We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great hotel with private bungalos just off the beach (less than 1 min walk). My husband and I had a great time at the resort and on Railey in gerneal. The staff was pleasent, massages were cheep (450 BAH or about $15 American dollars for 1 hr) and the seafood boats offered at the hotel and neighboring restaurants were a great deal for a dinner full of the catch of the day cooked how you want. No alcohol is served at this hotel or it's restaurant but you can buy beer, cocktail, wine or whatever elsewhere and bring it over for dinner or the pool.
The bungalow itself was great when you keep in mind the fact you are in Thailand. It was a good size, private, has a porch wtih chairs, and air conditioning in addition to the use of a beach bag, towles and a mat to lay on for the beach. Here's the catch, our room did have a kind of smell to but after a couple min in the room it wasn't noticable. If you're the type to care about things like a less than great repair job to the tile on the sink and that the bathroom has high set windows with a mesh to allow outside air in (not air conditioned in there) then you will not be the type to like this hotel. We were happy to look past the little things and enjoy the value of a place right off the beach that you could never get for the same price, type of location, or experience anywhere in California and probably the States as a whole. And if you keep in mind that some of the places you might visit in Thailand don't even offer toilet paper, soap or hot water (yes, we;ve been there) you will appreciate this place all the more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanna32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    622
    286
    101
    104
See reviews for
271
763
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Railay Beach is spectacularly beautiful, but a little tricky to get to. You need to take a long tailed boat from nearby towns. The best thing is there are no cars- it's a walking town, but it is being developed rapidly and there are lots of places to stay and construction of hotels taking place. It's getting "crowded"... The Sand Sea is not the "best" or fanciest hotel at Railay, and there are many that are smaller, less expensive, with less amenities. However, the Sand Sea does have two great pools and a very central, desirable location on Railay Beach. Probably it just had bungalows and has gradually expanded with more luxurious, modern units. When we first arrived we were given one of the modern units on the first floor, which had zero privacy and frankly we did not like that room at all. I thought the older bungalows looked much more charming and private, but my husband thought we would be ok, if we just had a room on the top story (they were in two story units), so I managed to get us a different room on the second day, which was a great improvement, as we had privacy and a nice view of the trees and spectacular mountains, which surround Railay. As a bonus, we also got to see the antics of the langur (local leaf eating monkeys) who cavorted in the trees and atop of the roofs of the resort.

The rooms themselves had all the amenities, including balcony with a long comfortable couch mattress with cushions, air conditioning, huge shower, large bathtub (which we never used). The maids were constantly sweeping and cleaning halls, stairs, rooms...

They had a very large selection of food for the breakfast buffet. The food was better and a bit more expensive than the cheaper surrounding restaurants.

Just five or ten minutes from Railay Beach is Phra Nang Beach which is more spectacular than Railay and gets incredibly crowded during the day, but in the early morning or evening - if you simply walk there, you can have the whole place to yourself. The walk is nice, too- with caves and macaque (monkeys), places to rock climb...

We had a great time, altogether at the Sand Sea Resort, but we didn't stay there all the time, it was our homebase. We began our hikes from there. We also rented kayaks and had a great time exploring the nearby coast.

Room Tip: Unless you are an exhibitionist, get an upstairs room for more privacy or one of the older bungalows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbrouillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After staying in Sand Sea Resort for almost a week, there are apparent ups and downs to this hotel.

The Room: We stayed in a newly built room and it was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The balcony was big and private enough. There were however a few annoyances that made our stay less enjoyable. There was no hot water in the room and after several calls someone came to take a look at it.... but the problem was still there. After 3 attempts of trying to fix it, we were put into another beautiful room but the toilet didn't flush properly. This was a frustrating thing to deal with when you are trying to have a relaxing vacation.

The Location: The location is great and it doesn't really matter where you stay on the property because you will end up walking to the beach (not a long walk). If you stay on the East side of Railay, you will end up being closer to the nicer beach (Phra Nang).

Service and Food: The service was okay although they took a while to deal with the issues we had. The breakfast was great. There are plenty of options and it was always stocked up with food.

I am not one to complain too much while traveling and I've been in Thailand for almost 7 months now... this place is very nice compared to some other beaches and hotels that I've been to around Thailand. With some proper maintenance this place would be a 5/5.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugs204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed in one of the newer apartments and was pleasantly surprised when I got in to my room. Exceptionally clean, great balcony (good to sit on and watch the rain or local monkeys!). Beach towels, fold out mat and bag provided to use while you are there. Nice big bed, very comfortable, free wifi which worked perfectly in my room. It was a great location on the beach, and sitting eating breakfast looking out to the beach was stunning.
Breakfast is included, fairly basic but good enough. I ate at the restaurant and the food was lovely - although the Pad Thai 200 bahts and it is 70 bahts at Mangroves.
To get five stars, the standard service would need to be a bit more special. I didn't receive bad service, just a bit non-energetic! Also, one particularly busy transfer morning loads of people were sitting along the wall right next to the breakfast tables. I loved sitting next to the sea view in the morning, but felt a bit self conscious with loads of people squatting next to me eating. They need to move them on!
To finish on a real positive, I managed to get the plug thing stuck in the bathroom and pull one of the balcony doors off its rails! I popped in to reception to tell them. I went for a massage for an hour, got back and it was all fixed - perfect.
I would definitely stay here again without a doubt. Close to everything in a modern and quiet resort. Can't comment on the pool as I am a beach girl.
Having stayed in a few different priced places, you get what you pay for with the extra cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoTack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here in our bungalow. It's a clean hotel with great pool, minimart and the perfect location on the beautiful Railay beach. Staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Would recommend to others for their stay on railay beach.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1986882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We got one of the new modern rooms, 2nd floor, facing north to the mountains- so there was a lot of privacy. The first floor rooms or bungalows probably don't get much privacy with the walkways passing right in front. The room was very clean and had a nice tub that opened into the room, however the vessel sink wasn't quite secured so it shifted on the counter and water kept leaking all over the floor. The concrete stairwell up to the room was also constantly wet from some perpetual leak and extremely slippery. The initial room they gave us was in the back, abutting lots of construction, so we requested a room closer to the front/reception/beach, and not directly in view of the other construction there. The front pool had an obstructed view of the beach- which could be such a nice sunset view if they just cleared the construction stuff out of the way. The pool in the back felt more private and intimate, but the paths to East Railay/Phranang was dimly lit and surrounded by more construction. The wi-fi signal was only by the reception and down most of the time. I wasted many hours trying to do simple but important tasks- not reliable. Breakfast buffet was great, dinner at the restaurant was good, but no alcohol. Overall, the property needed some more work considering the 4-star price, but was still a great secluded location.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms offer more privacy than ground level, where the walkways have full view into rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank occasionaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and loved our stay.
The resort is quite large, but is well designed so we weren't exposed to the number of guests staying there - we felt we were staying at somewhere a third of the size.

Bungalows are really nice. Modern, well fitted, quiet, good air con etc. There are a selection of pools so they never get too busy and you pick and choose depending on your mood.

Breakfast was good - loads of options including Thai and western food.

The obvious plus point is the location. Railegh beach is just beautiful.

Overall good value when ranked alongside resorts on Railegh, in Krabi and also north/south ko lanta..

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
781 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,417 reviews
2.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Property: Sand Sea Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing