We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not luxurious in any way, ok rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not luxurious in any way, ok rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Well Railay itself (railay west) is really expensive.
Between the village and the bay hotels which are ridiculously overpriced, the sand sea offers a less expensive option right on the West railay shore.
We stayed in the superior bungalows we ordered from Agoda (4500 thb) in the high season tourist time which was a bit overpriced but cheaper then the almost-the-same other options.
First they put us on a bungalow near the inner pool which was too noisy and really bad mattress which felt like sleeping on a bad floor and a very noisy aircon.
We switched rooms the following day and it was perfect for us.
Nice breakfast.
If you can afford it - try staying on railay west.
The east has nice nightlife and resteraunts, but no beach shore and a but stinky.

Don't let other reviews fool ya,
The 3 hotels: railay bay, sand see and railay village are next to each other and all are 1.5 walk to the street leading to railay east.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Omer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    603
    282
    96
    103
See reviews for
262
737
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I would like to acknowledge the great location of the resort as many others, I also was just trying my best to figure out the best first time in krabi. I knew I wanted to spend time at Phra Nang and this was my reason for the 4 nights here. I also must acknowledge that I did receive a great room, at the back quiet section with a pool view and direct access. I was moved on the 3rd night due to an unbearable sewerage smell in the room, which of course wasn't a brand new information to the resort and i guess you expect some issues like such in Thailand. The staff I felt were somewhat jaded, generally its not much to do around railay and it is way too expensive for what it is. Sure, on beach, but you can get to anywhere from ao nang for a few baht.The resort is ok really, but now I know I would not necessarily stay on railay. The boat guys wanted to charge 1500 to get to poda island ( which is a must by the way) yet its 300 return from ao nang. Seriously guys, stop looking at tourists as fools and get a grip on it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My only regret is that we spent only two nights here, if I could take it back I would cancel all 3 nights on Koh Phi Phi and spend 5 nights with Sand and Sea on Railay. Our room was very modern and clean, no bugs in the room and strong AC. The restaurant is good but does not serve alcohol, they allow you to bring your own though (or go to another nearby restaurant). The included breakfast was nice with a good variety of food. Rent a kayak and paddle any direction for a fantastic view.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are actually on the beach but even the farthest room is a short walk from the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

west railay is a must...because the east is not somewhere you want to stay Sand sea resort resort provides everything you need Accomodation options are great the new build apartments are top draw but th e deluxe bungalows are also awesome. Breakfast is more than adequate and all day food is of a decent standard Great swimming pool and right next to a beautiful beach and you are sure to find monkeys swimming in the trees. The service isnt great but this is to be expected in thailand the pace there is not the same as we expect in the west For dinner the seafood bbq is a must top quality and cooked really well

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The rooms are reasonable,the prices are high but if you like pork or enjoy the occasional drink, this is not the place for you. In fact the island seems to be pork free, somewhat unusual for Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_from_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great hotel with private bungalos just off the beach (less than 1 min walk). My husband and I had a great time at the resort and on Railey in gerneal. The staff was pleasent, massages were cheep (450 BAH or about $15 American dollars for 1 hr) and the seafood boats offered at the hotel and neighboring restaurants were a great deal for a dinner full of the catch of the day cooked how you want. No alcohol is served at this hotel or it's restaurant but you can buy beer, cocktail, wine or whatever elsewhere and bring it over for dinner or the pool.
The bungalow itself was great when you keep in mind the fact you are in Thailand. It was a good size, private, has a porch wtih chairs, and air conditioning in addition to the use of a beach bag, towles and a mat to lay on for the beach. Here's the catch, our room did have a kind of smell to but after a couple min in the room it wasn't noticable. If you're the type to care about things like a less than great repair job to the tile on the sink and that the bathroom has high set windows with a mesh to allow outside air in (not air conditioned in there) then you will not be the type to like this hotel. We were happy to look past the little things and enjoy the value of a place right off the beach that you could never get for the same price, type of location, or experience anywhere in California and probably the States as a whole. And if you keep in mind that some of the places you might visit in Thailand don't even offer toilet paper, soap or hot water (yes, we;ve been there) you will appreciate this place all the more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanna32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Railay Beach is spectacularly beautiful, but a little tricky to get to. You need to take a long tailed boat from nearby towns. The best thing is there are no cars- it's a walking town, but it is being developed rapidly and there are lots of places to stay and construction of hotels taking place. It's getting "crowded"... The Sand Sea is not the "best" or fanciest hotel at Railay, and there are many that are smaller, less expensive, with less amenities. However, the Sand Sea does have two great pools and a very central, desirable location on Railay Beach. Probably it just had bungalows and has gradually expanded with more luxurious, modern units. When we first arrived we were given one of the modern units on the first floor, which had zero privacy and frankly we did not like that room at all. I thought the older bungalows looked much more charming and private, but my husband thought we would be ok, if we just had a room on the top story (they were in two story units), so I managed to get us a different room on the second day, which was a great improvement, as we had privacy and a nice view of the trees and spectacular mountains, which surround Railay. As a bonus, we also got to see the antics of the langur (local leaf eating monkeys) who cavorted in the trees and atop of the roofs of the resort.

The rooms themselves had all the amenities, including balcony with a long comfortable couch mattress with cushions, air conditioning, huge shower, large bathtub (which we never used). The maids were constantly sweeping and cleaning halls, stairs, rooms...

They had a very large selection of food for the breakfast buffet. The food was better and a bit more expensive than the cheaper surrounding restaurants.

Just five or ten minutes from Railay Beach is Phra Nang Beach which is more spectacular than Railay and gets incredibly crowded during the day, but in the early morning or evening - if you simply walk there, you can have the whole place to yourself. The walk is nice, too- with caves and macaque (monkeys), places to rock climb...

We had a great time, altogether at the Sand Sea Resort, but we didn't stay there all the time, it was our homebase. We began our hikes from there. We also rented kayaks and had a great time exploring the nearby coast.

Room Tip: Unless you are an exhibitionist, get an upstairs room for more privacy or one of the older bungalows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbrouillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
6.6 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Property: Sand Sea Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing