We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort in nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice resort in nice location”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Sadly, as our last destination with our andaman aventures honeymoon, this was our last stop. It was the perfect place to make it our last stop. We had been travelling around about quite a lot this past few weeks. It was good to end it on this paradise peninsula. This is on the mainland but almost feels like an island. This resort is huge and extends a long way away from Railay West Beach to Railay East Beach. We got the privacy cottage which was fantastic and the staff are very friendly here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carverj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    740
    450
    206
    170
See reviews for
385
1,089
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed with my partner for 2 nights our room was very far away from the beach . This is my second stay after few years .The check in was smooth but the receptionist seems not so welcoming us. The service in the restaurant or the front of the house was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My partner and I fortunately only stayed the one night at Railay Bay Resort & Spa. Never again. I couldn't wait to get to our next hotel. It is situated in the best location and has potential to be a truly amazing hotel.

Firstly, we arrived by ferry and had to drag our luggage along the sand to reception. We noticed men with trolleys and thought maybe they were there to help us, instead the trolleys were used to drag bottled drinks and food from the boats to the hotel. Upon check in, the staff were unfriendly and the lady who served us struggled to even smile. What was evident from the start was that the staff lacked any sort of training. Nobody smiled, nobody greeted guests, and the service in the restaurant was non-evident. It took almost 45 minutes for a small pizza (as a snack) to arrive. We didn't eat at the restaurant for the rest of our stay (even the breakfast the following day we avoided). Luckily a Rock Climbing event was taking place that evening on the beach and we had fresh Thai food from one of the stalls. Furthermore, the smell from the toilets put us off our food whilst we were eating.

Secondly, our room which we waited for until 4pm was quite frankly disgusting. Our bed sheets had blood stains on them and the walls were filthy. I don't like to complain but after staying in several luxury hotels throughout our holiday, this was by far the biggest let down of them all.

The hotel is in dire need of a lick of paint and maintenance works. The pool didn't have enough sunbeds so we found ourselves perched on the sand instead.

Lastly, the reason why both of us didn't get a good nights sleep is because our room was located by the rear pool and the pump sounded like it was going to explode every 5 minutes. I can normally sleep through a lot of things but this was unbearable. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of my friends, there are far better out there. Yes the location is great, but I personally would never stay at the Railay Bay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceHearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Kihei, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Great views, terrible service (restaurant and front desk)mediocre rooms (not what is shown on the site but still ok), nice beach. The area is amazing. Just go out and have fun. Rock climb, kayak, and hike. If you don't need to be pampered but prefer a fresh water shower and a minibar this will work.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ulrichrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matcham, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here as a family of four with two teenage boys (18 and 16) in early May. A magical location - make sure you stay on the western side of the island - the eastern side is mangroves, backpackers and quite dirty and rundown (obviously cheaper too!). We had a 2 room pool villa which was amazing and gave us some space as the pool on the beach was quite busy. Railay was very busy with lots of day trippers and boats - the busiest place we found on our travels through Thailand, so the pool villa was a blessing. Scenically spectacular, with amazing sunsets. We hired canoes off the beach which was fun. The restaurant was great, we ate here the 4 nights we stayed. Service at the restaurant was very slow, and meals arrived at different times, but this is not unusual throughout Asia. Would recommend - definitely a highlight.

Room Tip: Keep your room doors shut - we had a couple of night time visitors. Once a noisy squirrel that we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

First of all we were let down by the hotel as they failed to confirm our request for an airport pick up.
We ended up taking a mass long tail boat. We got to the hotel wet - not only from the sweat but also splashes from the sea, and my partner had to carry our luggages as we got of from the boat.
We got to the room, I took shower and the drainage was clogged. This time the hotel staff responded by sending a maintenance - problem solved.
Apart from those two incidents, we were content with the hotel.
Polite staff, good location, front swimming pool was pretty.
One more disappointment, the jacuzzi in our villa didn't work accordingly.
Maybe I will stay again in this place but with less expectations.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cest T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We coming here for holiday with family. adnaman adventures booking this for us and say this best for family in Railay Beach. Hotel here very nice and on the beach. The beach is clean and swimming is very nice. I liking the breakfast here very very much, like my children. Raialy have no much shopping, so we go to twon by boat for shopping. Very nice boat provided by the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.1 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
903 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A pearl in the Andaman for you to touch." Railay Bay Resort & Spa is part of an exclusive group of resorts that have beach front access to the renowned Railay Beach, which is perfectly located in Krabi, a most picturesque province. You will find that we are the only beach resort that has a West to East orientation at Railay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Railay Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Bay Resort And Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing