, a yoga class will cost you THB 1000 including taxes and there is not a good choice of activities even though the hotel was full over Easter. On the whole, the activities and excursions are about 50-100% more expensive than at all the other five star hotels we researched in Thailand. And again, not acceptable, when you factor in the room rate you are paying at the Rayavadee.

Food - the food at the hotel's restaurants is excellent, except for the breakfast. We found the hotel food so much better than the local restaurants on the beach - that it was worth spending more. The fresh fruit juices are excellent.

Service is overall friendly and the staff are lovely. Housekeeping do a great job and are so discreet that you never even see them but your room is always spick and span. The complimentary mini-bar is also very generous and useful. Lovely local toiletries are topped up every day. Some of the staff are super-helpful and very switched on; others e.g. in The Grotto are seriously slow and struggle to understand you when you ask for a fresh coconut; it's a language issue obviously. But again, in a five-star resort when you pay these prices at the Rayavadee and where the guests are international, you expect that the waitresses and waiters can explain what the food is in good enough English. I wouldn't expect it in a three-star hotel where I am paying EUR 50 a night.

So overall experience: Would not return as I feel the hotel is grossly overpriced for what it is. Room rates of EUR 300 including tax in low season are simply too high for what is offered. You can get better at half the price in Thailand. And it's not ok to sell the hotel as an exclusive hideaway as the constant noise from the longboats and the constant swarm of daytrippers is really not nice. The location is stunning but it's like a busy bus terminus in the middle of a very beautiful scenic location. I thought we would be tucked away in an intimate environment, alone with just the sound of the waves and peace and quiet. Overall, very disappointed with the stay and feel quite ripped off.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beaches are noisy - you hear the longboats the whole day and smell the diesel fumes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank KerryBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed for 7 nights and we just loved the property! it is exactly as shown on the pictures and the perfectly described in the website. It is definitely paradise... the villas, the gardens, plants, wildlife, the views, restaurants, staff! The management allowed us to keep our room until 4 pm (when normally the check out time is 12:00hs). The only thing that really disturbed us was the horrible noise of the long tail boats...it was unbearable and took away all the peace and natural beauty you could have early in the morning. Also, at some moments of the day the beaches (which are public) were packed of tourists coming in/out of the boats like ants (not a very nice sea view when you spend around U$S 500 per night. All the rest....Perfect!

Room Tip: The pavillion villas are the perfect opition...you do not need a private pool or jacuzzi outside to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria Soledad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We booked in for a 3 night break here in November and it was a lovely stay. The staff were friendly and the resort was very nice.

The beaches were busy for a few hours during the day with incoming day visitors but the large pool in the resort was sufficient to keep is away and happy. The Grotto bar provided a great atmosphere for watching the sunset.

We didn't eat in the hotel for a number of reasons - quite pricey plus we ewe also so close to local restaurants which we often find are more tasty and value for money. However the venues looked lovely and they were rather busy.. So I guess the food was good.

Breakfast was ok... Good selection, but the service for tea and coffee was very slow and needs attention.

Rooms were nicely done up and I think needed the renovation. Grounds are massive so it's easy to get lost.

Good benefit was being close to local bars and restaurants... Go outside either of the exits and you will find somewhere to eat affordably with plenty of selection and quality.

Good touch with the mini bar providing selected items for free.

The spa has nice treatment rooms, the attendants are very friendly and the treatments were relaxing.

Overall a lovely stay and would recommend for a short break.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLuckyWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here in April in one if the villas with a hydro pool which meant the garden was enclosed and reasonably private which was a plus. Some villas we passed had sun loungers by the path which was not very inviting! Completely by accident we ended up by Phra Nang beach rather than Railay which was definitely a good thing - Railay just did not look that inviting - masses of boats coming and going with no apparent designated area for swimming and at low tide it was clear that a lot of the beach was very rocky.
Phra Nang was busy and noisy but there was an area for swimming - it was much nicer to swim at high tide than low. The hotel provides sun loungers just by the beach and the staff will find you towels, water etc. the staff throughout the hotel were lovely.
Realising that because the hotel is only accessible by water we were somewhat captive we took a private trip to the Phi Phi Islands which was great. We cancelled one to Hong Island as feedback from those we talked to was not great. Two of us did a cooking course and had a massage which were good.
The food is good but like so many of these hotels - it is not great and it is hugely expensive. I do appreciate that everything comes in by boat but even so. On the last night we took Half a bottle of very average wine from the minibar plus a packet of M and M's and some cashew nuts -£40.00. In fact we were originally charged £60 and it was only on he last morning when it was suggested that we had not paid this cost that we realised we had been overcharged - we had obviously got used to the high prices! It is a lovely hotel and we had a nice stay but the price for food that was not wonderful did grate.

Room Tip: Avoid Railay beach and if you can - get an enclosed garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The resort is set in a sprawling landscaped ground that is very impressive and natural. Squirrels, monitor lizards, monkeys and even snakes are to be seen. Railay Beach is littered with garbage, crowded with day tourist and docked with tons of loud long tail boats. So the beach picture on the website...not quite the reality.
Back to the hotel... due to the numerous ponds set in the property (with mostly still water), the hotel is swamped with blood thirsty mosquitos. My children and I are scarred with bites all over our limbs. The hotel though, readily distributes repellent (though not sure if they are effective).
The bungalows are charming and are in a good condition. The quality of food in restaurant is Ok, not stellar. For the prices they are charging, the quality should be better, much better. Our daily newspaper never came until I complained a few days later after.
Our main problem is with the quality of the staff. Whilst they are mostly (but not all) friendly, the vast majority of them did not speak even the most basic level of English. So any request for anything takes an eternity to explain and often results in major confusion. Though not faults of the staff (I can only imagine that it is not easy to find english speaking staff in this province), it is a very frustrating experience for us.
Then, there is a handful of staff who are just plain disgruntled and it showed. To be fair, there is another handful who speak good English and go out of their way to please.The activities and excursions menu is extensive but way overpriced (when I compare it to what we got at Four Seasons LG Maldives). The Spa is of a high standard and my 3 treatments have been very good, and at a reasonable price. the Gym is very very basic, so don't even bother bringing gym wear.
The Grotto does not look anything like the photo. It is not a cave on a beach but a shallow hollowed area into the rocks next to the bar. It serves food only once a week, a seafood grill and barbecue night. Though the price of the buffet is steep, the food is very fresh and good.
I guess when I compare this experience to stays at other 5* resorts, it just did not measure up. It felt like a 4* hotel. To be deserving of 5*, I believe the service must be excellent across the board, not just at some select areas. The staff must be all motivated, efficient and competent, not just a handful.
I know I will not be coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the beach get the full blast of the long tail boat engines ALL day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.8 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#9 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Property: Rayavadee Resort
Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Odigeo and Destinology so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing