We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable price and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“reasonable price and nice staff”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stay there for 2 nights of the third time that I visited Railey beach.The room is large and best king size bed,modern style decoration.Breakfast was amazing and close to nightlife in Railey beach.
it is reasonable price as well, and There is close to ATM too.you can walk to West Railey easily from that hotel.In fact,Railey beach have 2 shore are west Railey and East Railay, West Railay have expensive cost hotel located there and East Railey have reasonable price hotel and nightlife ,resturants. We can walk to West Railay in the morning to get fresh sea breathe and Jogging or enjoy kayaking..

Room Tip: I recommend all solotravel and backpacker to stay in East Railay cuz It reasonable price but If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariczzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    353
    143
    48
    24
See reviews for
138
387
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were here 2 couples one week ago and stayed for 5 days.
The hotel is on the east side of Railay, the part with mangroves, so no beach here. But to the west side where you can lay on the sun is only a 7 minutes breathtaking road under rocks and caves.
The stuff is very friendly and helping with information, maps, trip booking or whatever you need. There are some mini-markets close. The breakfast is not very luxuriant but in the evening they organize sea-food barbeque with fresh fish, king prawns, squid etc.
The room was pool-view at the ground-floor, so very quick access to the lobby and the reception. Quite big room with big beds and an enormous bathroom with bath-tube and a separate shower. The only problem with the rooms is that they are incredible wet, the level of humidity is huge. The room is equiped with rain umbrellas and also many towels which you can use also on the beach. They offer you free water bottles each day in the room.
In the evening, if you stay on the terrace, you would need some mosquitos spray. Wi-fi is working on the lounge, in the room not really.
The location and the landscape of the hotel are very nice, you can see the sunrise from the lobby. There are a lot of palm trees and flowers in the hotel yard.
You can take long-tail boat directly from the front of the hotel to Ao Nammao, Krabi etc.
So the hotel was realy good overall, maybe a little face-lift of the rooms would be advisable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iuliana_Hreniuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed with my wife and my 2-year old son at the Sunrise Tropical Resort for a full 2 weeks, and were not disappointed! We stayed in a junior plus tropical villa bungalow, which was very spacy, practical, with a nice wooden floor.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The resort organized the transfers from Krabi to the resort and back, which went smoothly.
The location of the resort is on Railay East, in a calm area. It is close to most beaches: Pra Nang, Railay West.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Railay Beach is one of the best place i've ever been.
Everybody has to go there once.

When I arrived in Sunrise Tropical it seemed to be a fantastic hotel. Therefore started the problems: unpleasant staff (noone knows basic english), poor breakfast, rooms are very cozy but during the day frequently the smell of sewage is very agressive, wifi signal is very very low, and so on.

Conclusion: with small measures this hotel could be very very good, starting to forming or replacing the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericteixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is tired but they are trying. Having poor internet wifi is not a help. the staff seem polite but you can see fatigue. What on earth happened to this jewel of Thailand...it seems the backpackers and day trippers have run this place into the ground. The hotel is fine but the garbage dumps all over this place doesn't help.It feels like everyone just gave up.

This place needs a large western hotel to pick up everyones socks and relocate low budget back packers to another place so they can polute it. just look at all the beer bottles and dirty backpackers is enough for me to catch t he next boat out of here tomorrow morning.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I recently returned to Sunrise and I felt compelled to re-review the experience because it was much less impressive then my trip last year. The restaurant and free breakfast remained good, but you can get cheaper and better food down the east side of Railay. There was ongoing construction, which caused loud noises throughout the day (not good for mid-day holiday naps). In a sense the place is an odd fixture in Railay because it is not nice enough to be one of the nice hotels and not cheap enough to be one of the budget hotels. Overall its definitely mid-range, but I suggest strongly considering spending a little extra money if you are already willing to pay enough to get out of the backpacker places.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money not to stay in a Tropical Chalay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights, and booked 3 more while we were there, as Railay is stunning and the weather was great. We stayed the exrta nights in Sunrise as it was just convenient, and restaurants and bars are very close by (Railay itself is tiny anyway).
The rooms are clean, we slept well but there are mosquitos everywhere....
the breakfast is ok, not great.
But really, the staff were quite unfriendly. we had a 3 week thai holiday and found staff everywhere to be fantastic except for Sunrise.
The girls working in the restaurant were so unfriendly, I couldn't stop myself from asking one of them what the problem was.
One exception was that i binned my camera by mistake and the staff got it back for me from the big bins. I was thankful for that, but not much else from the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCloudDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
911 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Tropical Resort

Property: Sunrise Tropical Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2 Tambon Aonang | Railay Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunrise Tropical Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Tropical Resort, an exclusive resort on Railay East Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunrise Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Tropical Hotel Railay Beach
Sunrise Tropical Krabi
Sunrise Tropical Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing