We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous resort, but arrange tours elsewhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous resort, but arrange tours elsewhere”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The resort is amazing and there is plenty to do that is free or included: nice beaches, free hikes to the nearby caves, relaxing pools, and delicious breakfasts (with fresh fruit and a TON of variety, it is one of the best breakfasts I've seen at ANY place I have ever stayed). The spas are very professional and relaxing, but rather expensive. If you walk down the beach, you will be able to find a cheaper option for spa treatments (a nearby resort has massages that are much cheaper but still professional, but watch out for those who have ultra-cheap massages since they may be accompanied by flies, unclean conditions and bad service). I would not use the services at the resort to plan your tours, as they are about ten times more expensive than the resort down the peninsula. The good news is, the other resort is a short walk away, and when you come back to your room, you have a much nicer surroundings than they do. The service is also unparalleled; they are happy to give you rides in golf carts, walk you with an umbrella, or give you directions with a smile any time. It was truly relaxing, clean and beautiful beyond measure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HaveBabyWillTravel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    234
    81
    40
    35
See reviews for
353
1,052
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the Rayavadee in April 1014 for our Honeymoon and adored the experience. The resort is just magical. The grounds are huge and in your beautiful two story villa it's like your living in the middle of the forest. The service was perfect: literally everything was wonderful and the staff treat you like old friends. The breakfasts are the best we've experienced anywhere. The prices are a little steep for Thailand but you get quality for your money. It's worth wandering down to Walking Street on Railay Beach and walking through to some of the local restaurants while you're there. We could not recommend the Rayavadee more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevenlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Second place we stopped on our vacation with andaman skyy was this gorgeous bay called Railay Beach, which is on a Peninsula. This resort is so large, it extends over three beaches of the peninsula. This resort is one of the best in Krabi and we never really stepped out, unless it was the beach in front of the resort. Of all the three beaches, Phranang Beach is the most beautiful, but also the most crowded. You are better off at Railay West Beach, where is beautiful (maybe not as much as Phranang Beach), and not too crowded. Give Railay East Beach a miss entirely. We ate at the resort for all our meals and were impressed at quality we were getting. The rooms are charming and very Thai in design. I did not feel the need to get out of this resort, it was just to peaceful and calm. We loved every moment.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu County, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent 3 days here in the resort. People here are friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is very delicious and delicate although it 's quiet pricy. The first day we arrive, the lady told us we have orther choices outside the resort and those restaurants on the beach are cheaper. The bungalow is spacious and comfortable, There are 3 beaches in the resort which are very relaxing . If we ever visited Krabi, we definitly stay in the resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riceballandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Before I booked the hotel, my local Thai friend told me it was a really nice hotel, but it's showing its age a bit. For someone who likes things on the newer side, I was a little hesitant given the price. Needless to say, our stay turned out to be exceptional!

Rooms are bungalow style and are dual floors; the bedroom on the top and the living area on the bottom. The decor was resort chic, comfortable and very tastefully done. Maybe we were in a newly remodeled room, but I did not notice the aging my friend talked about. The bathrooms are packed with thoughtful toiletries like after sun lotion and natural mosquito repellents.

They have welcome cocktail drinks with complimentary wine and hor d'oeuvres every week (maybe twice a week) so that all the guests can meet other guests and talk to management. On top of that, they have complimentary afternoon tea and snacks every other day (if my memory serves me correctly).

Location-wise, the hotel is located at the tip of the mainland, but is only accessible by boat. They touch all three beaches: Phranang Beach, Railey Beach and the docking Nam Mao Beach. Since beaches in Thailand are public, Railey and Phranang gets really crowded during the day as many day tours stop there. However, after all the boat leaves at around 5pm, the beach is quiet and the sunset magnificent!

If you like rock-climbing, which Krabi is known for, then this location is ideal as the best rock-climbing is on Phranang Beach, a stone throw away.

Behind the hotel is also a trail that leads to a semi-secluded waterfall and cove.

There are also many dining options and for better or worse, their restaurants and bars are not open to non-hotel guests. This is good because it is never crowded so you can always relax and always have a place to eat since options are limited in the area. It's also bad because it does seem a little pretentious.

This hotel also boasts the infamous Grotto restaurant and bar that you see in a lot of amazing pictures online. The caveat is that it is only open until 7pm-ish so you can't have dinner here, which is a good thing because the mosquitos will eat you alive!

We truly loved our stay here and people are so friendly. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

There are not enough words to do this resort justice, it's perfectly idyllic and tranquil setting is just the beginning of a truly wonderful, heavenly holiday. After a long journey from the UK, your stay really starts with a speed boat trip from Krabi Pier to the resort, the friendly warm welcome and lovely orientation as you make your way to your traditional house is topped by the accommodation itself with its fine traditional and beautifully crafted decor and all the extras you can imagine including flip flops, slippers, a woven basket to carry to the pool/beach, razors, toiletries, candles, drinking water, fresh coffee and biscotti, fruit... The lush tropical setting with high limestone cliff formations and a choice of pristine beaches could be enough but it doesn't stop there with a breathtaking view from the pool out to sea and multiple activity options really makes this a special place. We went elephant riding and mangrove kayaking during our weeks stay both trips exhilarating in different ways and with first class service from booking right through to delivering us back to the resort. With a first class Spa, some of the massage is not for the faint hearted (may have been better not to say firm when asked how much pressure we like) but the experience was soooooo relaxing it forced us to visit 3 times in a week. The dining was equally as special, with lots of options and the best Thai cuisine we've ever tasted. What makes this resort extra special is the staff, never in all our travels have we experienced such amazing, polite, friendly, attentive and utterly charming staff, nothing is too much trouble for them. Rayavadee is by far the most unique, relaxing and blissful holiday we've had and we will be back.

Room Tip: Even the most basic rooms/houses are perfectly located, peaceful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Due to the cost of the resort, I read many reviews to see if it was worth staying at a place in a country where everything else is so inexpensive. And while I hate spending money, and after staying at this resort, I didn't really end up caring too much about the price as its as close to paradise as I've been.

But to address some of the more common complaints:

Are there longtail boats? Yes, but they're all over Thailand. We don't have those in the States so I appreciate differences. Does it smell...er kind of but not all the time and certainly not near the rooms. I wouldn't hang out on Railay during the day. I found Phra Nang to be more relaxed during daytime. The beaches are deserted until maybe 10:30 and then after 17:00 so I didn't think they were that big of a deal. Are the beaches private? No, they're not but you're staying at a resort that is right on two of the Tripadvisor top 10 beaches in Asia. If you don't want to share, go to Europe or the U.S. where you can more easily buy exclusivity. Does everyone speak perfect English? No. If you don't like it, maybe stay at a Hilton or...God forbid, learn Thai. Is it big? Yes, but that is what makes it unique. I can go to Mexico or Florida anytime and find one of those hotels. I can't however, stay in a tropical jungle/coconut plantation so I actually appreciated the layout. You need a map and the paths are marked "M1" and "M2". I sometimes got confused but I was on vacation so its not like I had anywhere to go. Are there enough choices for breakfast? Yes. Most definitely and everything is fantastic. If you can't find what you want at the buffet, you can order off their breakfast menu (waffles, eggs, sausage, Thai dishes).

And my take on the hotel:

Everything is fantastic. The rooms are tastefully done. Sometimes places can get too fancy and everything looks like a garish mess. That's not the case here. The bed is comfortable, the air conditioning works, water pressure is good, two televisions, two bathrooms, complimentary cookies, beer, chocolate, water

Although the food was relatively expensive, it was always satisfying. Some of the other places on Railay we found to be mediocre and we left underwhelmed but not at Rayavadee. We did not eat at their fancy restaurant. Only the Grotto, the breakfast place and the restaurant on Railay Beach by the pool.

The beaches in the early morning and later afternoon around sunset are spectacular (when most of the other tourists and longboats have either not arrived or have got back from where they came). You can swim, watch the sunset and sea kayak in paradise.

We took a boat excursion with the hotel and while it was maybe 5 times the price of the regular exursions to Phi Phi, Mosquito, Bamboo Island, there were only 6 of us as opposed to the 25-50 the woman at the other tour shop told us about. I saw a boat unload and there must have been 30 people pop out. We were always comfortable on our tour and had a tasty lunch on a deserted beach. The tour guides were nice too.

Everyone we encountered there was so kind and helpful. If I were to ever open a hotel, I would want my staff to visit Rayavadee (and the La Residence d' Angkor in Siem Reap) to see what service should be like. Everyone was great.

Writing more would just reiterate what so many people have already written.

The only thing I thought was lacking was the nighttime excitement. Not necessarily the hotel's fault but if you're looking for a lot of nightlife, Railay doesn't have it - which may or may not be good depending on the person.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pacomcnacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
1,341 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.3 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Property: Rayavadee Resort
Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing