We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Railay Princess Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you want to get away from Patong's busy life and noice for a few days, to experience great beaches, beautiful blue waters, beautiful islands and scenery, try out Railay Beach in the Krabi Province, and stay at the Railay Village resort and Spa Hotel, in one of the bungalows there. Very nice bungalows, with a very nice location. And the beaches in the area are simply the best!!!

Room Tip: Choose a Bungalow, not Hotel Room, i have been to this place 5 times, and i always choose Bungalow N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrodeAxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Railay Princess Resort & Spa is a really nice hotel. Spacious rooms, great showers, comfy beds (big too), nice balconies, some with better views than others (we had a nice garden view at the back of the hotel). All facilities were really good although the wifi signal was quite weak when stretching to buildings at the back of the resort, we were in building 5 and it was pretty long winded to do anything on the web or tablet etc.
Staff were super helpful with anything like timing if boat trips, where to go, who to book with etc.

We did some rock climbing in the bay where the cliffs over hang the beach as it had just rained which is something to experience while here too!
All in all a great stay in a superb location. Only thing to note is, if you don't like boats (longboats mainly) you may not like the final transfer to the remote location of Railay Beach.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for 1 night, but it was excellent- I am not sure why it rates so low. Definitely recommend for accommodation on Railay East. For food however the restaurant at sunrise resort beside the hotel is better!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Rooms (Deluxe ones) were absolutely excellent, that's right. Spacious, clean, modern and with all kind of facilities. However, the bathroom can turn a bit smelly if the air freshener ceases... maybe due to the tide, we are not sure.
According to the service, at reception and cleaning rooms excellent, but the breakfast waiters are not very friendly and they don't understand you or don't follow your orders. About the breakfast itself, the food is not bad, but it's average and you are lucky if they bring you everything you ordered.
Another point is the wifi at the room, in our case it's essential, and we could not find a stable network, we were close to the pool and used this, but in fact they don't have wifi at the rooms in general. We think this is a must for this kind of hotel, where you are paying more than the average.
The pool and the outside of the hotel are really lovely.
One day trips can be settled on the same hotel, as its the same price than outside agencies.

Room Tip: Wifi only in common areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia_y_Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It worths, really nice, good swiming pool, good installations, good decoration and not really expensive. Breakfast is the only poor thing (but the same in all Railay places!) compared with other next resorts, it is a very good choice

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HCuesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This place isn't going to blow your mind but the accommodations are very decent for the price in the low season. We had a room in the back and I loved having a green garden to look at. The place is fairly clean and they were very nice to help us have a shower on our last day after checking out. Most of the staff were friendly except one girl at the reception desk who was a bit snippy, but she probably just needs a lesson in cross cultural communication.

I would avoid Railay altogether in the high season when the prices are insane and the beaches are packed with humans.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Subotnikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It appears that someone (seemingly the same company that owns Railay Bay Resort and others) bought this once-great resort in order to keep it as-is and profit on the once great reputation of the Railay Princess Resort. While seemingly beautiful and equipped, the Railay Princess is a hotel that appears to be on the decline.

First, the good. The rooms are elegant and well designed (minus the lack of overhead lighting in the bedroom). The room is clean. The staff at the hotel are helpful and friendly (I got stung by a jellyfish and they brought me vinegar from the kitchen in a teacup, for example). The air conditioner works well. The shower is decent, if sputtery. The hot water is consistent. The balcony is great and the the beds have high thread count, clean linen. The pillows are supple, but not giant. Despite the complaints in other reviews about the effluent smell, it does seem that they have remedied the septic system issue, as only a faint smell emanates from the septic system that lives between two of the hotel buildings. Yay? Who puts a septic system in the middle of a hotel compound anyway?

And now, the bad. The rooms are dank and smell mildewy and there is black mold on the ceiling. Consequently there are mosquitos that rove in packs, sniffing out visitors and drinking from them. There haven't been a whole lot of mosquitos on the island, despite being the rainy season. The dozen mosquitos I've killed in the room since checking in 5 hours ago tell another story. One of the two pools is closed for maintenance. WiFi exists all over the property, but none of the networks I've tried function at all. The hotel reservation staff announces the issue with the WiFi on arrival, but it appears they are doing nothing to fix it, as I have seen issues on other reviews about this problem. There is no staff at the spa that claims to be operated 12 1/2 hours a day.

This hotel is an example of a resort town owned by one greedy company driven to driven to drive all of the accommodations towards mediocrity. This will be my first and last night staying here. Hopefully you have a better experience here. All of the issues I have with this hotel could be solved within the week, and I hope that the owners of the hotel decide to give this place the attention it deserves.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank a_faun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#6 of 13 in Railay Beach
922 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,504 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Princess Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Princess Resort and Spa

Address: 145/1 Moo. 2 Aonang Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: £29 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Railay Princess Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Railay Princess Resort and Spa," a perfect peaceful place awaits you. Railay Princess Resort and Spa is situated at the middle of Railay Peninsular, between Railay Village (West side) and YaYa resort (East side) location. Certainly, we are not the beach front resort as Railay Bay Resort and Spa, our sister resort. However, we offer our deluxe accommodations with pool view. You will enjoy seeing the most beautiful tropical landscape and peninsular. Experience your dream family vacation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Railay Princess Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Princess Hotel Railay Beach
Railay Princess Resort And Spa Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing