We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”
Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What can I say.....the location is paradise....one of the most beautiful and scenic locations you can find! When you wake up in the morning and look outside you will be amazed. I am surprised that the hotel does not have better reviews. The rooms were lovely and big. Us - 2 adult and 2 kids fit without issues into the giant king bed. The bathroom was huge. Breakfast was just fine, with plenty of selection. Some reviews mentioned a smell coming from some rooms. We noticed that, and I believe it is a drainage issue, but it did not really bother us. The hotel restaurant is great, with lovely fresh seafood selection. Overall a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Choose new rooms and not the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarOmsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is outdated and service is terrible. We sat at check in for almost two hours trying to coordinate between expedia and Sand Sea for an upgrade that we had. Staff could have cared less, and we had to take all initiative to sort it out and not pay the full difference in room few for the upgrade. Only redeeming quality is the beach.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Kellyb1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you would like to stay at Railay beach, the best beach is on the west. This hotel is direct on a postcard beach. We stayed in a deluxe room which was big and with great comfort.

Swimming pool was perfect for our young daughters.

A tip is to use the transfer service of the hotel. its is affordable and very well run.

Only bad thing I can say is that the 3rd bed we asked for was a really crap bed. The normal bed was perfect.

Room Tip: Take the new deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights to do some rock climbing in Railay. It's very luxurious compared to where I normally stay, but well worth the money. The staff were friendly, the bungalow/hut was gorgeous with a really nice bathroom. The are 2 pools to choose from if the beach isn't your thing (it's a stones throw away! ). I had some good sea food in the restaurant and the breakfast is decent. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here for 8 nights in April / May 2014.

Location : Fantastic - right on the beach at West Railey - about as good as it gets ....

Rooms: If you stay in the new building .. the rooms are excellent, very new and well styled .. we stayed on the 2nd floor, which is better than ground floor ( much more private )

Food and Service: This is a weakness - I'd rate both as 'fair' (see below )

> Lunch - I had a curry, rice and Coke for late lunch on arrival. ( no alcohol is sold - though u can bring your own). Despite being the only diner and seeing about 5 or 6 staff doing very little, service was quite slow. I asked for a glass of ice to go with the coke ( to keep drink cool). After about 15 minutes and 3 requests I eventually got the ice. ( most staff were just interested in chatting with each other )

> Breakfast:: Fairly average food / buffet, and no pork sausages or bacon. The staff ( again) are disinterested in service , tables really need a good scrub to keep the flies away and some of the cooks doing omelettes need to speed things up ( a lot). Some breakfast items are not replenished enough.

After my first day - I only ate in the restaurant for Breakfast.. there are better food alternatives.

Reception staff were 'ok' but not exactly welcoming and cheery.

The owners really need to invest more time in embedding a strong 'service attitude' in the staff ... took 2 hours for reception to send someone to the room to clear up a broken glass.

I may stay here again just for the great location and rooms ... but the owners really need to 'get a grip' on the staff

Room Tip: Stay in the new block on 2nd floor ..superb rooms with plenty of privacy. Average cleanliness ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DN164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Lovely position on the beach with spacious clean rooms, some overlook pool. Gardens well kept and lots of wildlife around.

Location is in the centre of the main beach where the boats land.

Quiet and peaceful.

Only downside is that the included buffet breakfast was most probably the worst we have had anywhere and mainly catered for western tastes (badly).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The only 2 negatives things of this hotel: they don't sell alcoholic beverages because their owners are muslims (but if you buy a beer or wine at the beaches' markets they accept it) and they don't have room service, if you need it. I usually don't need room service because I like going out to eat but I needed room service because my partner cut her foot diving so she couldn't really walk that night. But the restaurant stays open until late so you can buy food at their restaurant and take to your room.
The modern rooms are great, bautifual and very spacious. Incredibly clean, with great amenities, the breakfast has a great selection of food, the pool is gorgeous with some chairs facing the beach and no need to say that you are at the beach. If you can spend a bit more in a hotel at your trip don't hesitate.
The service is not as good - they are usually overstaffed so there is a lot of people talking to each other and not working so much. They have a mini mart with everything you might need to sell inside the hotel and a mini travel agent so you can buy tours, boat tickets and rent canoes.

Room Tip: Ask for the modern renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#6 of 12 in Railay Beach
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 12 in Railay Beach
853 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort Aonang- Thailand
2.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,403 reviews
0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: £17 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing