We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible experience ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible experience ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel for 3 nights and cancelled our booking (at a cost) as soon as we were shown to our room. The disgusting room, which looked like it hadn't been cleaned for weeks was infested with Mosquitos, lizards and beetles. The staff were also rude and unhelpful.
The worst experience of our overall amazing time in Thailand. Don't be fooled by some of the nice pictures, this hotel is disgusting, so much so that we had to pay for a night and didn't stay. Instead we walked to the east side of the island and checked into Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa, what a godsend, absolutely amazing hotel compared to Railay Bay Resort and only a short walk to the gorgeous west side of the beach.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben8014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    702
    432
    198
    162
See reviews for
365
1,027
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

One of several along the Railay West beach. This beach cannot be reached by road, only by long tail boat, so best not come with heavy luggage!
Accommodation is in bungalows - we had one close to the pool , the bar and the beach, which was very nice ( loved the outdoor shower !) but we cannot judge if the other bungalows or 'cottages' on the garden side were of the same standard.
The surrounding landscape and seascape are beautiful and there are opportunities for boat trips to various islands and kayaking.
Copious buffet breakfast but other meals nothing out of the ordinary.
Staff at reception, when we were there, a little off hand. Their linguistic skills could be improved.
We had booked a taxi service to collect us from Krabi airport - a bit expensiv, but it does make life easier!
A 15 minutes walk takes you to the lovely Phranang Cave beach and you can even meet monkeys on the way, which are very used to tourists.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuliana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The location and limited mid-market choice in the area certainly make this property a reasonable selection. I think that it would make sense for another owner to buy it and spruce it up a little. It's a pretty property but showing signs of age. I'd second that the reception staff needs some professional training. Anyhow, room cleaning and restaurant service were actually reasonable - but they should really unclog the shower drain. I enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank konachik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel was very good, the location is awesome! and the pool and the beach are amazing.
things to improve in our opinion is: the bad was very stiff and the pillow also. we asked to change the pillow and they gave us the same pillow. in the breakfast its so hot outside and the fruits and vegetables are not refrigerated so they are little bit not fresh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdoFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in a great place and gives you access to many activities. Wake up for a nice breakfast by the beach and enjoy the sunset by the swimming pool. You won't regret it. Just a tip for those who enjoy drinking a beer by the pool, there is a market not far from the hotel and in front of the Dice Center that sells cold beer for half the price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Ok so a few things to remember when coming to Railay. 1) you have to come in on a boat and take your own luggage to the actual hotel. This is true with all of the hotels except for maybe ravaydee which is a much pricier hotel. 2) this is Thailand and English is not the native language. Everyone tried very hard to help is with questions and tried to work through the language barrier. 3) there are bugs, monkeys, squirrels in Railay. It is a nature experience and it's absolutely beautiful here.

Once you keep these three things in mind, come to Railay and absolutely stay at Railay Bay Resort. It has a great location on Railay bay and the suite cottages by the pool are amazing. The pictures don't do it justice. The free breakfast is really good and they try to mix up the food daily so it doesn't get boring morning after morning. I actually really enjoyed all of my dining experiences at their restaurant.

Their food is not the cheapest but the seafood was the best quality. Best shrimp I have ever had!

My husband and I spent 7 nights here and we don't want to leave (we are still at the resort). Definitely a great place to stay for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzyc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Railay Bay Resort is one of those odd creatures that will continue to survive merely because it is one of the few handful of "decent" hotels in Railay with a beautiful view. This is not to say the prices are reasonable, by Thai standard, the resort is overpriced for what you are paying for. The resort nestled in Railay, can be accessed from east and west Railay. It's very near the crags for rock climbing and overlooks an imposing limestone.

Sadly, the hotel is long overdue for an upgrade (if not a major revamping), overall the area is dated and somewhat rundown. The hotel staff and the receptionists at the front desk area really need to be sent off for rehabilitation programme. They are not really helpful, can't understand simple English and not at all friendly. Thailand prides itself for offerring amazing customer services but it all stops at this resort. The rooms, while they are spacious, are just dirty and badly in need of a proper cleaning. The dead insects that were in the bath tub on my first day were still there 4 days later when I checked out. The rooms are infested with mosquitos so much so that I could not sleep. I woke up in the middle of night, feeling really itchy around the neck area, when I turned on the lights with my touch shining, I realised there were 2 silverfish crawling at the sheets!! The bathroom is dirty and not been scrubbed since it was built. Do note that the tab water is only slightly desalinated, you do not get real fresh water here. The hotel area is very spreadout with a buggy that toggles around, but once you are checked in, the buggy is not there to take you around, one will need to WALK a good 10-15mins to get from the hotel room to the lobby/restaurant area. Once you are at the lobby area, the walking street is just 5 mins walk away. The restaurant serves fairly standard resort fare, nothing exciting and great stuff to shout about.

The only good thing about this place is the view, it's located where the limestone crags are, very easy to get to the rockclimbing area and the hotel excursion desk (which is separate from the front desk) is able to arrange for hotel transfer on time and other excursions. At least the excursion desk is helpful.

Never again for me. Never.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KahChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A pearl in the Andaman for you to touch." Railay Bay Resort & Spa is part of an exclusive group of resorts that have beach front access to the renowned Railay Beach, which is perfectly located in Krabi, a most picturesque province. You will find that we are the only beach resort that has a West to East orientation at Railay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Railay Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Bay Resort And Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing