We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant view better than food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We ate here one night, because we fancied a dinner on the beach. Lovely view right by the sand and sunset, but expensive for Railei and decidedly average food too. Nice live music, but service only ok.

Maybe we should have just sat on the sand to watch the sunset, and then gone to have some decent food at Kohinoor instead.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Expatfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Fantastic concept, truly beautiful location, breathtaking in fact. Very nice and sympathetic resorts, no high rises, really nice rooms, beautifully laid out. So it should be set for a perfect holiday! However, staff were uninterested, unhelpful and a PHI PHI turtle could be quicker. They really let the place down, so much so we wouldn't return here. They have you captured so they simply do not care,

Shame, because a lot of thought has gone into the resort, it just can't deliver on its potential.

If you stay here don't take a room by the rear pool, the pumps sounds like a concrete mixer, and it is in use from 0700 to 2000, so no privacy. The air cons are also very noisy, ours sounded like a long tail boat engine.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Wilbo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Simply paradise! The resort is well established with beautiful gardens. We stayed in a Jacuzzi suite - spacious and well fitted out. You could sit by the pond and hear the frogs. Breakfast was good with a beautiful view over the beach. You could sit and watch all the boats arriving for the day. Walking street with shops and restaurants is just next door. Its an easy walk to Phra Nang beach which is also lovely. We would come back in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room at the front of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

once again we like to thank both railay bay and miss Janm our travel agent at andaman aventures for working together to create a fabulous time in southern thailand for us. our bungalow was just the best, quiet and private, surrounded by huge tropical plants. the location : you cannot beat railay. it is even more impressive than phiphi. i understand the complaints i have read here about the service - its true, the restaurant service is mostly slow, and if you have a special request, that may be beyond the abilities of the local staff. its all true, but we have travelled in Thailand a lot and found this to be the way things go here. perhaps if you pay for a true five-star hotel that you wont experience this, but those rates are just crazy (we've checked :) all in all, we had a superb time at railay bay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pottyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I highly recommend the privacy cottages. Imagine opening wood doors to sounds of frogs in a moat full of lily pads. Cross the wood bridge to a shaded patio, before entering a spacious room with hard wood floors, recessed lighting and other nice touches such as french doors leading to the bathroom. The space is well laid out with lots of natural lighting yet still private. The patio area is small, but completely private and manages to hold a table and 2 chairs, 2 lounge chairs, a shower and an outdoor spa bath. The spa bath is not heated, but the shower is. I really enjoyed my accommodations. Privacy and luxury were just what I needed. Breakfast is included and there were lots of options on the buffet including an omelette chef. There are two pools: one along the beachfront where it is sunny and one in the back with spa jets where it is more shaded. I ate a few meals at the restaurant. The duck breast with mash potatoes and pumpkin mousse was fantastic. I had massages at the Spa. The ladies are strong and diligent. The wifi is great. The only thing keeping this resort from being 5 star is the management. While the accommodations are very nice, they are not well kept. My room leaks. The box managing the lights sometimes works, sometimes doesn't. The mini fridge is super loud. I would prefer not to have it versus lose the tranquility. Some staff are very pleasant, but a few are despondent and rude. At the restaurant, they are too busy trying to look busy and not making eye contact with you or flirting with each other to be of service. Some staff lounge about on the patios eyeing guests while they walk by. I watched one man completely undo his pants on the main path of the hotel. When I looked away embarrassed, he said something in Thai. It's difficult to translate body language in other cultures but I think he was being crass. One cleaning lady, ran me out of the pool bathroom because she needed to clean it right then. In their defence, I've witness some very rude guests here. Still I have found it difficult to get service, or even get a smile. If you are looking to be left alone in a really nice hotel, then this place is perfect. It's the best location on Railay Beach. There is a 5 star hotel on the peninsula, but access is more difficult and it is very crowded at that beach.

Room Tip: You must take a boat to arrive on Railay Beach. You will wade in deep water, so dress appropriately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I suppose with this hotel what you pay for is stunning views, really world class. That's the good part. The bad, the resort is so unkept, walls that aren't finished/breeze blocks, bad smells everywhere, litter all over, the grounds aren't kept in a very good condition.

The staff at reception and in the restaurant and just so miserable, a simple thing like asking for a wifi code you are just grunted at.

The bungalows are actually really nice, spacious and modern but the beds are really hard.

And the spa is excellent, one of the best massages I've had in Thailand

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

After the beautiful ferry ride from Koh Phi Phi, the arrival experience to Railay Bay Resort was not auspicious. As others have mentioned, you will have to transfer by longtail boat and wade ashore. Once on the beach, you still have a ways to lug your bags to the hotel. You'd think the hotel would be waiting with a porter (like the much more expensive hotel next door). Once arrived, one receptionist furled her brows like it's such a bother, the others were more friendly. My privacy villa was wonderful, especially the outdoor shower and tub. Unfortunately, a stale stench arose from time to time, probably from a nearby septic. My unit was at the end of the 9000 block. A/C and opening the doors dispelled it quickly enough. The resort's location, however, is hard to beat. Spanning both West and East Railay, it was perfect for sunset at its western pool or restaurant, and easy stroll to the east for restaurants, rock climbing, cave exploring, etc. The large buffet breakfast looked impressive, but everything was a bit bland. The two pools were nice but often loud with kids. WiFi was good both in the room and public areas. BTW, the private transfer to Krabi airport was worth it: the hotel cart took me and my bags to the eastern launch during high tide, straight onto the longtail to the awaiting minibus.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.1 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 12 in Railay Beach
853 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
#2 of 12 in Railay Beach
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,977 reviews
0 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#4 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: £54 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A pearl in the Andaman for you to touch." Railay Bay Resort & Spa is part of an exclusive group of resorts that have beach front access to the renowned Railay Beach, which is perfectly located in Krabi, a most picturesque province. You will find that we are the only beach resort that has a West to East orientation at Railay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Railay Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Bay Resort And Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing