We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Ellesmere Port
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

After the dilemas of picking accom in railay and reading all the reviews for the hotels we were very surprised that the hotel was average at best and not what we expected.

Before saying anything to bad I would like to say a few positives about it.

The hotel is on the east some de of the island which really isnt a problem as it is close to the restaurants of east railay and is only a five minute stroll to the west beach.

The hotel gardens are nice and kept in good condition.

Thats is about it really. As for the negatives.

We had booked to stay in one of the recently renervaed rooms and upon arrival initialy looked pritty nice but then soon seen had bad of a job had been done. The tile grout hadn't been cleaned off the new tiles so it looked like there was a layer of cement brushed over all of the tiles, the air conditioning unit was hanging off the wall (literally). The glass window between the bedroom and the bathroom was smashed, there was no hot water so we called for a maintance man to check it out so firstly he started playing with the exposed electrical wires underneath the bathroom sink then he held his hand under the shower for about 10 minutes untill the water was hot. The water was now hot but the pressure was so bad you would struglle to fill a bucket with it never mind have a shower. Then I jumped on the bed and could of broke a bone as it was like jumping on a conrete block.

The restaurant and reception area had a real proplem with fly's and I wouldn't say it is just because of the area as we didnt have this problem with any other restaurants we visited.

We went for a swim and we were not impressed by the pool. Didnt bother us too much as we were not in railay to spend time by the pool but it was a pool made with lino instead of tiles (plastic sheeting). The seal had failed so the water was underneath the plastic therefore the floor of the pool was more like walking on a bouncy castle.

Anyway rant over I just wouldn't stay here again and found many other resorts looked a lot nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tombromfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    342
    132
    47
    21
See reviews for
125
364
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is my seventh year visiting Railay, and the first one not in either the Railay Bay or the Railay Princess. I abandoned the ageing Princess last year. Renovations are underway now, so maybe I will be back.

This year I chose the Sunrise Tropical, based on the reviews from TripAdvisor. I booked a Junior Villa, but got upgraded to their Deluxe one, which is meant to be their best room, so I am reviewing the room as if I had paid for the most expensive room in their hotel.

The review is overall positive. The Sunrise Tropical is clearly a couple of notches above the Princess, and perhaps better than the Railay Bay, although it has been a while since I stayed there.

The basics:

Location: location is really not an issue in Railay, despite what several reviewers will say. There are two sides to the place: east and west. West has the nice beach, East doesn't, but it has more restaurant options, and it is where you go walking to Pranang beach. Even the slowest person on earh with walk from the Sunrise Tropical (east side) to Railay West in 7 minutes.

The grounds of the hotel are surprisingly big. They managed to laid the villas out in a way that ensures some level of privacy for each cottage.

The room is large and comfortable. With a huge king bed, two “day beds”, and all the standard amenities (kettle, fridge, free water, and a wi-fi that works most of the time). The bathroom is also very large, with an outside shower, and an inside bathroom and toilet. The outside shower is not everyone's idea of fun, but it does it for me. It is always a nice reminder that I am on vacations.

The service is really good: I got my room cleaned and done while at breakfast. Very efficient. And for those who are obsessed with smiles, the people were are very polite and smiling all the time, and also offer help with my luggage (which seems to be another hot item on TA reviews).

The transport from the Krabi airport was slightly late, but it worked well. You pay a lot if booking through the hotel, but then you get a private van and a private boat -- no wasted time waiting for the 8 people to fill the long boat.

Breakfast is very typical: buffet with pastries, fruits, one lonely guy to make omelettes, rice, chicken sausage, etc. If you have seen one, you have seen all.

Standard of hotels in Railay are normally lower than the rest of Thailand, so the finishing is not ideal. I could upload pictures of exposed wires, or a hole in a wall where the main switch is, or complain about the weird control of all lights (only from such switch), but I don't think it is fair with the hotel. Neither the management nor the employees (who work hard and go home on a long boat at 11pm every day) have much to do with the way the wiring is finished. I only say this here because if that is the kind of thing that destroys your vacation, be warned.

The pool area could use some work. The pool is small, which in itself is no problem, but it is not tiled: It is essentially made of plastic, and feels like a very big cheap bathtub. I don't care to much about pools in Railay, but still, there are times when you want to relax away from the beach, and this one does not feel that inviting.

Tips:
A couple of things that we all must know about Railay:
1. There are lots of mosquitos. It is even worse at the Sunrise Tropical, because of the layout of the vilas, and all the gardens around you. As anything else in life, you have two options: one is to write a bad review, as if mosquitos were the hotel fault. The other is to buy a pack of spirals for THB 30, and burn one in the bathroom every night. Problem solved.
2. Along the same line, when it rains heavily in the afternoon, the sinks in the hotel will emanate a very bad smell. Again two options: complain, or spend another THB 30, get a pack of incense, and burn a couple of sticks. Problem solved again.

Overall, I would recommend the Sunrise Tropical - it fully deserves its current status on TA.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jcn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colmar, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

It was truely the best hotel we had in Thailand! And we were really happy that we decided to change location from Phi Phi Don to Ao Nang.

The area is magnificent, there havent been thousands of people like on Phi Phi and the resort itself was paradising! We had a tropical Chalet which appeared to have very big and clean room with a small terrace. It was also mordern, with 2 TVs, living room, a big bathroom and even a separated corner to stock all the luggage (which we found very convinient!).

The tropical garden around the hotel area was amazing. You can spend lots of time walking around trying to take pics of some animals that are freely running there. The pool was also very nice with noone around during all the time we stayed there, so it was almost our private pool.

The staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was the best from all we had before in Thailand.

It was only 5 mins walk from west railey with an amazing sunsets and swimming possibilities and 7 mins walk from the famous princess cave.

We loved our stay at Sunrise Tropical Resort and the only thing we still regret now is that we didn't spend more time there!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didichamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Very nice hotel.We stayed in a chalet room,was very clean and well maintained.A lovely big shower room,beautifully mosaic tiled,and seperate loo and wash basin.
Dressing gowns,slippers,toiletries,safe and fridge,kingsize bed,and single.
Breakfast catered for everyone,good choice.
While we we there the monkeys were throwing mangos out of the mango tree outside our room,most entertaining.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Railey.

Room Tip: We stayed in the chalet room which we were more than pleased with.The villas looked beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purdieHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed there in January 2012 and again in February 2013 and I still think it's a great place to stay at Railay Beach.

For those of you who are not familiar with Railay, there is Railay West facing a sandy beach and Railay East facing a mangrove swamp which is dry over 500 feet at low tide. There's also Tonsai Beach and Pranang Cave Beach which is the most beautiful beach of the region. The Sunrise Tropical Resort is on Railay East (the mangrove swamp). But that shouldn't deter you from staying here as the other beaches are only a few minutes away by foot.

Both times, I had a room in the Tropical Chalay (the two-storey building next to the reception and the pool). Those rooms are very big. Each of them has a queen-size bed, a sofa, a TV, a minibar, and a wardrobe with a safe, bathrobes and umbrellas. The bathroom is also very big and has a bathtub and separate shower stall with a rain shower head (low water pressure however). Each room also has its own private balcony. And the air conditioning is quiet. All in all, the rooms are very clean, comfortable and soundproof.

The staff is very welcoming and friendly at all times. The on-site restaurant serves good food as well (and they serve alcohol compared to some other places who don't because of the Muslim religion - southern Thailand has many Muslims). The pool is quite small and a little bit outdated though.

All in all, this resort offers probably the best value at Railay Beach. I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Loved this hotel...one of my favourite in Thailand! My only regret is that I didn't spend more time in Railay.

The location is fantastic - less than a 10 minute walk to either West Railay beach or Phra Nang beach. About 5 minutes from the restaurants and bars on East Railay.

Our room was large with a comfortable king sized bed and the bathroom was huge with a separate tub and shower. Everything was clean as well, the staff were always friendly, and there was a great selection for breakfast (including an omelette station). Although there was construction at the hotel next door, I never heard any noise and it didn't impact our hotel stay at all.

My only issue was that our room seemed to have mosquitos in it and although we killed a few before bed, I woke up one morning with several bits on my face (I should mention that mosquitos seem to love me and my husband didn't have a single bite). However, friends of ours who were staying next door didn't have this problem at all. We might have just been unlucky.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers_Checklist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I travelled to the Sunrise Tropical resort, with my Girlfriend in January 2013. We spent 3 nights there and really enjoyed the hotel, and Railey beach.

We arrived at Railey beach, on the afternoon ferry from Phi Phi. Getting to the hotel wasn’t the easiest as no one was at the West Beach ferry drop to meet us. This was my fault really as I forgot to email arrival details in advance. It was probably a 5 min walk from the West beach, to the hotel. Luckily a helpful hotel worker from another hotel (based on the west beach) could see we were struggling with luggage and helped us with his trolley. He made 100 baht, and saved us the hassle. We were all happy!

On arrival at the hotel, check in was easy and quick. The hotel porter quickly transported our luggage to our room. We were booked into a one bedroom villa. He showed us around the villa, and it was really nice. Spacious, spotlessly clean, huge bed. Nice bathroom with a good shower area. Separate dressing area. Safe in wardrobe, free wifi, TV, aircon, lovely balcony looking into the tropical garden grounds of hotel. We were really, really impressed with it.

The pool area at the hotel is nice, but due to trees and buildings, a lot of the sun beds appeared to be in the shade for quite a lot of the day. The pool itself was very cool, just what’s needed when the temperatures get a bit much!

The hotel serve a very good breakfast which is inclusive of the room price, it has many hot items, as well as fresh eggs, fruits, pastries, cereals, yoghurts and juices.

The location is great, its located next to Railey east beach, which isn’t a swimming beach at all. In fact, it’s more a muddy mangrove which does smell a bit at certain points of the day depending on the tide. However, don’t let this put you off. You have 2 great beaches within a 10 min walk. Also, all the main restaurants, and bars are located on the East side, plus, I believe it’s cheaper for accommodation on the east beach.

A must do whilst in Railey, is take a walk to Phra Nang cave & beach. There is a lot of rock climbing going on here which is pretty cool to watch, the scenery is stunning with huge lime stone cliffs, and the beach is up there with the best I have seen in Thailand. I don’t think there is much in the way of snorkelling here, so that lets it down if that’s what you want. Personally, I felt Railey was much nicer than Phi Phi, it is much calmer and more chilled, but with enough to keep you entertained for a few nights.

There is a small walking street that links the East & West beaches. There are a few small shops, and restaurants here, but all of the main action is found bordering the East beach.

The only negative we experienced at this hotel, was construction noise. We were advised that there would be construction happening at a neighbouring site. When we made the booking, we were told it was due to finish in November 2012. It was still on going in late January 2013, and after speaking with reception they think it will go on until April 2013. There is a small sign at reception saying affected rooms get a discounted rate. Our villa didn’t qualify for this rate, however after the first night when construction kept us awake until 2am we complained at reception. We were given a refund so as we paid the discounted rate for affected rooms. This was more than a satisfactory resolution, the construction noise was minimal at night and didn’t prevent any further sleep. It was a little annoying if sat by the pool, but we spent most of our time away from the hotel so were not overly troubled. Might be worth bearing in mind if travelling with young children though.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at the Sunrise tropical resort, and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is thinking of visiting Railey.

Room Tip: We had a villa, was really nice and not much more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akadaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.3 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#9 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Tropical Resort

Property: Sunrise Tropical Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2 Tambon Aonang | Railay Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunrise Tropical Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Tropical Resort, an exclusive resort on Railay East Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunrise Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Tropical Hotel Railay Beach
Sunrise Tropical Krabi
Sunrise Tropical Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing