We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I loved this hotel and the room was big and comfortable, we stayed here for two nights in the middle of July and I would love to come back here again. All the staff is really friendly and helpful. No other hotels will be good enough after your stay at Rayavadee.
Rayavadee is close to phra nang beach and I will recommend everyone who stay at Railay Beach to visit this beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandraloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Sandraloe,

Greeting from Rayavadee! Thank you for your nice feedback on trip advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and really appreciate your compliments on our rooms and staff.

We are so glad to hear that you would love to visit us again and thank you for the recommendations to friends and family. We will be waiting to welcome you back in the very near future.

Wishing you all the best!

Kind regards,

Claudine T.

Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    232
    79
    39
    35
See reviews for
345
1,034
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just left the Rayavadee after a wonderful six days in what is a truly stunning, unique hotel. Decor, service, location, every little touch down to the handmade cookies, glorious toiletries, childrens dressing gowns and slippers were fantastic! The beaches while busy as all beaches in Thailand are public were still kept very clean and the views from the various beach side restaurants were stunning. All in all we did have an amazing time here. There was only one big problem and one recommendation I would make based on our personal preference. The big problem was undercooked food. On four occasions we had to send back food due it being undercooked and in the case of my husbands chicken, semi raw. The staff were excellent. Very apologetic and in the case of the chicken we were given our meal for free. However, serving raw chicken can not only ruin a holiday, it could land you in hospital in the worst case and this is unacceptable especially in a five star establishment. Of course when the food re-arrived it was outstandingly tasty so it is with sorrow that I write this criticism here but raw chicken, raw beef and undercooked eggs is just a complete no no and the cooking staff must please be more vigilant before serving.

The second issue and this is a personal preference is while the service was good, friendly, hospitable and very kind the restaurants suffered from over service. There are multiple staff to each table and you are permanently being watched with staff hovering over you to top up glasses of a water that are already full. It is service for services sake and became very annoying after awhile that we had to ask the staff to stop. Again, I am sure it is what they have been asked to do however we like to relax over our meal and not have plates whisked away before we have finished our last mouthful. We would rather everything was cleared at the end of the meal rather than while we were still chewing!

I feel sorry to post these negative comments as we genuinely had a wonderful holiday here. The hotel is just immaculate and I would still come back in a heartbeat if someone else paid the room rates! But the undercooked food sadly meant I cannot give this hotel a five star rating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MinK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear minK26,

Greetings from Rayavadee! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on trip advisor. It was a pleasure to have you & your family as our guests and we really appreciate your kind compliments on your experience at our resort. We are glad to know you had a fabulous stay and would love to come back again one day in the future.

In the meantime, regarding your feedback on the food you had during your stay, please rest assured we are looking into this matter as we also take all matters related to food hygiene and safety very seriously.

We wish and your family all the best and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Rayavadee was the last stop of my family 15 days trip to Thailand. We spent 10 days before, doing white water rafting, riding elephants, jungle trekking and lots of other activities and we decided to devote the last part of the trip to relax.

I had read many reviews and seen thousand of photos prior to this trip and was anxious to see whether the "real feel" of the resort was meeting the high standards set. From the moment we were greeted at the airport by the resort driver until the last good by it has been a superb experience that exceeded the expectations. No review can describe the feel of wondering around the fantastic gardens of the resort. There is no photographic means and camera resolution that can describe the dramatic effect of the limestone rock formations around the resort. The Rayavadee experience is a unique experience on its own, it is all about being treated with care and respect from beginning to end and being taken care of the smallest details. Is is about having the best service you can expect. Excellent breakfast, quality food in three different restaurants, large swimming pool, fantastic accommodation, respect of privacy, and well trained and friendly staff.

We had a family pavillion by the swimming pool and it was very convenient. It was a nice walk from the pavillion to breakfast, restaurants and beaches. The blending of the greenery, ponds and flowers with the resorts' buildings is very harmonious. The surrounding environment is breath taking. The beach experience is nothing special but I do come from Cyprus and have visited Greece a lot so my standards are very high. It has been raining most of the time but
this did not spoil the experience at all.

Accommodation, food and services are expensive. However you get what you pay for. Try go to the nearby places of the Railay beach and you will feel the difference.

I would certainly visit this place again.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, accommodation nearby the pool is very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Globinious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Globinious

Greetings from Rayavadee! Thank you for your very nice feedback on your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we really appreciate your compliments on our facilities,accommodations, our service and our resort's beautiful natural setting. We are glad your stay exceeded your expectations and that you found the resort offered a 'unique experience' for its guests.

We wish and your family all the best and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.

Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

An amazing hotel in a stunning location. We stayed in a deluxe pavilion which was more than adequate for a family of 4. The staff at this hotel are truly wonderful and always so friendly. We ate at the Thai restaurant on site and the food was exceptional. Would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to chill in a beautiful setting. Plenty for the kids to do - they went kayaking, snorkelling, and bat watching on most days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Panida K,

Thank you very much for writing a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We're really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your compliments on our food and accommodation, the activities we offer for kids and most importantly, on our staff and their service.

Thank you for recommending us to others. We hope to have you return with your children to visit us again in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Claudine T.

Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

When we walked into the reception area we knew we were in for a treat. The hotel is large and well organized. They have three beaches; the first one is for transportation only, the other two are for swimming. There are 4 restaurants; one for breakfast dinner that is near reception, the others are all on the two swimming beaches. They have gourmet food which is well presented. Excellent customer service even at the pool area. The employees who works there are extremely attentive.

There are monkeys, lots of butterflies, squirrels, and lizards all over the resort There are also many beautiful trees, bushes and flowers that are labeled for viewing.

The bungalows are two story and are very well designed. They are equipped with A/C, complimentary beer, water, and candy bars (kids were ecstatic!) . We stayed in a deluxe villa with an extra ordered bed. The kids slept downstairs with a half bath while my husband and I had the bedroom upstairs with the king sized bed and large bathroom. The soaps, shampoo and lotions provided were very good quality.

The beaches offer breathtaking views. You can hire out a longboat to take you to smaller beautiful beaches and snorkeling sites. All with 10-20 mins from the resort. The spot in front of Chicken Island had the best live coral and fishes.

The only downside to the resort is the following:

The beaches are public in all of Thailand so you have to share the beach with the boats dropping off hordes of day tourists to goggle at the resort and etc.the pool and restaurants near the boat drop off can be loud and annoying when you are trying to relax by the pool or eat a meal.

Also even though they warn you when you check in to always carry a flashlight and a map of the resort, it can get confusing to get around.

Lastly, at the pool and in the rooms they offer free water bottles. Every resort we have been in has a pitcher of water at breakfast except this one. You have to ask for water and they bring it out in individual glasses.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank ilovetotravel619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear ilovetravel619,

Greetings from Rayavadee! Thank you for your very nice feedback on your recent stay with us on trip advisor. It was a pleasure to have you and your family and we appreciate your kind compliments on our facilities,accommodations, our resort's beautiful natural setting and our staff service especially the team at the pool.

We thank you as well for your understanding regarding the fact that all beaches in Thailand are public. Thank you for your suggestion on drinking water served poolside. We will certainly take it into consideration.

Wishing you all the best and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.

Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

As part of our 10 day stay in Krabi with andaman avdentures, we decided to treat ourself on our last stop. The Rayavadee, while not cheap, is amazing. This resort is nestled on three beaches (yes, it is that big)! The food, albeit expensive, is fantastic. We hardly bothered to eat out as the food on Railay Beach is quite touristy and terrible, as we found out on the first day. But the beach is spectacular and Ao Nang beach, the main beach for fun and shopping is a mere 10 minute boat ride away. One thing to mention, watching the sunset in front of Rayavadee on Railaay Beach is just breathtaking and should be tried by everybody.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Derek A,

Greetings from Rayavadee! Thank you for your very nice feedback on your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind compliments on our resort and that you found it the perfect 'last stop' on your journey.

We agree that the sunset views from Rayavadee over Railay Beach are unforgettable. Wishing you all the best and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.

Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

OK, I was a little skeptical at first about this hotel. To start with, the price was hugely higher than the other hotels on the list except the Ritz Carlton. Second, I was a bit torn between the Ritz and this one. A friend of none had stayed at the Ritz and recommended it but a lot of reviews even outside trip advisor suggested Rayavadee for the location.

I'll start with the only two negatives that I could think of:

1. There are three beaches around the hotel, all highly recommended, however none of them are swimmable during this off-peak season. Then again, I shouldn't complain since we went there knowing that it was the off peak season.

2. Just like a lot of reviews mentioned, the rooms need renovation, they are beginning to look a little tired. The Ritz Carlton definitely has better accommodations.

Positives:

Endless ..........
- Advantage of having a two storie hut all to your self designed to give one ultimate privacy
- Complimentary water, soft drinks, tea coffee, cookies, chocolates etc in the room
- Excellent service from the staff everywhere
- loved the walks around the resort but if you get tired, just ask for one of the many buggies for a ride
- The Spa was of the highest standards
- A wide range of restaurants with excellent food to choose from, our personal favourite was the Thai restaurant
- No need for a buffet breakfast, just order it from the menu o be served fresh on your table
- Loved the cave bar, just unique
- Comfort and luxury at its best

Could go on and on but you need to go there and experience it. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MuneerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Muneer H,

Greetings from Rayavadee! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us on trip advisor. It was a pleasure to have you and we very much appreciate your kind compliments on our facilities,accommodations, our staff service and our resort's beautiful natural setting.

We were sorry that you didn't have the chance to enjoy the beaches during your stay as the weather was not cooperating. We are glad that despite this, you enjoyed your time with us and really enjoyed the 'Rayavadee Experience'.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back again very soon.

Wishing you the best.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#9 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Property: Rayavadee Resort
Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag and TravelUp so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing