We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent four nights at Railay Bay Resort and Spa in a Privacy Villa. The hotel location is wonderful stretching across from the beautiful West beach to the a East side. The resort conveniently has two swimming pools, the main one over looking Railay Beach and a quieter pool located in the middle of the resort. We used both pools and whilst in the quieter pool saw a squirrel and monkeys.
The staff were friendly and didn't hesitant to change our room when requested as the air-conditioning system was not cooling our room down four hours after checking in. It's a pity the rooms are not pre cooled before guests arrive as it was very hot but at least there were pools to cool down in. The privacy room is looking a bit run down, our shower head was terrible and the beds are really hard, but we still enjoyed our stay.
The buffet breakfast offered a large variety and views from the restaurant were amazing.
We arrived at a very high tide on the East side which I recommend as the water comes as high as the resort and if you have luggage it's guaranteed to get wet.

Room Tip: The privacy Villa was quiet large to cool down and we felt it wasn't required to have such a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sallie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    740
    450
    206
    170
See reviews for
385
1,089
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Railay Bay was a good choice for our stay on Railay, where we had a great time. Our agent Andaman Adventures recommended that we save money by staying in a 4 star in Railay as we wanted to do quite a few day trips from there – we went ATV riding, deep water soloing (great adventure where you climb up rocks sticking out of the sea and then jump in the sea when you get too high for comfort), learned to scuba dive with a company called Aquavision (good outfit, professionally run and making you feel safe and confident). Plus we did an independent day’s exploration of Railay – a guy called Vimal from Andaman Adventures came out to our hotel and drew us a map of the secret spots on Railay so we could go check out all the best places without having to shell out $$$ for a privately guided day trip.
The Railay Bay Resort has good rooms, we were very pleased with our Privacy Cottage (it was a higher end roomtype). Lots of thanks to everybody at the Railay Bay for making this such a memorable stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile


The resort is definitely located in the best spot on the bay with a beautiful pool finishing right on the beach edge. We had a pleasant welcome but that's pretty much where it ended in regards to good customer service... Especially in the restaurant. On every occasion we were there the staff were beyond miserable, rude and terrible at their jobs. The rooms were nice and also very clean and well maintained with a well stocked mini bar. It's not like other 4 star resorts I've been to where the whole resort is immaculate... There are lots of very messy areas with over grown shrubs, half maintained buildings and over flowing trash cans. During our stay 90% of all visitors were English speaking... But barely any of the front of house staff spoke basic English. The spa was beautiful. Great massage. Very professional. Very relaxing.

Good resort. Having worked in Hospitality around the world I believe the staff could do with a more comprehensive training - which maybe would include some foreign language lessons... It's hard to please your customers when there's a huge communication barrier.

Due to sheer amount we paid here I have to rate it just average.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The pics you see online are misleading. We booked the inaccurately labeled "deluxe" room. The room was dirty, with what appeared to be a couple small smudged of dried blood, or dirt, on the wall. When I opened the cabinet under the sink, all you could see was a dirt floor. When I tried to turn on the bath, the handle came off in my hand. The shower has no door so it literally floods the entire bathroom. I've never seen a shower so poorly designed. It's a a injury waiting to happen. We complained at first and the lady at the front desk seemed like she could care less. They offered us another deluxe room but we declined, stating we wanted an upgrade. To their credit, they did eventually upgrade us free of charge to a deluxe cottage, where the accommodations were nicer and cleanser. We didn't get wi-fi there though. The property itself is pretty nasty outside of the bar and pool area. There was standing water all around with Mosquitos aplenty. The walkway behind the rooms that lead to railey east scream anything but "resort." While this place has a great location, they all do in railay. The food at the restaurant wasn't any good either. As for service at the bar, the bar tender tried to charge me 60 baht for a bag of ice that I needed on my back. The next day, a different bar tender didn't charge me at all though. In sum, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParanoidBernzoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Railay Bay was my favourite of the 5 places we managed to fit in to our trip to Thailand. Awkward to get to but that's all part of the adventure and it's well worth it. I loved this hotel. Very chilled out, it's on the quieter side of the bay and watching the sunset on the beach right outside is one of my favourite memories of the trip. We were welcomed on our arrival by very polite, helpful staff and thought that a welcome sign with names of new arrives amended each day was a really nice personal touch. Rooms were clean and spacious and ours had a jacuzzi (although the water was freeeeezing so we didn't use it much.) Breakfast was included and had a wide variety of decent buffet style food. No problems getting a good morning feed! Only thing I would say is this is not a party town - it took us a while to even find the night life and when we did it was cocktail bars and restaurants - no clubs or anything open really late. We really enjoyed the chilled out atmosphere as this was an amazing 3 night break from the craziness in the middle of the trip for us - just what we needed! - but I probably would have got a bit bored after a week or so!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My second time back to Thailand in over a month. I was actually down in Thailand to work and some time left. Luckily I was with the mrs. We made a holiday out of it. We booked this resort through andaman adventuures as they did a fantastic job for us last time. Firstly, the location is truly breathtaking. The staff, I have to say have limited English, which was a slight disapointment. But they make up for it with great service. Breakfast was not our favourite, but never really bothered us as the resort is beautiful and the location just plain breathtaking.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at Railay Bay Resort & Spa. The airport transfer was great, and we were really pleased with the large size of our room (an the fact a twin included one double and one single bed, so we didn't even need the extra bed we'd requested) - there was also space for a sofa, a minibar, and a nice terrace outside. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, though admittedly few spoke much English. The pool is small, but perfectly situated by the beach. The breakfast buffet was great and the other food we enjoyed was all delicious. The Thai massage at the spa was sublime. And the beach and views were phenomenal. Will definitely be returning! (The only problem we had was the lack of any replies to my emails regarding the airport transfer in advance - but this was quickly sorted by phoning up.)

Room Tip: We were very happy with the standard room - which are actually nearer the beach than most of the cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
903 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
788 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sand Sea Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A pearl in the Andaman for you to touch." Railay Bay Resort & Spa is part of an exclusive group of resorts that have beach front access to the renowned Railay Beach, which is perfectly located in Krabi, a most picturesque province. You will find that we are the only beach resort that has a West to East orientation at Railay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Railay Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Bay Resort And Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing