We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Railay View Point
Reviews (1,266)
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveller rating
806
364
74
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
806
364
74
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flip flops worth the climb red clay afraid of heights challenging climb great hike worth the effort bring water viewpoint ropes lagoon mud path railay rocks adventure footing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 1,266 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

It's a fun scramble up a steep hillside on tree roots and rocks, but well worth the adventure and views. Takes about 15 minutes to summit (for an athletic person). Go left when you get to the top for the viewpoint. If you go straight (a little right), you can descend to a cool lagoon! The descent to the lagoon is definitely not for the faint of heart. Requires some technical downclimbing, using ropes in a few spots. I would not recommend the lagoon descent in the rain or shortly after based on the mud and waterfalls. Definitely don't wear shoes you don't mind getting dirty. :)

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank BoardGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We had some poor weather during our stay so decided to try out the hike to the viewpoint. Be warned this is not a hike, it's more of a rock climbing expedition which we loved. I actually walked past the 'entry' to this hike because it's literally a sheer cliff with ropes and rocks to pull yourself up. We did go when it was fairly wet so got quite muddy but it was a great adventure and we really enjoyed ourselves. One crazy traveller we passed did the climb with a moon boot so anything is possible! Views were ok once we got to the top, but it was raining so I imagine it would be much nicer on a sunny day. It's great fun - so wear good shoes and give it a go!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank 647LauraB647
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This is a good hike and climb but is worth the time to do as when you get to the top the views are really breathtaking, we even took a small picnic and sat enjoyed at the top at least you should take some water and maybe bug spray if you need as there was a lot that day, donot wear good clothing as can get muddy too and good shoes too are better

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Sinee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I climbed to this viewpoint and the views were amazing. We are both pretty fit but not rock climbers so it was a bit challenging as it was muddy and it is straight up. But like everyone says the view is worth it, go in the morning (we were the only people), bring lots of bug spray, and wear clothes you don't care if they get dirty!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank lisamduling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The climb up is easy for those who are fit however could be a bit challenging for those who aren't however it is still very doable. Just make sure to wear appropriate footwear (no sandals) and clothes.

The view at the top is beautiful and the hike up is great exercise. Enjoy!

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank titagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews