We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Worth the extra money"”
Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The last few times i have been to Railay i have stayed next door but thought i would give Sand and Sea a shot mainly because it was half the price. It was a wise decision.
The rooms were pretty much the same nothing special but more than adequate.
It's located on the west beach which is a must really as the east is nothing special. Waking up and walking 30 seconds to one of the most amazing beaches in Thailand just can't be beat.
The staff were friendly and helpful and will definitely be back.
The only bad thing about this resort is the restaurant is awful but there are plenty of places to eat.
Also note that this is a Muslim run resort so don't expect to see any Chang in the mini bar. They didn't seem to mind us bringing our own booze in though.

Room Tip: "try and get a room near the beach and pool"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank antusmanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Several of the guide books warn about this resort and says it is old, run down and some of the bungalows and rooms lack air condition. This is not even close to being the case.
The resort is located on Railay west, the most beautiful side of Railay beach. The new and relatively pricely built cottages are simple but nice, clean and has air condition, satellite TV and free Wifi, and even a small terrace to enjoy your night coffe or tea. The bungalows are surrounded by palm trees and other tropical growths. Often you can encounter troops of monkeys traversing the palm trees and rooftops. The resort has even got a dog employed to keep the most cheeky ones away from the buffet.
The hotel is a great choice both for budget and quality, and I can warmly recommend it. The only reason I do not give it five out of five is because the restaurant and breakfast was terrible, and also we had some issues with loosing power (which the hotel were relatively fast to fix).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank René A. L. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the new grad deluxe rooms, and we really liked it. Not the most charming resort, but sometimes 'new' is all you want. There are two pools - one by the reception on Railay west and one close to Railay east where we stayed. Both pretty nice.

The breakfast buffet wasn't good - probably the worst we had on this trip, so we only ate there once. We went to Railay east to eat and I can recommend the first place you get to when you take the resorts path to the east side. Can't remember the name, sorry.
Sand sea doesn't serve alcohol, so if you can't live without beer, you'll have to go somewhere else for that :)

Ao phra nang is the best beach if you wanna go for a swim, but when we went there we almost couldn't see the sand because of day-tourists. But this was in the high season. If you go during green season, you'll have it all to yourself :)

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank renesohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Overall we had a great stay.

Check in was quick and easy with a golf buggy to take us to our room.

The room itself was nice and had everything you need.

There;s a restaurant on site. Breakfast was pretty standard but dinner was lovely. You can choose your fish and get it bbq'd right on the beach. Please be aware that this is a muslim hotel so there is no alcohol or pork. You can buy alcohol and bring it to your table if you want.

Railay is a stunning place. The hotel is on the right side for the beach and stunning views. All the hotels merge into one really but the location is good.

When we went to check out e were promised a golf buggy/ bellboy to takee out backs to the other side of the island but this never materialised. There was also an issue with the bill which wasn't made clear. Nothing major but having to lugg your bags across the isalnd at 7am wasn't ideal.

Overall a nice hotel in a truly amazing place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshire_pad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stay in Superior Bungalow for 1 night. Room is spacious, privacy, clean but a bit run down as compare to those newly build room infront of me. But I think Is more expensive. Overall value for $$!

Love the breakfast and food by the restaurant but u cant order from your room. Anyway the view in front of the restaurant is so great that you might not eat in your room at all :)

But the vase infront of our room for washing our leg. There is a lot of mosquito larvae! Omg!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Vikcil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This review is purely for the wifi. I was staying for a few nights at one of the cheap places down the dodgy end of east railay, and searched far and wide for the best wifi and I can firmly report that this place wins- bazinga! even when the electricity cut off to all the peninsula the wifi here was still going! Enabled me and my mate to watch indiana jones and the raiders of the lost ark so thank you so much as we didn't have a pack of cards and had ran out of money for beer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lucy-Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Everything in Railay is just that bit more expensive, so bearing that in mind I thought that the mid-range Sand Sea Resort was pretty good value for money. It is in an excellent location, just steps across the beach from where the long tail boats drop you off. Be prepared to wade ashore carrying your own luggage!

I got one of the older bungalows which was spacious and perfectly fine, good aircon, wifi etc. It was situated right next to the gorgeous (second) pool situated back off the beach. This pool, surrounded by lush vegetation was far nicer and quieter than the main pool on the beach.

The breakfast was not amazing, but not too bad either. Overall i really enjoyed my stay at the San Sea Resort, it was relaxing and the setting was stunning. Staff were friendly and helpful.

One thing I will say about Railay in general though is that the restaurants there are terrible and overpriced which was disappointing...especially after all the culinary delights of krabi town...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank LyndyG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#6 of 13 in Railay Beach
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,526 reviews
2.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: £22 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing