We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Matcham, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here as a family of four with two teenage boys (18 and 16) in early May. A magical location - make sure you stay on the western side of the island - the eastern side is mangroves, backpackers and quite dirty and rundown (obviously cheaper too!). We had a 2 room pool villa which was amazing and gave us some space as the pool on the beach was quite busy. Railay was very busy with lots of day trippers and boats - the busiest place we found on our travels through Thailand, so the pool villa was a blessing. Scenically spectacular, with amazing sunsets. We hired canoes off the beach which was fun. The restaurant was great, we ate here the 4 nights we stayed. Service at the restaurant was very slow, and meals arrived at different times, but this is not unusual throughout Asia. Would recommend - definitely a highlight.

Room Tip: Keep your room doors shut - we had a couple of night time visitors. Once a noisy squirrel that we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    731
    442
    202
    168
See reviews for
375
1,066
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

First of all we were let down by the hotel as they failed to confirm our request for an airport pick up.
We ended up taking a mass long tail boat. We got to the hotel wet - not only from the sweat but also splashes from the sea, and my partner had to carry our luggages as we got of from the boat.
We got to the room, I took shower and the drainage was clogged. This time the hotel staff responded by sending a maintenance - problem solved.
Apart from those two incidents, we were content with the hotel.
Polite staff, good location, front swimming pool was pretty.
One more disappointment, the jacuzzi in our villa didn't work accordingly.
Maybe I will stay again in this place but with less expectations.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cest T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We coming here for holiday with family. adnaman adventures booking this for us and say this best for family in Railay Beach. Hotel here very nice and on the beach. The beach is clean and swimming is very nice. I liking the breakfast here very very much, like my children. Raialy have no much shopping, so we go to twon by boat for shopping. Very nice boat provided by the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The resort is located right at the west Railey Bay, Perfect location and stunning beach view with cliff, especially in the evening. The bungalow needs more maintenance as it's quite old however it's acceptable as it's big enough. There also need to be a bit of hygiene in some area but generally it's clean. I booked this hotel at a very reasonable price which could compromise with all of the above. Food is good. Several convenience stores are in the resort and around.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Railay beach is beautiful and the hotel is perfectly situated. You can walk form Railay West to East in a few minutes. And a further five minutes to Phra Nang Cave beach. The East beach is not really a beach but a mangrove so the west and cave beaches are the places to go. The beaches can be quite busy during the day if all of the day trip boats arrive at once. Later in the day it gets quite which is lovely.

The hotel is very well appointed and the room we had was lovely with our own private area with a Spa Bath. It was clean and very nicely furnished.

Breakfast was quite good and seemed to be of a quality expected for a hotel of this type. We ate there in the evening once. It is perfectly fine but the are other hotels and restaurants that are cheaper and have a better menu. The waiting staff were never very friendly or helpful, but this seems to be a reoccurring theme.

Our stay here was a special treat for our wedding anniversary so I had spent quite a bit more than usual to get exactly what we wanted. On arriving it was dis organised chaos. There were lots of people waiting to be shown to their rooms and a number of people making complaints. There was a number of staff walking up and down but not doing anything. One guest had to actually grab a member of staff to shown his family to there room. After 15 minutes we just went to our room and let ourselves in.

On that first night there was a major rain storm, the water that poured off of the roof filled the spa bath with filthy brown water. This would not be a issue but the button that drained the bath only drained an inch of water before it poured half an inch back in with even more dirty water. My wife reported this to reception at midday and no one came to look at the bath for us. That evening we went to reception to complain but were told there was no management available until the morning. We explained the issue to reception and they sent a member of staff to have a look. When we returned to the room the bath was over flowing as the taps had been left running, this had partially flooded our outside area and the bath was still full of dirty brown water.

The following day before breakfast we checked out and again were told that there was no management available for us to talk too. Once we checked out we were offered a change of room which was totally pointless at this stage. The room we stayed in had a main feature which was the bath and for this we paid a premium. If we didn't have the bath we could have stayed in an equally nice room for alot less money. At all parts of our stay we felt the staff just didn't really seem to care and they either didn't have a good grasp of english or were using this as a reason not help people.

This is an amazingly situated hotel on a beautiful beach. This is our fourth visit to Thailand staying at everything from 5 star hotels to $15 a night hostels and we have never found this attitude from any hotel staff. I emailed the hotel to complain but unsurprisingly haven't received any reply from the hotel. This ruined this part of our holiday, fortunately the other hotels we stayed at in Thailand renewed our faith.

I gave this review an average rating as the location of the hotel is so amazing. But there do seem to be alot of reviews with issues with the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkinspaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We only ate at their restaurant so unfortunately I cannot comment on the accomodation. We had been eating at our hotel restaurant but found alcohol to bring in really expensive so decided to try a new place. The service to start was horrible. Nobody came for a long time and would ignore us after signalling for a while. We finally ordered cocktails which never came and only after our meal. Now I love Thai food and eat it all around the world. I had been eating great Thai food in Chiang Mai and Bangkok but had the worst Thai food i have ever eaten in Thailand at the Railay Bay Resort. It was 100 percent westernised with almost like a tomato ketchup sauce as the base. It tasted out of a can. And worse it cost more than my Thai takeaway in Sydney. I just couldn't help to not write a review as it got me really upset that this place completely rips off tourists. We went to koh Lanta the next day and at amazing meals again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Despite all the poor reviews for this hotel, we decided to give it a go. Not too many options if you want to be in Railay West! The Beach did not disappoint us at all, it is simply stunning. The fact that it is only accessible by tailboat makes it really special, in the nature, far away from traffic, pollution etc. We were concerned we might be isolated but not at all, there are plenty of shops, restaurants to choose from. Na Phrang beach is a lovely 10min walk away, plus you can do kayaking, rock climbing, and book 1 day excursions very easily to the Phi Phi islands, etc.

As regards the hotel, it is by far the worse from all the bookings we have done in Bangkok and Chiang Mai. At our arrival, someone clearlly had a nap in our room right before......room has been cleaned but bed was undone with TV remote control on bed. Another day we had no towels. I also found the guy at the towel pool desk taking a nap underneath the desk. Lots of mistakes for a 4 stars hotel that denote poor hotel management. Staff is not properly trained either. Very few speak English. Service is slow. But do not let all these facts spoil your stay in Railay Beach. Bay resort is superbly located, hotel surroundings are beautiful, pools are nice, rooms are large and confortable (bathrooms might need a bit of an update), food at the restaurant is good. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.1 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A pearl in the Andaman for you to touch." Railay Bay Resort & Spa is part of an exclusive group of resorts that have beach front access to the renowned Railay Beach, which is perfectly located in Krabi, a most picturesque province. You will find that we are the only beach resort that has a West to East orientation at Railay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Railay Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Bay Resort And Spa
Railay Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Bay Resort & Spa Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing