We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but not Luxurious ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Just finished a stay with my wife for 4 nights at the Railay Bay Resort and Spa. Had a great time here. The hotel has some good and bad points. The good points first:

The rooms are lovely. We stayed in one of the privacy cottages which has a small private terrace area and and a private jacuzzi. The rooms were very spacious with a great wet room bathroom. Rooms were cleaned daily and kept to a high standard. Nice and quiet and very relaxing. The pools were great and easy to get sun beds. Views on railay west are stunning.

The bad things:

The staff! I wouldn't say they are rude but just not friendly. You will struggle to get a hello or a goodbye out of them. The waiters all look miserable and don't engage with you at all. Just not what you expect of a thai 4 star hotel. My tv didn't work in the room at all. I reported it to reception but they didn't do anything. This didn't bother me too much as u wasn't there to watch tv anyway. The food in the hotel isn't great. The dishes were always cold and whilst they didn't taste bad, we ate a lot better good in some other resorts.

This hotel is lovely and the scenery is great. If you are looking for luxury though I'd advise you to stay somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank dubsfordsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed three days and two nights.. rooms are big and clean,restaurant location is awesome.it just close to the sea. Good place to visit with family / friends

Don't expect greeting from staffs they are not friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The grounds are lovely, location stunning and rooms were clean and spacious. We were provided with umbrellas and a beach bag which were pluses. However, the staff were unfriendly and it made us feel completely anonymous. We didn't get a hello or goodbye from reception staff. Food was poor - cold and bland.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent four nights in Railay bay in June just after the curfew was lifted but tourism had been greatly affected by then and there were very few tourists on the island, the weather unfortunately turned bad and there was nothing to do during this time as all activities centre around boat trips and the fine beaches, apart from that our hotel- which was expensive for Thailand was poor, staff were totally disinterested in their guests and there was generally a lot of neglect to the property, our room was not cleaned and after three days we had to ask them to come in and sort it out and it was still grubby after the fact. would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed four nights here as the third destination in our andaman adventures itinerary of the region, all the way from Koh Lipe to Phuket. The Railay Bay delivered perfectly. We didn’t go out much since our room and the resort’s large grounds had everything we wanted. That includes the large beachside swimming pool. A+ cocooning , recommended !

Room Tip: we had a "privacy cottage", could not ask for more !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrymarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

#1; For clarification: do what my title states. That alleviates ALOT of stress prior to arrival. Tides constantly changing but are generally high in the early morning. Check the internet. #2: know what you are buying. Only the privacy cottages and the Pool villas are sincerely on the west side but the rooms and deluxe cottages are on the east or in the middle - you get what you pay for. Regardless it is a 1 minute walk from one end to the next- so I think it is trivial to complain. My theory is that people are just sooo frustrated with their arrival by longtail and initial disspointment of their room location, that they leave bad reviews. I think that is an injustice to the readers and the resort. We had none of this stress because we planned for the East peir arrival and knew what we bought ahead of time. The deluxe cottaged are clean, modern, spacious, and beautiful. The walk was not an issue - like i said, its just 60 seconds. The 2nd pool is right in the middle and the main pool is on the ocean - they are both beautiful and very well kept. The entire resort is very clean and immaculately manicured/well kept and you can use the gym and pool at their equally beautiful location Railay Princess on the east side, two hotels down. Breakfast is the same as the other 4 and 5 stars we stayed at in Thailand - a variety of Thai and Western with eggs any way. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. In Railay: you must go to Pranang Beach - it's where the big rock sticks out into the ocean - AMAZING - and there is a longhair parked there thg has surprisingly great food for cheap. The 5 minute trek there is through a cavernous forms with hungry little monkeys all over. Close your bags and only fees them (if u dare) near the little shop at the start that sells corn. The owner stands there with an empty sling shot to deter them from gettin too close. Eat at Mangrove - its the best! Drinks and small fireshow at The Last Bar. Tonsai beach has cool little hippie hangouts and cheap drinks. Take a boat out to snorkel and see the surrounding small island. Or, sit at the beach pool and enjoy the cool breezes in the evening:)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KenandKim2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a privacy cottage during low season, and loved having our own little patio/garden to hang out in. The resort has several pools that can be used and is a short walk to shops and food on either west or east beach. We preferred to eat outside the hotel [cheaper and better] but enjoyed the central location and quiet privacy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sunchaser485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.1 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 12 in Railay Beach
819 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#3 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
#4 of 12 in Railay Beach
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: £67 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A pearl in the Andaman for you to touch." Railay Bay Resort & Spa is part of an exclusive group of resorts that have beach front access to the renowned Railay Beach, which is perfectly located in Krabi, a most picturesque province. You will find that we are the only beach resort that has a West to East orientation at Railay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Railay Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Bay Resort And Spa
Railay Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Bay Resort & Spa Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing